Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Search in posts
Search in pages
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review
Top Black Friday Industry Wide Bat Deals are Updated! See them here.

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.

2016 Baseball Bat Reviews

Reviews

The reviews that make these pages are of the bats which have lost most of their market appeal. We wrote these reviews when the bats were originally released and, now that their demand and availability have died down, we archive them here.

We think many 2016 bats are still, steals.

Some of the more popular 2016 Bat Reviews can be found by using our search feature by the menu of this page. Or, you can also check directly under our BBCOR and USSSA sections using the menu.

We hit every bat we review. That includes our reviews below, too.

EQT X3

Our Review

The 2016 Adidas RBZ is a high-end two-piece composite bat with two general claims. The first claim is the swing weight is at the absolute bottom o…

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $349.95
Trio

Our Review

Player Reviews: Other Rawlings TRIO reviews we scoured the internet for confirmed what we found in the 2-hour cage session. Players like the balance and feel through con…

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $299.95
716 Select

Our Review

The 716 has a heavy swing—so, naturally, our bigger hitters liked it. It’s a softer connection piece than in later years, but it packs a punch and is the go t…

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $349.95
516 Omaha

Our Review

We also spent a good two hours reading early reviews online from real players. Overall we can confirm the bat has plenty of feedback on player hands during mishits—…

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $199.95
Element Hyperwhip

Our Review

We’d expect the average player who prefers a stiffer feel in their bat but, can also appreciate the barrel size and lighter swing weight of a composite BBCOR, to f…

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $299.95
NightHawk

Our Review

We’d recommend the 2016 Mizuno Nighthawk to hitters who prefer two-piece bats yet need or want a lighter swing. Also, those who need or want a bat that still feels …

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $349.95
Z-Core Hybrid

Our Review

We’d recommend the bat to those looking for a slightly heavier swinging bat with a monster aluminum barrel from a brand name they can trust.

[/types]

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $299.95
Hybrid Z-Core XL

Our Review[/types]

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $299.95
Z-Core Hybrid Torq

Our Review

The 2016 Easton Hybrid Z-Core TORQ will be available in BBCOR only. Standard 31, 32, 33 and 34 inch lengths with a drop 3 and a .50 BBCOR stamp are all available.

[/t…

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $299.95
Generations

Our Review

If you were a fan of the 2015 version then we see no reason you won’t think the 2016 version is fantastic due to its increased barrel size from added variable wal…

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $99.99
Z-Core

Our Review

The bat comes with a middle of the road swing weight not nearly as hand loaded as the traditional Easton MAKO but nowhere close to as heavy swinging as the Z-Core’s…

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $299.95
Z-Core XL

Our Review

The 2016 Easton Z-Core XL incorporates an internal composite reinforcement along the barrel’s length to give the bat a considerably large barrel for a single piece …

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $299.95
Z-Core Torq

Our Review

Easton has taken that new tech and added it to a good ole single piece aluminum bat. Like the 2015 Easton S3z (without the TORQ), the 2016 Easton Z-Core TORQ incorporates…

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $299.95
Centerfire

Our Review

In particular, those looking for lighter swing weight, a decent-sized barrel, a two-piece bat that naturally dampens swing with a slightly tapered knob, and/or a performa…

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $149.95
S2

Our Review

We expect this to be the last year the S2 is made by Easton in any form—at least for a while. The MAKO Z-Core Hybrid and its larger barrel appear to be taking over …

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $299.95
S3

Our Review

From a recommendations standpoint, the 2016 Easton S3, like previous years iterations, fits the mold of a light swinging bat made for players who need more help in simply…

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $99.95
NVS Vexxum

Our Review

After more than three hours in the cage with the BBCOR, Senior League, and Youth (little league) versions of the NVS Vexxum, we’d quickly recommend the bat to the p…

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $99.95
Insane

Our Review

We’ve hit with the 2016 DeMarini Insane, and seen several others hit with it too. Through that experience we are confident in claiming the 2016 DeMarini Insane is f…

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $349.95
Vigor

Our Review

You definitely lose some barrel size on the Vigor when compared to some of the more top-shelf bats—the Combat MAXUM being one of them. But the price difference in s…

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $49.95
Uprising

Our Review

If you are not willing to spend more than $80 or so on a new baseball bat—and need one now—then the Uprising is probably as good as an option as any. It’…

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $49.95
S50

Our Review

But due to how popular this bat is we thought it at least partly prudent to put up a small blurb for those who are considering pulling the trigger.

