Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Disclaimer: This site uses affiliate links. Learn More.


USSSA Drop 12 Bat Reviews

We’ve hit every USSSA (aka Big Barrel and Senior League) bat from 2021 through 2016. Individual reviews for USSSA Drop 12 bats are below. You can also find what we think are the best USSSA bats here.
Bats denoted with an asterisks(*) are “Reviews in Progress.” See the definition of the ratings here. Click column headers to sort.

Score Year League Bat Drop Model Price MOI Relevant Sizes Demand Player Rating Tech Specs Performance Stiffness Durability Barrel Profile Resell Diameter Sizes Type Serial Release
2018 USSSA 12 Louisville Slugger Catalyst 200 Light+ 4 2 3 3 3 3 2 2 2 2 3/4 28, 29, 30, 31 SPC WTLSLCT18X12 10/01/17
2017 USSSA 12 Mizuno Covert 200 Mid 5 2 4 2 4 4 3 2 1 2 1/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA MZ49702TD12 08/01/16
2016 USSSA 12 Mizuno Generation 150 Mid 5 2 4 2 4 4 4 2 1 2 1/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA 340358 08/01/15
2016 USSSA 12 Easton Mako 160 Light+ 4 4 5 4 5 2 4 4 4 2 3/4 25, 26, 27, 28 TPC JBB16MK12B
2015 USSSA 12 Easton Mako JBB 160 Light+ 4 4 4 4 4 2 4 4 3 2 3/4 25, 26, 27, 28 TPC JBB15MKB
2016 USSSA 12 Easton Mako 280 Light+ 5 4 5 4 5 2 4 4 4 2 1/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC YB16MK12
2015 USSSA 12 Easton S1 240 Light+ 5 4 4 4 4 2 4 4 4 2 1/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC YB15S1
2017 USSSA 12 Louisville Slugger Catalyst Light+ 4 3 3 4 3 4 2 4 2 2 5/8 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPC WTLSLCT172 10/01/16
2017 USSSA 12 Louisville Slugger Prime 917 Light 5 3 4 4 4 2 3 2 4 2 1/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC WTLYBP9172 10/01/16
2017 USSSA 12 Louisville Slugger Catalyst Light+ 4 3 3 4 3 4 2 4 2 2 3/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPC WTLSLCT17X 10/01/16
2015 USSSA 12 Louisville Slugger Catalyst Light+ 4 3 3 4 3 4 3 4 2 2 1/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPC YBCT152 10/01/14
2015 USSSA 12 Louisville Slugger Armor Mid+ 4 1 2 2 3 4 5 4 1 2 1/4 28, 29, 30, 31 SPA YBAR152 10/01/14
2015 USSSA 12 Louisville Slugger Catalyst Light+ 4 3 3 4 3 4 3 4 2 2 3/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPC SLCT15X 10/01/14
2015 USSSA 12 Louisville Slugger Catalyst Light+ 4 3 3 4 3 4 3 4 2 2 5/8 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPC SLCT152 10/01/14
2016 USSSA 12 Louisville Slugger Prime 916 Light+ 5 3 4 4 4 2 3 2 4 2 1/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC YBP9162 10/01/15
2016 USSSA 12 Louisville Slugger Select 716 Mid 4 3 2 4 5 3 4 4 4 2 1/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 Hyb. YBS7162 10/01/15
2020 USSSA 12 Louisville Slugger Prime One 250 Light 4 4 4 4 4 2 4 4 2 2 3/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPC WTLSLP1X12S20 09/15/19
2017 USSSA 12 DeMarini Uprising Light 4 2 3 2 3 4 4 3 2 2 1/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA WTDXUPL17 08/01/16
2016 USSSA 12 DeMarini NVS Vexxum Mid 4 2 3 3 4 3 5 3 2 2 1/4 29, 30, 31, 32 Hyb. WTDXVXL16 09/01/15
2016 USSSA 12 Demarini Insane Light 3 3 3 2 3 4 5 3 5 2 1/4 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA WTDXINL16 09/01/15
2019 USSSA 12 Easton Ghost X Hyperlite Light 2 3 4 3 3 3 3 3 3 2 3/4 25, 26, 27 TPC JBB19GXHL12 08/01/18
2018 USSSA 12 Easton Ghost X Hyperlite Light 3 3 4 3 3 3 3 3 3 2 5/8 28, 29, 30, 31 TPC SL18GXHL12 08/01/17
2018 USSSA 12 Easton Ghost X Hyperlite Light 2 3 4 3 3 3 2 3 3 2 3/4 25, 26, 27 TPC JBB18GXHL12 08/01/17
2017 USSSA 12 Easton Mako Beast Light 4 4 4 3 4 3 4 3 4 2 1/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC YB17MK12 08/01/16
2016 USSSA 12 Easton S300 Mid 4 1 3 2 3 4 4 3 2 2 1/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA YB16S300 09/01/15
2017 USSSA 12 Easton S3 Light+ 3 3 3 2 3 4 4 3 2 2 3/4 28, 29, 30, 31 SPA SL17MK12B 08/01/16
2016 USSSA 12 Easton S500C Mid 4 1 3 4 3 2 4 3 2 2 1/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 Hyb. YB16S500C 09/01/15
2016 USSSA 12 Rawlings Prodigy 70 Light 4 2 3 2 3 4 4 3 1 2 1/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 SPA YBRP14 10/01/15
2016 USSSA 12 Rawlings Velo 200 Mid+ 3 3 3 2 4 4 4 3 3 2 3/4 27, 28, 29, 30 SPA SLVR12 10/01/15
2017 USSSA 12 Rawlings Velo 250 Light 3 3 3 2 4 4 3 3 3 2 3/4 27, 28, 29, 30 SPA SL7V12 10/01/16
2018 USSSA 12 Rawlings Velo Hybrid 250 Light 3 3 3 2 4 4 3 3 3 2 3/4 27, 28, 29, 30 SPA UT8V34 10/01/17
2020 USSSA 12 Rawlings Threat 150 Light 5 3 3 3 4 4 3 3 2 2 3/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 SPC UTZT12 10/01/19
2021 USSSA 12 Rawlings Threat 150 Light 4 3 3 3 3 2 3 4 2 2 3/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 SPC UT1T12 10/01/20
2020 USSSA 12 Rawlings Quatro Pro 280 Light+ 3 4 2 3 4 2 2 4 3 2 3/4 27, 28, 29, 30 TPC UTZQ12 10/01/19
2016 USSSA 12 Marucci Hex Alloy 130 Mid 4 2 3 2 3 4 4 3 2 2 3/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA MYBHA12 10/01/15
2020 USSSA 12 Easton Maxum 360 200 Light 2 4 3 4 4 2 3 4 4 2 5/8 25, 26, 27 SPC JBB20MX12 09/01/19
2020 USSSA 12 Easton Maxum 360 300 Light 4 4 4 4 4 2 3 4 4 2 3/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 SPC SL20MX12 09/01/19
2022 USSSA 12 Louisville Slugger Meta One 250 Light+ 5 2 3 4 4 3 4 4 3 2 3/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC WBL2531010 10/27/21
2022 USSSA 12 Easton Maxum Ultra 200 Light 2 2 3 3 4 2 4 4 2 2 3/4 25, 26, 27 SPC JBB22MX12 10/07/21
2019 USSSA 12 Louisville Slugger Prime One 250 Light 4 4 4 4 4 4 3 4 2 2 5/8 28, 29, 30, 31 SPC WTLSLP119X12 09/15/18
2019 USSSA 12 Easton Ghost X Hyperlite 280 Mid 4 2 4 4 4 4 4 2 3 2 3/4 28, 29, 30, 31 TPC SL19GXHL12 08/01/18
Overall Ratings

