Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review
Top Black Friday Industry Wide Bat Deals are Updated! See them here.

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.

Axe Avenge Reviews

Avenge Reviews

The Axe Avenge is Axe Bats marquee baseball bat. Its unique handle design on a two-piece composite is a lone wolf in the market. It was introduced into the BBCOR market around 2015 and continues to make adjustments ever since. It is, at its heart, a two-piece composite bat with a light swing and a big barrel.

We hit every bat we review. That includes our Axe Avenge reviews below, too.

Avenge

Our Review

Our hitters liked the feel. At first, a few newbies had trouble with the skinner feel on the top hand of the bat. That is, the bottom hand fits perfectly (espeically on t…

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $449.95
Avenge

Our Review

Our hitters liked the grip and, accustomed to the ergonomic handle, are big fans of the way it feels. Early in the lineup hitters, as well as the occasional power guy, sh…

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $449.95
Avenge One

Our Review

In general, they liked the handle and the stiffer single piece feel. The bat felt light and a good sized barrel. We’d recommend the bat for those in the single piec…

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $279.95
Avenge

Our Review

You might like the 2018 Axe Avenge if you Want Top Shelf Performance; Prefer an asymmetric knob; Like the idea of advanced hitting; Need a drop 10 or BBCOR; Possibly, nee…

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $459
Avenge

Our Review

If you have yet to try an Axe handled bat, we highly recommend you do so. For many, after just a few swings, the Axe Handle has a very natural feel. The HyperWhip end cap…

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $450
Avenge

Our Review

After evaluation, we are comfortable recommending the 2016 Axe Avenge bat to those who prefer two-piece composite bats, appreciate a bat with an asymmetric handle, and lo…

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $449.95
Avenge

Our Review

Buckets full of money are spent flooding the market with these ‘hypchanics’, the mechanics of hype.

You may also find our many of our new axe bat rev…

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $449.95

2020 Axe Avenge Review | Pro Handle

2020 Axe Avenge Review

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

We’ve been singing the praises of the Axe handle for 6 years now. It’s a great feel that, after a couple dozen swings, feels like old hat. We hit with the Axe Avenge in all its versions (USA, BBCOR, USSSA), measured its exit speeds and barrel sizes as well as the swing weights. In short, it matches well with other two piece composites in performance and relevant options in the space. Axe added a new verion of the handle in 2020 called the Pro Handle which our testers awarded the Innovative Bat of the YearTM for 2020.

Avenge

Our hitters liked the feel. At first, a few newbies had trouble with the skinner feel on the top hand of the bat. That is, the bottom hand fits perfectly (espeically on the Pro Handle BBCOR versions) but the top feels small and thin. But, after a number of swings, players tend to like the feel. T… Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $449.95
RECOMMENDED 2020 Avenge VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2020 Avenge VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2020 Avenge VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2020 Avenge VIDEO

Quick Avenge Review

Our hitters liked the feel. At first, a few newbies had trouble with the skinner feel on the top hand of the bat. That is, the bottom hand fits perfectly (espeically on the Pro Handle BBCOR versions) but the top feels small and thin. But, after a number of swings, players tend to like the feel. The connection piece is also recommendable and our smaller USA type hitters loved the feel over any other bat they swung.

2020 Avenge Model Tips

The two piece composite space is replete with legitimate options in every league. BBCOR is dominated by bats like the Meta, Quatro and CF. USSSA is a CF playground and USA feels like the Quatro, CF and ADV are having their way. Yet, in all of that, the Axe Handled Avenge is a reasonable two piece option. For 2020 the USSSA Axe Avenge in a drop 10 is the lightest drop 10 you’ll find (in terms of swing weight). The USA Version sits in the bottom half of swing weight feels and the BBCOR is within 3% of the lightest swing. As such, if that’s the type of swing weight you want and you’re down for trying an axe handle on your high end two piece composite the 2020 Avenge is a great fit.

2020 Axe Avenge Review

Last year the Axe Avenge in a 33 was the lightest swing weight we could find. This year, it was real close, but a couple (like the CF) beat it by a few percentage points. There is no functional difference between the swing weight of the lightest swinging bat on the BBCOR market (in 33) and the Axe Avenge. We HIGHLY recommend the Pro Handle version of the BBCOR bat. The only disadvantage is that it doesn't come in a 31-inch (only the non Pro Handle comes in a 31). But, if you swing a 32 through 34 and are considering the BBCOR we'd bounce on the Pro Handle. It's the Innovative Bat of the YearTM for 2020.