The Easton S50 …

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $29.95
Portent

Our Review

As the Combat Portent G4 is offered in so many sizes, it is a difficult task to recommend the bat in a sweeping sentence or two. Very generally, a hitter who likes an ult…

Jump To Full Review, Video Review

Original Price: $200

2016 Adidas EQT X3 RBZ BBCOR Review

Adidas RBZ Long Image Review

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

We got a chance to take the new 2016 Adidas RBZ EQT X3—which Adidas made in conjunction with TaylorMade—into the cage and can happily report the bat feels fantastic. It’s a noticeably light swing with really smooth feel through contact and the grip and handle size feel right. Well hit balls have real sense of standing in the tee box watching a little white ball zoom away from you.

As a bit of history, you may recall, for the 2015 season, Adidas showed us a single piece alloy BBCOR bat (EQT X1) and a Hybrid (Composite handle, Alloy Barrel) in the EQT X2. This year, at the NCAA Collge World Series, Adidas revealed they were making a new bat called the EQT X3 RBZ (Adidas Site). The RBZ stands for Rocketballz and is a trademark of TaylorMade, an Adidas golf company. The RBZ EQT X3 was produced with the help of the TaylorMade golf brand known for long drives and high end equipment.

EQT X3

The 2016 Adidas RBZ is a high-end two-piece composite bat with two general claims. The first claim is the swing weight is at the absolute bottom of the permissible spectrum. (In fact, the rumor is, they had to actually add weight to the bat for it to pass the minimu… Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $349.95
RECOMMENDED 2016 EQT X3 VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 EQT X3 VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 EQT X3 VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 EQT X3 VIDEO

Quick EQT X3 Review

The 2016 Adidas RBZ is a high-end two-piece composite bat with two general claims. The first claim is the swing weight is at the absolute bottom of the permissible spectrum. (In fact, the rumor is, they had to actually add weight to the bat for it to pass the minimum standard). This remarkably low swing weight (which we confirmed with our trust swing weight calculator) should be helpful for the host of younger players looking for a light swinging BBCOR bat.

2016 EQT X3 Model Tips

The second general claim from Adidas, which we can also confirm as far as possible, is the RBZ’s performance is at the absolute peak of .50 BBCOR standards. When the barrel of a bat is composite, manufacturers expect it to increase in performance pop over time. Subsequently, bats with composite barrels are usually designed to have an out of the wrapper performance below the .50 standard (like, say .47). Then, after the break in period, the .50 standard is reached. We have no reason to doubt that Adidas didn’t reach this maximum.

2016 Adidas EQT X3 Review

Generally speaking, a two-piece composite bat with an ultra-light swing weight---like the 2016 Adidas RBZ---is built for the younger high school player looking for as much bat speed as possible. The RBZ fills an important niche in the market for players who want a two-piece composite bat with the lightest swing possible. Other bats in this space (but with slightly higher swing weights) would be the DeMarini CF8 and Easton MAKO.

Price Check

2016 Adidas EQT X3 In Depth Review

Back To Top

2016 Rawlings TRIO Review

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

Experience: After 2 hours in the cage with the 2016 Rawlings TRIO (Amazon $249) we can verify its prowess. Our first thought, of note, was how surprised we were that we don’t see this bat more often. It’s hot out of the wrapper—using the same 5150 alloy barrel the very popular Rawlings VELO and Rawlings 5150 use—and serves a very large segment of the market in a light swing weight. Why a hot-out-the-wrapper light swinging bat isn’t on more people’s radar is puzzling to us.

Trio

Player Reviews: Other Rawlings TRIO reviews we scoured the internet for confirmed what we found in the 2-hour cage session. Players like the balance and feel through contact. Almost all felt the pop of the bat, at least in the first few months of owning the bat, was unrivaled. A few naysayers di… Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $299.95
RECOMMENDED 2016 Trio VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Trio VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Trio VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Trio VIDEO

Quick Trio Review

Player Reviews: Other Rawlings TRIO reviews we scoured the internet for confirmed what we found in the 2-hour cage session. Players like the balance and feel through contact. Almost all felt the pop of the bat, at least in the first few months of owning the bat, was unrivaled. A few naysayers disliked the 2015 grip (saying it wore out too quickly) and even fewer had problems with cracking at the transition. Both of these can be easily remedied by buying with a valid receipt (for warranty) and checking out a lizard skin grip—but their concerns were duly noted by us and reported here.

2016 Trio Model Tips

Recommendations: The 2016 TRIO is both light swinging and hot out of the wrapper. The ping on the bat, in 5150 fashion, is remarkably loud. Ultimately, The TRIO is built for BBCOR players who are looking for a light swinging hybrid bat. In fact, if you are looking for the lightest swinging hybrid bat then the Rawlings TRIO is for you.

2016 Rawlings Trio Review

Those who are willing to do enough research to find this bat will find it well worth their time. The best deal on places to purchase is usually with searches like this: Ebay or Amazon. Otherwise, buying new from Rawlings' site directly isn't crazy either.

