Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.

Fastpitch Drop 8 Bat Reviews

We’ve hit every Fastpitch bat from 2015 through 2022. Individual reviews and ratings for Fastpitch drop 8 bats are below.

You can also find what we think are the best Fastpitch bats here.

The key to the columns is here.

Click to sort.

Score Year League Drop Model Price MOI Relevant Sizes Demand Player Rating Tech Specs Performance Stiffness Durability Barrel Profile Resell Diameter Sizes Type Serial Release
2022 Fastpitch 8 DeMarini CF 400 Mid+ 3 4 4 4 4 3 3 4 4 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC WTDXCF8-22 10/27/21
2022 Fastpitch 8 Louisville Slugger Meta 450 Mid+ 3 4 5 5 5 3 4 4 5 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC WBL2496010 10/27/21
2022 Fastpitch 8 Louisville Slugger LXT 400 Light+ 3 5 4 4 5 2 4 4 4 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC WBL2545010 10/27/21
2022 Fastpitch 8 Easton Ghost Advanced Mid+ 2 4 5 4 5 2 4 4 4 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC FP22GHAD8
2022 Fastpitch 8 Easton Ghost 400 Mid+ 2 4 4 4 5 2 3 4 2 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC FP22GH8
2021 Fastpitch 8 Louisville Slugger RXT 400 Mid+ 2 3 4 5 4 4 4 4 3 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC WBL2450010 10/27/21
2021 Fastpitch 8 DeMarini FNX 350 Mid+ 2 2 3 4 4 2 4 4 3 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC WTDXPH821 08/01/20
2021 Fastpitch 8 Louisville Slugger LXT 380 Light+ 3 5 4 4 5 2 4 4 4 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC WBL2454010 09/15/20
2020 Fastpitch 8 Louisville Slugger LXT 350 Light+ 3 5 4 4 5 2 4 4 4 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC WTLFPLXD820 09/15/19
2020 Fastpitch 8 Louisville Slugger Xeno 300 Mid+ 3 4 5 4 5 4 4 4 4 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC WTLFPXND820 09/15/19
2020 Fastpitch 8 DeMarini FNX Rising 350 Mid+ 2 2 4 4 4 2 4 4 3 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC WTDXPH8-20 08/01/19
2020 Fastpitch 8 Marucci Echo 250 Mid+ 2 2 4 4 4 3 4 4 2 2 1/4 33, 34 SPC MFPE8 10/01/19
2020 Fastpitch 8 Marucci Echo Connect 350 Mid+ 2 2 4 4 4 2 4 4 2 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC MFPEC8 10/01/19
2020 Fastpitch 8 Easton Ghost Advanced 450 Mid+ 2 4 5 4 5 2 4 4 4 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC FP20GHAD8 09/01/19
2020 Fastpitch 8 Easton Ghost 350 Mid+ 2 4 4 4 5 2 4 4 2 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC FP20GH8 09/01/19
2019 Fastpitch 8 DeMarini CF Insane 350 Mid 3 4 4 4 4 3 3 4 4 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC WTDXCF8-19 08/01/18
2018 Fastpitch 8 Louisville Slugger Xeno 300 Mid+ 3 4 5 4 5 4 4 4 4 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC WTLFPXN18A8 10/01/17
2018 Fastpitch 8 Louisville Slugger PXT 400 Mid+ 2 2 4 4 4 2 3 4 2 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC WTLFPPX18A8 10/01/17
2018 Fastpitch 8 Louisville Slugger LXT 350 Light+ 3 5 4 4 5 2 4 4 4 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC WTLFPLX18A8 10/01/17
2017 Fastpitch 8 Louisville Slugger Xeno Plus Mid+ 3 4 5 4 5 4 4 4 4 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC WTLFPXN178 10/01/16
2017 Fastpitch 8 Louisville Slugger LXT Hyper 300 Light+ 3 5 4 4 5 2 4 4 4 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC STLFPLX178 10/01/16
2017 Fastpitch 8 DeMarini CF9 Mid 3 4 4 4 4 3 3 4 4 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC WTDXCFB-17 08/01/16
2016 Fastpitch 8 Louisville Slugger LXT Plus 300 Light+ 3 5 4 4 5 2 4 4 4 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC FPLX168 10/01/15
2016 Fastpitch 8 Louisville Slugger Xeno Plus Mid+ 3 4 5 4 5 4 4 4 4 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC FPXN168 10/01/15
2016 Fastpitch 8 Demarini CF8 Mid 3 4 4 4 4 3 3 4 4 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC WTDXCF8-16 09/01/15
Overall Ratings

The overall rating uses seven different weighted metrics to determine our overall score. Half of total rating comes from the player and our exit speed tests (Player Rating: 25%, Performance: 25%).The other categories are Relevance (20%), Demand (10%), Durability (10%), Resell Score (5%), and Tech Specs (5%).

(UR) Un Rated: An overall rating of UR means the bat has yet to be fully rated. When it is, this score will update.

(PlaRa) Player Rating: We measure player rating from user reviews. Those users include our own hitters that we test at the lab as well as reviews we find online.

(ExVe) Performance: Performance measures the exit speeds and distances we capture in our hitting lab with HitTrax using these bats.

(Relv) Relevance: We measure the number of sizes and the MOI of the bat. Bats with a wider range of options get a better score.

(Dmnd) Demand: Demand is measured by consumer sentiment and the buzz around the bat.

(Drb) Durability: A bat’s durability is measured by user reviews as well as feedback from manufacturers.

(ReSl) Resell Score: Based on the price the bats go for used. Higher prices mean greater user demand which means, generally, a better bat. A resell value closer to its original price means a higher score.

(Tech) Tech Specs: We rate the bat on its technological advancements from previous years and compared to the industry at large. This is our chance to reward companies who are trying to innovate.
MOI
MOI or Mass Moment of Inertia is a measurement of bat swing weight. This quantifies how difficult it is to swing a bat. The industry often refers to this as things like End Load or Balanced but those words have been overused to the point of meaninglessness. We measure the actual swing weights of each bat we test using the industry-standard pendulum period, balance point, and scale weight. You can read more about that here.
Price
The price is the original MSRP price of the bat.
Type
The types of bats are single-piece alloy (SPA), two-piece composite (TPC), single-piece composite (SPC), hybrid (Hyb.), and wood (Wood). Hybrid bats are made of composite handles and alloy barrles.
Date
The estimated date the bat began distribution.

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?