Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Disclaimer: This site uses affiliate links. Learn More.


USSSA Drop 13 Bat Reviews

We’ve hit every USSSA (aka Big Barrel and Senior League) bat from 2021 through 2016. Individual reviews for USSSA Drop 13 bats are below. You can also find what we think are the best USSSA bats here.
Bats denoted with an asterisks(*) are “Reviews in Progress.” See the definition of the ratings here. Click column headers to sort.

Score Year League Bat Drop Model Price MOI Relevant Sizes Demand Player Rating Tech Specs Performance Stiffness Durability Barrel Profile Resell Diameter Sizes Type Serial Release
2023 USSSA 13 Easton MAKO Tee Ball 55 Light 3 4 4 4 4 3 4 1 3 2 1/4 26, SPA TB14MK 07/01/22
2017 USSSA 13 Mizuno Generation 150 Light 3 1 3 3 3 4 3 2 1 2 1/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA MZ96421TD 08/01/16
2016 USSSA 13 Mizuno Nighthawk 200 Light 3 1 3 3 3 3 4 2 1 2 1/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC 340353 08/01/15
2016 USSSA 13 Easton S2 200 Light 3 1 3 3 3 2 4 2 2 2 1/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 Hyb. YB16S213
2015 USSSA 13 Easton S2 200 Light 3 1 3 3 3 2 4 2 3 2 1/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 Hyb. YB15S2
2017 USSSA 13 Louisville Slugger Omaha Mid 4 3 4 2 2 4 5 3 3 2 1/4 28, 29, 30, 31 SPA WTLYB05173 10/01/16
2016 USSSA 13 Louisville Slugger Omaha 516 Mid 4 3 4 2 2 4 5 3 3 2 1/4 28, 29, 30, 31 SPA YB05163 10/01/15
2015 USSSA 13 Louisville Slugger Vapor Light 3 1 3 3 3 4 4 2 2 2 1/4 26, 27, 28, 29, 30 SPA YBVA153 10/01/14
2017 USSSA 13 DeMarini Voodoo Light 4 3 3 3 4 4 4 2 3 2 1/4 29, 30, 31, 32 Hyb. WTDXVBL17 08/01/16
2016 USSSA 13 DeMarini Uprising Light 4 1 3 3 3 4 5 2 2 2 1/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA WTDXUPL0016 09/01/15
2016 USSSA 13 Demarini Voodoo Raw Mid+ 5 3 3 3 4 4 5 2 4 2 1/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 Hyb. WTDXVDL16 09/01/15
2017 USSSA 13 Easton S3 Light+ 4 2 3 2 4 4 4 2 2 2 1/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA YB17S313 08/01/16
2016 USSSA 13 Easton S500 Mid 5 2 4 2 4 4 4 2 2 2 1/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA YB16S500 09/01/15
2016 USSSA 13 Rawlings 5150 150 Mid 5 2 3 2 2 4 5 2 3 2 1/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 SPA YB5R13 10/01/15
Overall Ratings

The overall rating uses seven different weighted metrics to determine our overall score. Half of total rating comes from the player and our exit speed tests (Player Rating: 25%, Performance: 25%).The other categories are Relevance (20%), Demand (10%), Durability (10%), Resell Score (5%), and Tech Specs (5%).

*: When a bat is denoted by a star (*) it is a preliminary rating. Expect it to be updated as we learn more about the bat and gather more data.

(PlaRa) Player Rating: We measure player rating from user reviews. Those users include our own hitters that we test at the lab as well as reviews we find online.

(ExVe) Performance: Performance measures the exit speeds and distances we capture in our hitting lab with HitTrax using these bats.

(Relv) Relevance: We measure the number of sizes and the MOI of the bat. Bats with a wider range of options get a better score.

(Dmnd) Demand: Demand is measured by consumer sentiment and the buzz around the bat.

(Drb) Durability: A bat’s durability is measured by user reviews as well as feedback from manufacturers.

(ReSl) Resell Score: Based on the price the bats go for used. Higher prices mean greater user demand which means, generally, a better bat. A resell value closer to its original price means a higher score.

(Tech) Tech Specs: We rate the bat on its technological advancements from previous years and compared to the industry at large. This is our chance to reward companies who are trying to innovate.
MOI
MOI or Mass Moment of Inertia is a measurement of bat swing weight. This quantifies how difficult it is to swing a bat. The industry often refers to this as things like End Load or Balanced but those words have been overused to the point of meaninglessness. We measure the actual swing weights of each bat we test using the industry-standard pendulum period, balance point, and scale weight. You can read more about that here.
Price
The price is the original MSRP price of the bat.
Type
The types of bats are single-piece alloy (SPA), two-piece composite (TPC), single-piece composite (SPC), hybrid (Hyb.), and wood (Wood). Hybrid bats are made of composite handles and alloy barrles.
Date
The estimated date the bat began distribution.

Download our data.