Price Check
2020 Axe Avenge Review

We were surprised to find the USSSA version of the 2020 Axe Avenge the lightest swing in all the 2020 USSSA bats (which were all the ones we could find). As such a light bat it struggled a bit in our exit speed tests---thinking the lack of mass in the bat couldn't generate the power that some more end loaded or balanced bats in the USSSA space could. That said, if bat speed is your thing and you're looking for a high end two piece composite in a USSSA the Axe Avenge is a solid bet.

Price Check
2020 Axe Avenge Review

The USA version of the 2020 Axe Avenge is a drop 10 bat called the Axe Avenge Comp. It comes in a 28 through 32 inch version has a middle of the road (balanced) swing weight and, from our lower swing speed testers, was rated the best feeling bat in the entire USA space. The USA bat space continues to figure out the new standard with a lot of movement in market share and a bat that feels the best is in a good place to make progress. There are likely less expensive options with better overall performance ratings---as the USA standard and composite bats don't seem to mesh well so far. But, if a great feel is on the top of your list the USA Axe Avenge is a solid choice.

Price Check

2020 Axe Avenge In Depth Review

Back To Top

2019 Axe Avenge Review

Best Baseball Bats

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

We hit with the BBCOR version of the 2019 Axe Avenge. This two piece composite bat felt great on mishits and swung with a lighter swing weight than the previous year’s version.

Avenge

Our hitters liked the grip and, accustomed to the ergonomic handle, are big fans of the way it feels. Early in the lineup hitters, as well as the occasional power guy, should like the bat’s performance. In 2019, expect a USSSA and USA Version of the Axe Avenge too. In this review, we discus… Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $449.95
RECOMMENDED 2019 Avenge VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2019 Avenge VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2019 Avenge VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2019 Avenge VIDEO

Quick Avenge Review

Our hitters liked the grip and, accustomed to the ergonomic handle, are big fans of the way it feels. Early in the lineup hitters, as well as the occasional power guy, should like the bat’s performance. In 2019, expect a USSSA and USA Version of the Axe Avenge too. In this review, we discuss more of what you can expect for the 2019 Axe Avenge.

2019 Avenge Model Tips

If you know and like Axe bats and want a composite barrel, then the Axe Avenge is your option. We think the more recent version of the bat is better than the older ones–so we’d stick with 2019 or newer if you can afford it. In terms of performance, all BBCOR and USSSA bats perform very similarly.

2019 Axe Avenge Review

If you thought the Axe Avenge via 2018 swung a bit too heavy for you then it would be time to reconsider the 2019 version. If the Axe Avenge is what you loved in 2018 then consider, possibly, up-sizing an inch to accommodate the lighter swing weight for 2019 version. The Axe is the lightest swinging BBCOR bat we measured (which was all of them).

Price Check
2019 Axe Avenge Review

The USSSA Axe Avenge isn't the 'lightest' bat out there, but it is light enough to be considered a balanced bat. It, too, of course has the shaped handle and a barrel built for one sided hitting. This two piece composite struggles to break into the top tier of two piece composite bats. And, at the price piont, lots of consumers and hitters opt for the more well known CF Zens and Rawlings Quatro's. But, the Axe Avenge USSSA holds its own.

Price Check

2019 Axe Avenge In Depth Review

Back To Top

2019 Axe Avenge One USA Bat Review

Axe Avenge One Review USA

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

After watching and discussing several hitters who used the 2019 Axe Avenge One we write this review.

Avenge One

In general, they liked the handle and the stiffer single piece feel. The bat felt light and a good sized barrel. We’d recommend the bat for those in the single piece USA space looking for a good entry level performance bat and want to try something a bit different.

Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $279.95
RECOMMENDED 2019 Avenge One VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2019 Avenge One VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2019 Avenge One VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2019 Avenge One VIDEO

Quick Avenge One Review

In general, they liked the handle and the stiffer single piece feel. The bat felt light and a good sized barrel. We’d recommend the bat for those in the single piece USA space looking for a good entry level performance bat and want to try something a bit different.

2019 Avenge One Model Tips

If you are at a point where you hesitate over the asymmetric knob, then stop. Articles like these might help. Or these or these. The handle is far from a novelty gimmick as many of Axe’s detractors tried to paint years ago. The handle is used at several levels of the sport including the MLB.