Price Check

2016 Rawlings Trio In Depth Review

Back To Top

2016 Louisville Slugger 716 Select Review

Lightest BBCOR Bat

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

We spent 2 hours in the cage and 1 hour in the field hitting with the 2016 Louisville Slugger 716 Select. We also spent another 2 hours reading reviews from other players and deciphering message boards that discuss this bat. In that 5 hour time, we found the 716 Select to be a lighter swinging hybrid bat built hot out of the wrapper for players who consider themselves occasional power hitters and, due to it’s focused barrel, know how to hit a ball well.

716 Select

The 716 has a heavy swing—so, naturally, our bigger hitters liked it. It’s a softer connection piece than in later years, but it packs a punch and is the go to bat for several collegiate level players.

Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $349.95
RECOMMENDED 2016 716 Select VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 716 Select VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 716 Select VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 716 Select VIDEO

Quick 716 Select Review

The 716 has a heavy swing—so, naturally, our bigger hitters liked it. It’s a softer connection piece than in later years, but it packs a punch and is the go to bat for several collegiate level players.

2016 716 Select Model Tips

We’d quickly recommend the 716 to hitters who prefer two-piece composite bats for their sting dampening, durable barrel, and hot the wrapper performance to players looking for a lighter swing but often hits for power. This bat, it should be noted, doesn’t swing as light as a 916 Prime or RBZ X3, but for a hybrid, it is the lightest you can find in BBCOR (save the possible exception of the DeMarini NVS Vexxum).

2016 Louisville Slugger 716 Select Review

If you are a big hitter and like some old school style, the 2016 Louisville Slugger 716 Select is a legit choice. Its connection piece is a bit less stiff compared to newer versions of the bat, but it does feel good on hits and mishits alike. Expect a heavy swing, big barrel and top-end performance.

Price Check

2016 Louisville Slugger 716 Select In Depth Review

Back To Top

2016 Louisville Slugger 516 Omaha Review

2016 Louisville Slugger Omaha 516 Review

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

We spent three hours in the cage using the 516 in comparison to other single piece alloy bats and other bats in the 2016 Slugger line up

516 Omaha

We also spent a good two hours reading early reviews online from real players. Overall we can confirm the bat has plenty of feedback on player hands during mishits—but the quick out the wrapper power expected in a one piece alloy bat—as well as it’s large barrel for this type of… Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $199.95
RECOMMENDED 2016 516 Omaha VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 516 Omaha VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 516 Omaha VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 516 Omaha VIDEO

Quick 516 Omaha Review

We also spent a good two hours reading early reviews online from real players. Overall we can confirm the bat has plenty of feedback on player hands during mishits—but the quick out the wrapper power expected in a one piece alloy bat—as well as it’s large barrel for this type of bat—makes it a remarkable stick for the 2016 class. Time will tell but it may be our favorite single piece alloy bat of the year.

2016 516 Omaha Model Tips

The 516 Omaha is a classic bat that hasn’t changed much before or since. It’s a single piece bat with fantastic durability that performs up to the BBCOR standard at least some length of the barrel. Big hitters can hit it well and small hitters can usually make due. It stands as one of the better buys in the last 10 years of BBCOR bats.

2016 Louisville Slugger 516 Omaha Review

We'd recommend this bat to anyone in the mid range performance price market and who prefers the power one piece bats bring and can withstand the ringing that one piece bats give to hands on mishits. We'd also suggest the upgrades from 2015 to 2016 are well worth the added price for newer stuff.

Price Check
2016 Louisville Slugger 516 Omaha Review

Those who can hit well with a smaller barrel (at least compared to some hybrid/composite barrels) and look for power at the plate will appreciate lots about this 2016 516 Omaha from Slugger.

Price Check

2016 Louisville Slugger 516 Omaha In Depth Review

Back To Top

2016 Axe Element Hyperwhip Review

2018 Axe element Review

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

We spent 2 hours in the cage with the 2016 Axe Element Hyperwhip and really appreciated the design’s thoughtfulness. It’s hard to remember you are swinging a one-piece alloy in the thick of cage work since the bat feels as balanced as any composite bat we’ve hit with. The over-sized barrel on the Hyperwhip adds to this illusion. Yet there is definitely some stiffness in the swing. As well, those who have never swung an Axe bat may need a handful of hacks to get accustomed to the asymmetric handle.

Element Hyperwhip

We’d expect the average player who prefers a stiffer feel in their bat but, can also appreciate the barrel size and lighter swing weight of a composite BBCOR, to fall in love with the 2016 Element for its stiff and balanced feel.

Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $299.95
RECOMMENDED 2016 Element Hyperwhip VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Element Hyperwhip VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Element Hyperwhip VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Element Hyperwhip VIDEO

Quick Element Hyperwhip Review

We’d expect the average player who prefers a stiffer feel in their bat but, can also appreciate the barrel size and lighter swing weight of a composite BBCOR, to fall in love with the 2016 Element for its stiff and balanced feel.