The overall rating uses seven different weighted metrics to determine our overall score. Half of total rating comes from the player and our exit speed tests (Player Rating: 25%, Performance: 25%).The other categories are Relevance (20%), Demand (10%), Durability (10%), Resell Score (5%), and Tech Specs (5%).

*: When a bat is denoted by a star (*) it is a preliminary rating. Expect it to be updated as we learn more about the bat and gather more data.

(PlaRa) Player Rating: We measure player rating from user reviews. Those users include our own hitters that we test at the lab as well as reviews we find online.

(ExVe) Performance: Performance measures the exit speeds and distances we capture in our hitting lab with HitTrax using these bats.

(Relv) Relevance: We measure the number of sizes and the MOI of the bat. Bats with a wider range of options get a better score.

(Dmnd) Demand: Demand is measured by consumer sentiment and the buzz around the bat.

(Drb) Durability: A bat’s durability is measured by user reviews as well as feedback from manufacturers.

(ReSl) Resell Score: Based on the price the bats go for used. Higher prices mean greater user demand which means, generally, a better bat. A resell value closer to its original price means a higher score.

(Tech) Tech Specs: We rate the bat on its technological advancements from previous years and compared to the industry at large. This is our chance to reward companies who are trying to innovate.
MOI
MOI or Mass Moment of Inertia is a measurement of bat swing weight. This quantifies how difficult it is to swing a bat. The industry often refers to this as things like End Load or Balanced but those words have been overused to the point of meaninglessness. We measure the actual swing weights of each bat we test using the industry-standard pendulum period, balance point, and scale weight. You can read more about that here.
Price
The price is the original MSRP price of the bat.
Type
The types of bats are single-piece alloy (SPA), two-piece composite (TPC), single-piece composite (SPC), hybrid (Hyb.), and wood (Wood). Hybrid bats are made of composite handles and alloy barrles.
Date
The estimated date the bat began distribution.

Download our data.