It is safe to say the only reason other companies don’t offer such a feature is because they legally can’t do it. Axe owns the pattent on an oblong shaped handle.

2019 Axe Avenge One Review

Recommending the Axe Avenge One is easy enough. Players that prefer a single piece bat with its accompanying stiffness and power should like it. In the USA space there are currently no other drop 10 single piece options. (If you want this bat in a BBCOR or USSSA then check the 2019 Axe Avenge---which is different enough). This bat is for: USA Players; Drop 10 Players; Single Piece Lovers; Composite Lovers.

Price Check

2019 Axe Avenge One In Depth Review

Back To Top

2018 Axe Avenge Review | New Big Barrel

2018 Axe Avenge Review

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

We have spent considerable time with the 2017 and 2018 Axe Avenge. Turns out, the 2018 Axe Avenge looks and feels a lot like the 2017 Axe Avenge—with the obvious exception of the new drop 10 in the 2018 line which is one of our favorite big barrel bats for 2018. Those in love with the principles of predictive impact and a handle that scientifically improves bat control should provide a good home for this bat. Below is our 2018 Axe Avenge Review.

Avenge

You might like the 2018 Axe Avenge if you Want Top Shelf Performance; Prefer an asymmetric knob; Like the idea of advanced hitting; Need a drop 10 or BBCOR; Possibly, need a USA bat; Prefer a mildly balanced bat in BBCOR; Want a very light swinging bat in the drop 10 2 3/4 USSSA.

You Shoul… Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $459
RECOMMENDED 2018 Avenge VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2018 Avenge VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2018 Avenge VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2018 Avenge VIDEO

Quick Avenge Review

You might like the 2018 Axe Avenge if you Want Top Shelf Performance; Prefer an asymmetric knob; Like the idea of advanced hitting; Need a drop 10 or BBCOR; Possibly, need a USA bat; Prefer a mildly balanced bat in BBCOR; Want a very light swinging bat in the drop 10 2 3/4 USSSA.

You Should Pass If You Want a ‘value’ type bat; Prefer an end load; Prefer a very light swing; Need a drop 8 or 5  in the big barrel; Like aluminum barrels; Want a one-piece bat.

2018 Avenge Model Tips

In our eyes, the 2018 Axe Avenge is a recommendable bat for the right type of hitter. Its price might keep more than a few from trying it. It is, after all, the most expensive bat Axe makes, yet it falls right in line with other high ends two-piece composite bats on the market today. Here are some general characteristics of players who may, or may not, appreciate the 2018 Axe Avenge.

2018 Axe Avenge Review

For 2018, the Avenge will come in both a BBCOR (like 2017) and a Big Barrel. This big barrel version is a great addition. The two bats are identical in terms of makeup. But, do note, the Drop 10 swings very light for its class of bat (a two-piece composite bat in the drop 10 space). The Avenge BBCOR swings much like it did last year---that is, a two-piece composite bat in the mildly balanced space, not nearly heavy enough to be referred to as an end-loaded bat, but with enough gumption to be outside the realm of the ultra-light swinging bats like the Rawlings VELO, et al.

Price Check
2018 Axe Avenge Review

We are confident that no one, save maybe Axe, has more viewed commentary about the odd shape of the Axe bat handle than us. We would refer you to many of those articles if you want a more in-depth understanding. But, in short, an oval-shaped handle gives you more control over the bat than a round one. And a round handle is simply the standard because the baseball bat was invented before lathes had the ability to form oval handles. Five years ago this sounded like crazy talk. But enough Major League folks have adopted the idea to give some credence to the mad scientists at Axe Bats. Make no mistake about it: The Axe Knob works. And those who poo-poo it simply haven't tried it for long enough--or have ulterior motives. Sure, you are welcome to prefer a different bat's barrel, length, swing weight or performance. You may also be ho-hum on the advantages of the handle because of your successes to date at the plate. But calling an ergonomic handle a gimmick is simply failing to put in enough time to understand what a good swing requires. Other companies don't do it because they don't have the patent to do so.

Price Check

2018 Axe Avenge In Depth Review

Back To Top

2017 Axe Avenge Review | HyperWhip End Caps

2017 Axe Avenge Review

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

After some emails and at least one phone conversation with the folks at Axe bats, combined with our extensive hitting experience with Axe bats, we have put together our 2017 Axe Avenge review and recommendations. On the whole, those who like or prefer the asymmetric knob and want a two-piece composite with a more balanced swing should have the 2017 Axe Avenge on their shortlist.