2016 Element Hyperwhip Model Tips

The Hyperwhip from Axe set a standard in the bat line they’ve followed ever since. It drives home the idea of one-sided hitting, has a good sweet spot, and dials in the right handle. Hitters who like a unique bat and want an Axe handle could start here and be happy their whole playing career.

2016 Axe Element Hyperwhip Review

In the end, we'd quickly recommend the 2016 AXE Hyperwhip to any BBCOR player who appreciates the distance gained from a stiff one-piece aluminum bat but wouldn't mind seeing one where the focus was more on bat speed and contact.

Price Check

2016 Axe Element Hyperwhip In Depth Review

Back To Top

2016 Mizuno NightHawk Review: BBCOR, Big Barrel and Youth Hybrids

Nighthawk Review Bat

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

We spent 2 hours in the cage with the new 2016 Mizuno NightHawk baseball bat (Amazon Price Check) and another 1 hour reading online reviews and message forums. We found, on the whole, most are quite a bit excited about this two-piece hybrid from Mizuno and, from the few that have hit with it (including us), we believe it fills a great niche in the lighter swinging hybrid bats market.

NightHawk

We’d recommend the 2016 Mizuno Nighthawk to hitters who prefer two-piece bats yet need or want a lighter swing. Also, those who need or want a bat that still feels stiff but doesn’t come with the associated hand sting are looking at the right bat in the 2016 Mizuno Nighthawk.

Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $349.95
RECOMMENDED 2016 NightHawk VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 NightHawk VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 NightHawk VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 NightHawk VIDEO

Quick NightHawk Review

We’d recommend the 2016 Mizuno Nighthawk to hitters who prefer two-piece bats yet need or want a lighter swing. Also, those who need or want a bat that still feels stiff but doesn’t come with the associated hand sting are looking at the right bat in the 2016 Mizuno Nighthawk.

2016 NightHawk Model Tips

The 2016 Mizuno Nighthawk might have become a one-hit-wonder had any player actually wondered about it. This was a weird aberration on the Mizuno front with a one year release of the bat and then a transition into the Carbon and Hot Metal series of bats. It was too easily confused with the Nighthawk in their fastpitch line and few ever gave it a chance. In the end, the bat is perfectly reasonable and, you can be sure, you’ll never find anyone else with this bat.

2016 Mizuno NightHawk Review

It's a big barrel, moderately balanced swing, and a good hit if you can tee it up. But, don't expect anything special.

Price Check

2016 Mizuno NightHawk In Depth Review

Back To Top

2016 Easton Z-Core Hybrid Review

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

We’d recommend the 2016 Easton Z-Core Hybrid (Price Check*) to players who not only prefer a performance aluminum barrel for it’s hot out of the wrapper peak power but also appreciate the lack of hand sting a two piece hybrid delivers.

Z-Core Hybrid

We’d recommend the bat to those looking for a slightly heavier swinging bat with a monster aluminum barrel from a brand name they can trust.

Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $299.95
RECOMMENDED 2016 Z-Core Hybrid VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Z-Core Hybrid VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Z-Core Hybrid VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Z-Core Hybrid VIDEO

Quick Z-Core Hybrid Review

We’d recommend the bat to those looking for a slightly heavier swinging bat with a monster aluminum barrel from a brand name they can trust.

2016 Z-Core Hybrid Model Tips

Like the 2015 S2z, the Easton Z-Core Hybrid will use a spiraled designed carbon fiber handle to decrease sting on mishits and add to a buttery swing.

The swing weight of the bat measures 10% heavier than the very light swinging 2016 Mako, but about 15% lighter than the Z-Core XL version.

2016 Easton Z-Core Hybrid In Depth Review

Back To Top

2016 Easton Hybrid Z-Core XL Review

Z Core Hybrid Review

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

Easton’s 2016 Hybrid Z-Core from Easton is a heavier swinging two piece hybrid bat (composite handle and aluminum barrel). Our review consists of hitting it in the cage and on the field with a few different hitters.

RECOMMENDED 2016 Hybrid Z-Core XL VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Hybrid Z-Core XL VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Hybrid Z-Core XL VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Hybrid Z-Core XL VIDEO

Quick Hybrid Z-Core XL Review

2016 Hybrid Z-Core XL Model Tips

The 2016 Easton Z-Core Hybrid XL (Price Check*) is made for players who prefer a big barreled and heavy swinging aluminum barrel bat that eliminates hand sting through a composite handle.

2016 Easton Hybrid Z-Core XL Review

While the DeMarini Voodoo has dominated this market for years, we'd recommend anyone seriously considering a performance bat in that niche to seriously consider Easton's new iteration for 2016.

