Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Disclaimer: This site uses affiliate links. Learn More.


USA Drop 5 Bat Reviews

We’ve hit every USA (aka Little League) bat from 2018 through 2022. Individual reviews for USA Drop 5 bats are below. You can also find what we think are the best USA bats here.
Bats denoted with an asterisks(*) are “Reviews in Progress.” See the definition of the ratings here. Click column headers to sort.

Score Year League Bat Drop Model Price MOI Relevant Sizes Demand Player Rating Tech Specs Performance Stiffness Durability Barrel Profile Resell Diameter Sizes Type Serial Release
2023 USA 5 * Louisville Slugger Select PWR 300 Mid 3 4 5 5 5 3 4 4 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 Hyb. WBL2662010 11/15/22
2023 USA 5 * Easton ADV 360 Light+ 3 4 5 5 5 2 4 5 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 TPC YBB23ADV5 09/30/22
2020 USA 5 Mizuno B20-Hot Metal 180 Mid+ 3 2 3 2 5 4 5 2 3 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 SPA 340524 08/01/19
2020 USA 5 Mizuno B20-Maxcor Hot Metal 250 Mid+ 3 2 4 3 4 2 5 3 3 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 TPC 340520 08/01/19
2019 USA 5 DeMarini CF Zen Black 350 Light+ 5 4 4 4 4 3 3 5 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 TPC WTDXC5ZBL 02/01/19
2019 USA 5 Louisville Slugger Select 719 300 Mid+ 3 3 4 4 4 3 4 4 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 Hyb. WTLUBS719B5 09/15/18
2020 USA 5 DeMarini Voodoo 250 Mid+ 3 3 3 2 4 3 4 3 3 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 Hyb. WTDXUD520 08/01/19
2019 USA 5 DeMarini Voodoo Balanced 250 Mid+ 3 3 3 2 4 3 4 3 3 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 Hyb. WTDXUD519 08/01/18
2019 USA 5 Easton Beast Pro Mid 3 2 3 3 4 4 5 2 3 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 SPA YBB19BP5 08/01/18
2019 USA 5 Easton Ghost X Evolution Mid+ 3 3 4 4 5 3 4 4 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 TPC YBB19GXE5 08/01/18
2018 USA 5 Easton Beast X Light+ 3 2 3 3 4 4 4 2 3 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 SPA YBB18BX5 08/01/17
2018 USA 5 Easton Ghost X Mid+ 3 3 4 4 5 2 4 4 3 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 TPC YBB18GX5 08/01/17
2018 USA 5 Rawlings 5150 134 Mid 3 2 3 2 3 4 5 2 3 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 SPA 515020185 10/01/17
2018 USA 5 Rawlings Velo 200 Light+ 3 3 2 4 3 4 5 3 3 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 SPA US855 10/01/17
2019 USA 5 Rawlings 5150 135 Mid+ 3 2 3 2 3 4 5 2 3 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 SPA US9552019 10/01/18
2019 USA 5 Rawlings Velo 200 Light+ 3 3 2 4 3 4 5 3 3 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 SPA US9V5 10/01/18
2020 USA 5 Rawlings 5150 134 Mid 3 2 3 2 3 4 5 2 3 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 SPA US9552020 10/01/19
2020 USA 5 Rawlings VELO ACP 250 Light+ 3 3 2 4 3 4 5 3 3 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 SPA USZV5 10/01/19
2021 USA 5 Easton Quantum 90 Mid+ 3 2 3 2 3 4 4 2 1 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 SPA YBB21QUAN5 09/01/20
2020 USA 5 Easton ADV 360 300 Mid+ 4 3 5 5 5 2 3 4 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 TPC YBB20ADV5 09/01/19
2020 USA 5 Easton Alpha 360 150 Mid+ 3 4 3 3 4 4 5 2 3 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 SPA YBB20AL5 09/01/19
2022 USA 5 Dirty South Made 300 Heavy 1 2 5 4 5 3 5 5 3 2 5/8 31, SPC BBMA05 07/01/21
2022 USA 5 DeMarini The Goods One Piece 200 Heavy 3 4 3 3 4 4 5 3 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32, 33 SPA WTDXUO522 10/27/21
2022 USA 5 Easton ADV 360 350 Mid+ 5 4 4 5 5 2 4 5 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 TPC YBB22ADV5 10/07/21
2020 USA 5 Louisville Slugger Select 300 Mid+ 4 4 5 4 5 3 4 4 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32, 33 Hyb. WTLUBS7B520 09/15/19
2021 USA 5 Mizuno Hot Metal 180 Light+ 4 2 4 3 5 4 5 3 2 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 SPA YBB21HM5 08/01/20
2021 USA 5 DeMarini Voodoo 250 Mid+ 4 4 4 3 5 4 4 3 3 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 Hyb. WTDXUD521 08/01/20
2021 USA 5 Rawlings 5150 100 Mid 3 2 5 2 3 4 5 2 3 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 SPA US1555 10/01/20
Overall Ratings

The overall rating uses seven different weighted metrics to determine our overall score. Half of total rating comes from the player and our exit speed tests (Player Rating: 25%, Performance: 25%).The other categories are Relevance (20%), Demand (10%), Durability (10%), Resell Score (5%), and Tech Specs (5%).

*: When a bat is denoted by a star (*) it is a preliminary rating. Expect it to be updated as we learn more about the bat and gather more data.

(PlaRa) Player Rating: We measure player rating from user reviews. Those users include our own hitters that we test at the lab as well as reviews we find online.

(ExVe) Performance: Performance measures the exit speeds and distances we capture in our hitting lab with HitTrax using these bats.

(Relv) Relevance: We measure the number of sizes and the MOI of the bat. Bats with a wider range of options get a better score.

(Dmnd) Demand: Demand is measured by consumer sentiment and the buzz around the bat.

(Drb) Durability: A bat’s durability is measured by user reviews as well as feedback from manufacturers.

(ReSl) Resell Score: Based on the price the bats go for used. Higher prices mean greater user demand which means, generally, a better bat. A resell value closer to its original price means a higher score.

(Tech) Tech Specs: We rate the bat on its technological advancements from previous years and compared to the industry at large. This is our chance to reward companies who are trying to innovate.
MOI
MOI or Mass Moment of Inertia is a measurement of bat swing weight. This quantifies how difficult it is to swing a bat. The industry often refers to this as things like End Load or Balanced but those words have been overused to the point of meaninglessness. We measure the actual swing weights of each bat we test using the industry-standard pendulum period, balance point, and scale weight. You can read more about that here.
Price
The price is the original MSRP price of the bat.
Type
The types of bats are single-piece alloy (SPA), two-piece composite (TPC), single-piece composite (SPC), hybrid (Hyb.), and wood (Wood). Hybrid bats are made of composite handles and alloy barrles.
Date
The estimated date the bat began distribution.

Download our data.