Avenge

If you have yet to try an Axe handled bat, we highly recommend you do so. For many, after just a few swings, the Axe Handle has a very natural feel. The HyperWhip end cap is a fitting touch on a bat that looks to leverage predictive impact.

Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $450
RECOMMENDED 2017 Avenge VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2017 Avenge VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2017 Avenge VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2017 Avenge VIDEO

Quick Avenge Review

If you have yet to try an Axe handled bat, we highly recommend you do so. For many, after just a few swings, the Axe Handle has a very natural feel. The HyperWhip end cap is a fitting touch on a bat that looks to leverage predictive impact.

2017 Avenge Model Tips

In particular, the Avenge model suits the player who prefers the smoother smashes delivered from a two-piece composite design. It should be considered a ‘balanced’ bat but isn’t ultra-light. The barrel size is respectable.

2017 Axe Avenge Review

The Avenge comes in BBCOR, a Senior Barrel (2 5/8) Drop 8, and a drop 11 Youth (2 1/4 barrel). BBCOR sizing falls between 31 and 34 inches, and both the Senior Barrel and the Youth should be available in a 28 through a 32-inch length.

Price Check

2017 Axe Avenge In Depth Review

Back To Top

2016 Axe Avenge Review

Axe 2016 Avenge Review

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

We spent three hours in the cage with the 2016 Axe Avenge baseball bat, another hour reading online reviews from trusted sources, and one on the phone with some of the Axe Bat engineers. We’ve also spent countless hours in the cage and in-game with previous versions of the 2016 Axe Avenge bats.

Avenge

After evaluation, we are comfortable recommending the 2016 Axe Avenge bat to those who prefer two-piece composite bats, appreciate a bat with an asymmetric handle, and look for a top-shelf performance bat.

Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $449.95
RECOMMENDED 2016 Avenge VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Avenge VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Avenge VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Avenge VIDEO

Quick Avenge Review

After evaluation, we are comfortable recommending the 2016 Axe Avenge bat to those who prefer two-piece composite bats, appreciate a bat with an asymmetric handle, and look for a top-shelf performance bat.

2016 Avenge Model Tips

To date, we’ve hit with and reviewed a host of these unique bats, including the Element, Avenge Baseball, Avenge Fast Pitch, Avenge Softball, T-Ball, Elite, Fungo, and Maple Composite Bats.

The idea of an asymmetric handle and one-sided hitting has been fleshed out at every baseball and softball level. The 2016 Axe Avenge is the progeny of years of experience producing consistent performance baseball bats with an asymmetric handle.

2016 Axe Avenge In Depth Review

Back To Top

2015 Axe Avenge Bat Review – A Revelation in Knobs

2015 Axe Avenge Review

Last Updated: November 13, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

Those who have read this blog (or those who have paid attention to the bat space for more than just a few minutes) know that bat hype these days is more emphasized than bat performance.

Avenge

Buckets full of money are spent flooding the market with these ‘hypchanics’, the mechanics of hype.

You may also find our many of our new axe bat reviews helpful too.

Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $449.95
RECOMMENDED 2015 Avenge VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2015 Avenge VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2015 Avenge VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2015 Avenge VIDEO

Quick Avenge Review

Buckets full of money are spent flooding the market with these ‘hypchanics’, the mechanics of hype.

You may also find our many of our new axe bat reviews helpful too.

2015 Avenge Model Tips

We all know one metal baseball bat, to a large extent, can’t be manufactured to be much different than the next one. Don’t get me wrong, there are clearly some nuances that are worth noting and purchasing, but it seems that among the good dozen or more of top shelf bats, the differences are more often than not, negligible. Ultimately, we base bat decisions on a function of a bat’s swing weight and contact feel. But what if a piece of hypchanics was a solid hit?

2015 Axe Avenge Review

We recommend the 2015 Avenge Axe bat: for hitters who: are looking for a top shelf bat; want top end bat speed without sacrificing barrel mass and effectiveness; are not on a budget; are looking for a competitive advantage that really works. We do NOT recommend the 2015 Avenge Axe: bat for hitters who: are on a budget; looking for a really light swing; want an end loaded bat (although they could just up size).

Price Check

2015 Axe Avenge In Depth Review

Back To Top

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?