Price Check

2016 Easton Hybrid Z-Core XL In Depth Review

Back To Top

2016 Easton Z-Core Hybrid TORQ Review

Z Core Hybrid Review

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

We would recommend the 2016 Easton Z-Core Hybrid TORQ (Price Check*) to players who prefer a big barreled bat with a moderate swing weight in an aluminum barrel and composite handle combo. Also, maybe most importantly, the hitter must be comfortable with a bat that has a rotating bottom handle. If that is you, then you are looking in the right place.

Z-Core Hybrid Torq

The 2016 Easton Hybrid Z-Core TORQ will be available in BBCOR only. Standard 31, 32, 33 and 34 inch lengths with a drop 3 and a .50 BBCOR stamp are all available.

Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $299.95
RECOMMENDED 2016 Z-Core Hybrid Torq VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Z-Core Hybrid Torq VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Z-Core Hybrid Torq VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Z-Core Hybrid Torq VIDEO

Quick Z-Core Hybrid Torq Review

The 2016 Easton Hybrid Z-Core TORQ will be available in BBCOR only. Standard 31, 32, 33 and 34 inch lengths with a drop 3 and a .50 BBCOR stamp are all available.

2016 Z-Core Hybrid Torq Model Tips

The bat will not be available in a Big Barrel, Youth Barrel or T-ball sizes. Those looking for a hybrid bat from Easton in those barrel sizes will need to look at the 2016 Easton S2.

2016 Easton Z-Core Hybrid Torq Review

The swing weight of the bat measures as a middle of the road swing weight. This makes the bat about 5% heavier than the famous MAKO and about 5% lighter than the Hybrid XL. As should be obvious by now, the Hybrid TORQ has a bottom handle that rotates with your hand when you swing.

Price Check

2016 Easton Z-Core Hybrid Torq In Depth Review

Back To Top

2016 Mizuno Generations Review

2015 Mizuno Generations Review

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

We should remind the reader we were originally high on the 2015 Mizuno Generations. For a single piece alloy, it has a considerable sweet spot and a really nice balance to the swing. After considerable use throughout the country, players who used the Generations bat still rave of its prowess—as we did in our original review of the 2015 model.

Generations

If you were a fan of the 2015 version then we see no reason you won’t think the 2016 version is fantastic due to its increased barrel size from added variable wall thickness in the barrel of the bat. As well, the addition of the drop 5 and drop 8 to the 2 5/8 Senior League bats round out … Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $99.99
RECOMMENDED 2016 Generations VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Generations VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Generations VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Generations VIDEO

Quick Generations Review

If you were a fan of the 2015 version then we see no reason you won’t think the 2016 version is fantastic due to its increased barrel size from added variable wall thickness in the barrel of the bat. As well, the addition of the drop 5 and drop 8 to the 2 5/8 Senior League bats round out this single piece aluminum bat as a full offering to the performance player.

2016 Generations Model Tips

We’d recommend the 2016 Mizuno Generations bat to those who prefer single piece aluminum bats and their traditional sound but also want (or need) a lighter swinging and very durable bat. Other’s who want to stay with Mizuno but would like a hybrid bat or one with a soft barrel might check out the 2016 Nighhawk or 2016 MaxCor respectively.

2016 Mizuno Generations Review

We thought the single piece Mizuno Generations from 2015 was on a shortlist of best single piece aluminum bats in 2015, and with the added barrel size in the 2016 version, we see no reason it won't find itself in a very small group at the top of the list again. It's a balanced bat made for hitters who need as much power as possible through a single piece stick and with a light swing. The price point is right in line with the 2016 single piece aluminum bats (Amazon Price Check) and is starting exactly where the 2015 version did: $199.

Price Check

2016 Mizuno Generations In Depth Review

Back To Top

2016 Easton Z-Core Review: The New S3z

2016 Easton Z-Core XL Bat Review BBCOR

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

The 2016 Easton Z-Core (Amazon Price Check) is a single-piece and balanced swinging aluminum alloy bat. The Z-Core, not to be confused with the Z-Core Torq or Z-Core XL, incorporates an internal composite reinforcement along the barrel’s length. This gives the bat a considerably large barrel for a single piece alloy. Easton’s marketing literature often refers to this as ‘Mako-sizing’ the bat, which is about, obviously, the Easton MAKO’s considerable barrel size.

Z-Core

The bat comes with a middle of the road swing weight not nearly as hand loaded as the traditional Easton MAKO but nowhere close to as heavy swinging as the Z-Core’s fatter brother: The 2016 Easton Z-Core XL.

In the drop 3 (BBCOR), Easton is currently offering a limited edition of the… Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $299.95
RECOMMENDED 2016 Z-Core VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Z-Core VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Z-Core VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Z-Core VIDEO

Quick Z-Core Review

The bat comes with a middle of the road swing weight not nearly as hand loaded as the traditional Easton MAKO but nowhere close to as heavy swinging as the Z-Core’s fatter brother: The 2016 Easton Z-Core XL.

