Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Disclaimer: This site uses affiliate links. Learn More.


USSSA Drop 9 Bat Reviews

We’ve hit every USSSA (aka Big Barrel and Senior League) bat from 2021 through 2016. Individual reviews for USSSA Drop 9 bats are below. You can also find what we think are the best USSSA bats here.
Bats denoted with an asterisks(*) are “Reviews in Progress.” See the definition of the ratings here. Click column headers to sort.

Score Year League Bat Drop Model Price MOI Relevant Sizes Demand Player Rating Tech Specs Performance Stiffness Durability Barrel Profile Resell Diameter Sizes Type Serial Release
2017 USSSA 9 Axe Elite 199 Mid 4 2 3 5 4 4 5 3 2 2 5/8 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA 2017AXEELITEBB
2018 USSSA 9 Louisville Slugger Vapor 100 Mid 5 1 3 2 3 4 4 2 2 2 5/8 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA WTLSLVA179 10/01/17
2018 USSSA 9 Louisville Slugger Vapor 60 Mid 5 1 3 2 3 4 4 2 2 2 5/8 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA WTLUBVA18B9 10/01/17
2018 USSSA 9 Mizuno Generation Mid 5 2 3 2 4 4 4 2 1 2 5/8 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA 340438 08/01/17
2018 USSSA 9 Mizuno Covert Mid 4 2 3 2 4 4 5 2 1 2 5/8 28, 29, 30, 31 SPA 340435 08/01/17
2017 USSSA 9 Mizuno Covert 250 Mid 4 2 3 2 4 4 3 2 1 2 5/8 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA MZ49702TD9 08/01/16
2016 USSSA 9 Easton S500 100 Mid 5 1 3 2 3 4 4 2 2 2 5/8 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA SL16S5009X
2015 USSSA 9 Easton XL3 200 Mid+ 3 3 5 3 4 2 4 4 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 TPC SL15X39
2015 USSSA 9 Easton Mako Comp 350 Light+ 5 4 3 3 5 2 4 4 4 2 5/8 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC SL15MK9
2015 USSSA 9 Louisville Slugger Vapor Mid 5 1 3 2 3 4 4 2 2 2 5/8 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA SLVA159 10/01/14
2017 USSSA 9 DeMarini Voodoo Mid+ 4 3 3 3 4 4 4 2 3 2 5/8 29, 30, 31, 32 Hyb. WTDXVBR17 08/01/16
2016 USSSA 9 DeMarini Insane Mid 4 2 3 2 3 4 5 2 5 2 5/8 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA WTDXINR16 09/01/15
2016 USSSA 9 Demarini Voodoo Raw Mid+ 4 3 3 3 4 4 5 2 4 2 5/8 29, 30, 31, 32 Hyb. WTDXVDR16 09/01/15
2019 USSSA 9 Easton Elevate Mid 5 2 3 2 4 4 3 2 1 2 3/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA SL19EL9 08/01/18
2016 USSSA 9 Easton S500 Mid 5 1 3 2 3 4 4 2 2 2 5/8 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA SL16S5009 09/01/15
2018 USSSA 9 Easton S650 Mid 5 1 2 3 4 4 2 2 2 3/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA SL18S6509 08/01/17
Overall Ratings

The overall rating uses seven different weighted metrics to determine our overall score. Half of total rating comes from the player and our exit speed tests (Player Rating: 25%, Performance: 25%).The other categories are Relevance (20%), Demand (10%), Durability (10%), Resell Score (5%), and Tech Specs (5%).

*: When a bat is denoted by a star (*) it is a preliminary rating. Expect it to be updated as we learn more about the bat and gather more data.

(PlaRa) Player Rating: We measure player rating from user reviews. Those users include our own hitters that we test at the lab as well as reviews we find online.

(ExVe) Performance: Performance measures the exit speeds and distances we capture in our hitting lab with HitTrax using these bats.

(Relv) Relevance: We measure the number of sizes and the MOI of the bat. Bats with a wider range of options get a better score.

(Dmnd) Demand: Demand is measured by consumer sentiment and the buzz around the bat.

(Drb) Durability: A bat’s durability is measured by user reviews as well as feedback from manufacturers.

(ReSl) Resell Score: Based on the price the bats go for used. Higher prices mean greater user demand which means, generally, a better bat. A resell value closer to its original price means a higher score.

(Tech) Tech Specs: We rate the bat on its technological advancements from previous years and compared to the industry at large. This is our chance to reward companies who are trying to innovate.
MOI
MOI or Mass Moment of Inertia is a measurement of bat swing weight. This quantifies how difficult it is to swing a bat. The industry often refers to this as things like End Load or Balanced but those words have been overused to the point of meaninglessness. We measure the actual swing weights of each bat we test using the industry-standard pendulum period, balance point, and scale weight. You can read more about that here.
Price
The price is the original MSRP price of the bat.
Type
The types of bats are single-piece alloy (SPA), two-piece composite (TPC), single-piece composite (SPC), hybrid (Hyb.), and wood (Wood). Hybrid bats are made of composite handles and alloy barrles.
Date
The estimated date the bat began distribution.

Download our data.