In the drop 3 (BBCOR), Easton is currently offering a limited edition of the bat for the same price point. But you need to go right to their site to get that small quantity offer.

2016 Z-Core Model Tips

The 2016 Easton Z-Core is a hot out of the wrapper BBCOR bat with a middle of the road swing weight. As such, we’d recommend the bat for Collegiate or High School players who like the idea of a performance name bat with a balanced swing and a reasonable price tag. Most who prefer single piece aluminum bats do so for the power associated with them. They also tend to prefer end-loaded bats (like the Z-Core XL or Demarini Insane). This paints the 2016 Z-Core as a less compelling option for most high school and collegiate hitters looking for one piece of power.

2016 Easton Z-Core Review

However, a balanced swing on a single piece bat from a recognizable brand is what you'll get in the 2016 Easton Z-Core (Amazon Price Check). If that's your list of checkmarks for your game ready stick, then the Z-Core could be your bat. If you are looking for the lightest swing, an end-loaded swing, a two-piece and/or a hybrid bat, the biggest barrel, a composite barrel, a more forgiving bat, or anything outside the BBCOR realm, then keep on looking.

Price Check

2016 Easton Z-Core In Depth Review

Back To Top

2016 Easton Z-Core XL Review

2015 Easton S3z Review

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

The 2016 Easton Z-Core XL (Amazon Price Check) is a new iteration within Easton’s performance line-up for 2016. This log of a bat is similar to the 2015 Easton S3z with the noticeable exception: the 2016 Z-Core XL has a massive end load. In fact, the Z-Core XL is the heaviest swinging bat Easton makes.

Z-Core XL

The 2016 Easton Z-Core XL incorporates an internal composite reinforcement along the barrel’s length to give the bat a considerably large barrel for a single piece alloy. Easton’s marketing literature often refers to this as ‘Mako-sizing’ the barrel.

Additionally, t… Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $299.95
RECOMMENDED 2016 Z-Core XL VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Z-Core XL VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Z-Core XL VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Z-Core XL VIDEO

Quick Z-Core XL Review

The 2016 Easton Z-Core XL incorporates an internal composite reinforcement along the barrel’s length to give the bat a considerably large barrel for a single piece alloy. Easton’s marketing literature often refers to this as ‘Mako-sizing’ the barrel.

Additionally, the Z-Core XL has a new, tackier grip and, obviously, a color up from the 2015 S3z.

2016 Z-Core XL Model Tips

On the whole, if you are a stronger player who prefers the direct feedback (i.e., the sting on mishits and butter on good hits) of a one-piece bat, need something hot out of the wrapper, and have the strength to wield a Yeti of a bat then the 2016 Easton Z-Core XL (Amazon Price Check) is a worth your serious consideration. As well, those looking for a training bat might find this pick useful in their BP time.

If you are looking for the lightest swing, a balanced swing, a two-piece bat, a hybrid bat, the biggest barrel, a composite barrel, a more forgiving bat, or anything outside of the BBCOR realm, then keep on looking.

2016 Easton Z-Core XL Review

The 2016 Easton Z-Core XL is a hot out of the wrapper BBCOR bat with the heaviest swing weight Easton produces. As such, we'd recommend the bat for Collegiate or High School players with strength and who prefer hot out of the wrapper bats that swing like a log and, if hit right, can hit the ball a country mile. The fact the bat is only released in BBCOR suggests Easton also understands that a single piece alloy bat isn't of particular interest to younger players, who tend to prefer the lighter swing and smoother feel of hybrid and composite barreled bats.

Price Check

2016 Easton Z-Core XL In Depth Review

Back To Top

2016 Easton Z-Core Torq Review

Easton 2016 Reviews

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

The 2016 Easton Z-Core TORQ has a rotating bottom hand built into the bat. We have discussed the purpose behind this technology at length in other threads. Here, suffice it to say, the argument for a rotating bottom handle can allow for faster bat speed and better inside plate coverage. This disruptive technology has made serious waves in the bat space since its release in early 2015.

Z-Core Torq

Easton has taken that new tech and added it to a good ole single piece aluminum bat. Like the 2015 Easton S3z (without the TORQ), the 2016 Easton Z-Core TORQ incorporates an internal composite reinforcement along the barrel’s length to give the bat a considerably large barrel for a single p… Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $299.95
RECOMMENDED 2016 Z-Core Torq VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Z-Core Torq VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Z-Core Torq VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Z-Core Torq VIDEO

Quick Z-Core Torq Review

Easton has taken that new tech and added it to a good ole single piece aluminum bat. Like the 2015 Easton S3z (without the TORQ), the 2016 Easton Z-Core TORQ incorporates an internal composite reinforcement along the barrel’s length to give the bat a considerably large barrel for a single piece alloy. As well, the reinforcement allows for a thinner alloy and, ergo, a lighter swing.

Compared to the 2015 Z-Core, the bat also boasts a new “Torq Taq” grip. We didn’t find that piece particularly compelling, but it is ‘new’ nonetheless.

2016 Z-Core Torq Model Tips

The Z-Core TORQ is a hot out of the wrapper BBCOR bat with a relatively light swing weight and a spinning handle. As such, we’d recommend the bat for Collegiate or High School players who prefer hot out of the wrapper bats with balanced swings and are comfortable/prefer a bat with a rotating bottom hand handle.

The fact the bat is only released in BBCOR suggests Easton also understands that a single piece bat alloy bat isn’t of particular interest to younger players, who tend to prefer the smooth feel of hybrid and composite barreled bats.

2016 Easton Z-Core Torq Review

On the whole, if you are a stronger player who prefers the direct feedback (i.e., the sting on mishits and butter on good hits) of a one-piece bat, need something hot out of the wrapper, and want a bottom rotating handle. The 2016 Easton Z-Core Hybrid (Amazon Price Check) is your only option. We'd recommend the bat for that group of people, which may be a decent chunk of players. Others who are willing to give a rotating handle a try and are okay with a single piece bat may really appreciate the lighter swing of this single piece alloy and its over-sized barrel (for a single piece alloy). If you are looking for the lightest swing, an end-loaded bat, a two-piece bat, a composite barrel, or anything outside of the BBCOR realm, then keep on looking.

Price Check

2016 Easton Z-Core Torq In Depth Review

Back To Top

2016 Anderson Centerfire Bat Review

2016 Anderson Centerfire Bat Review

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

After three serious, long batting practice sessions, among several different hitters, using the 2016 Anderson Centerfire drop 11 youth barrel and drop 5 senior barrel, we’ve pinpointed who these hybrid bats are most likely to please.

Centerfire

In particular, those looking for lighter swing weight, a decent-sized barrel, a two-piece bat that naturally dampens swing with a slightly tapered knob, and/or a performance aluminum alloy barrel hot out of the wrapper may very well find their weapon of choice in the 2016 Anderson Centerfire bat.… Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $149.95
RECOMMENDED 2016 Centerfire VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Centerfire VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Centerfire VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Centerfire VIDEO

Quick Centerfire Review

In particular, those looking for lighter swing weight, a decent-sized barrel, a two-piece bat that naturally dampens swing with a slightly tapered knob, and/or a performance aluminum alloy barrel hot out of the wrapper may very well find their weapon of choice in the 2016 Anderson Centerfire bat.

2016 Centerfire Model Tips

It’s with that backdrop the 2016 Centerfire from Anderson takes center stage. The bat addresses the hand sting issue with a two-piece design. The composite handle eliminates much of the hand sting the player may have found in a one-piece while the aluminum barrel (made from similar material found in the barrel of the Techzilla 2.0) still delivers the ball crushing power we’ve come to expect. Additionally, the bat is made in a drop 5 senior barrel.

2016 Anderson Centerfire Review

Our testing found the general hybrid benefits to be the case with the 2016 Anderson Centerfire bat. The bat's aluminum barrel makes a great ping on contact and maintains a low to moderate swing weight. It felt and sounded hot right out of the wrapper. The composite handle eliminates a lot of the vibration we noticed in other single piece aluminum bats. The bat comes with a standard two-toned wrap that isn't overly cushy and plays well on the hands and batting gloves. There is a minor flared knob for a little more girth on the bottom hand.

Other Bats

2016 Anderson Centerfire Bat Review Overall it's hard not to appreciate this smaller bat manufacturer making performance sticks in a highly competitive space. While their lack of a BBCOR or big barrel sizes outside a drop 5 may limit the market uptake, those looking for the particular sizes in which the Anderson Centerfire is released should really consider the bat---especially if you:
  1. Prefer or want a two piece hybrid baseball bat.
  2. Prefer a larger barrel on their hybrid bat.
  3. Need a heavier drop 5 big barrel with a lighter swing weight.
  4. Need a youth barrel drop 11.
  5. Want some sting dampening/play in the cold.
  6. Have a budget sub $250.
2016 Anderson Centerfire Bat Review

Price Check

2016 Anderson Centerfire In Depth Review

Back To Top

2016 Easton S2 Review

2016 Easton S2 Review

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

For 2016, Easton Bats moved their BBCOR line from the Speed (S) series of bats into the Z-Core Hybrid brand of names. Generally, the differences between the Z-Core and the S2 is the use of a different alloy (Easton calls HMX) which allows for a bigger barrel. However, in a few offerings, they kept the Speed (S) including, as pertains to this review, the 2016 Easton S2.

S2

We expect this to be the last year the S2 is made by Easton in any form—at least for a while. The MAKO Z-Core Hybrid and its larger barrel appear to be taking over the hybrid game on the Easton front.

We don’t hate the 2016 Easton S2—its been a mainstay and was a rather s… Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $299.95
RECOMMENDED 2016 S2 VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 S2 VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 S2 VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 S2 VIDEO

Quick S2 Review

We expect this to be the last year the S2 is made by Easton in any form—at least for a while. The MAKO Z-Core Hybrid and its larger barrel appear to be taking over the hybrid game on the Easton front.

We don’t hate the 2016 Easton S2—its been a mainstay and was a rather successful bat in 2014—but it’s hard to say it’s one of our favorites. Players who want an aluminum barrel tend to be advanced hitters who can deal with a generally smaller barrel and an end load feel. But the S2 is a balanced swinging bat built for younger players looking for as much opportunity to hit the ball as possible. As such, players in that category tend to appreciate the larger barrels, and generally lower swing weight, found on composite bats these days making the appropriate market for the 2016 Easton S2 rather small. As well, the fact the 2015 version is identical in all things but the grip and color when compared to the S2 make it’s nearly impossible to recommend the 2016 when 2015 can be found less expensive as suppliers unload inventory.

2016 S2 Model Tips

From a recommendations standpoint, the 2016 Easton S2, like previous year’s iterations, fits the mold of a light swinging bat made for players who need more help in simply finding the ball at the plate than anything else. The bat’s saving grace, and what makes it at least recommendable for some hitters, is the two-piece design which makes for a smoother feeling hit by reducing hand sting. That handle, which Easton refers to as the SIC Black Composite Composite, has been used in the Speed series since it’s release in 2014.

2016 Easton S2 Review

We think hitters who need as much bat control as possible and need or prefer, a hybrid bat for it's hot out of the wrapper performance and hand sting control aren't entirely off base in thinking the 2016 Easton S2 is for them. Those who go this route will lose barrel size when compared to composite bats in the performance class and, we have found, younger hitters looking for the most confidence in finding the ball need as much barrel as possible.  Hence, as we see it, the 2016 Easton S2 fits a pretty small group of players. Throw in the reality that the 2015 version of the S2 is a less expensive version of the 2016 version and it's a hard sale for sure.

Price Check

2016 Easton S2 In Depth Review

Back To Top

2016 Easton S3 Review

2016 Easton S3 Review

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

For 2016, Easton Bats moved their BBCOR line from the S3 series and into the Z-Core brand of names. They also added a Z-Core for little league and senior barrel sizes. However, in a few offerings, they kept the Speed (S) and End Loaded (XL) names, including, as pertains to this review, the 2016 Easton S3.

S3

From a recommendations standpoint, the 2016 Easton S3, like previous years iterations, fits the mold of a light swinging bat made for players who need more help in simply finding the ball at the plate than anything else. The Easton S3 has never been known for power and its potential to ring a few… Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $99.95
RECOMMENDED 2016 S3 VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 S3 VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 S3 VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 S3 VIDEO

Quick S3 Review

From a recommendations standpoint, the 2016 Easton S3, like previous years iterations, fits the mold of a light swinging bat made for players who need more help in simply finding the ball at the plate than anything else. The Easton S3 has never been known for power and its potential to ring a few hands due to its ultra-stiff feel has left more than a few leaving this bat behind in search of more barrel per swing weight, less hand sting, and more power. We’d hesitantly recommend it for the struggling hitter who doesn’t see serious pitch speed (sub 40mph) but, other than that, would be hard-pressed to get excited about the bat for anyone in particular.

2016 S3 Model Tips

In the right hands, the stiff nature of the S3 could lead very likely due to some damage as, for an aluminum bat, at least, the swing weight allows for ultra-quick hands. But we’d guess a legit hitter would find at least as much success, and likely a lot more, with a different stick. The S3 doesn’t pack enough punch to be considered seriously by good players.

From a pure market reach standpoint, the limited offerings of sizes in the 2016 Easton S3 make it even more difficult to recommend across the board. It will only come in four sizes: a Youth Drop 13; 2 5/8 drop 10; a 2 3/4 drop 10. There is also a Junior Barrel Version of the bat, which may be its most recommendable version due to the type of player looking for JBB bats (young, inexperienced, and not seeing impressive impact speeds). Even then, the JBB version isn’t meant for serious pitching, and you can get a little more bang for the buck they are asking for.

2016 Easton S3 Review

Our favorite in the single-piece aluminum space remains the 2015 Marucci CAT 6 and, if you are willing to pay the S3 price, we'd highly recommend the CAT 6 although it's senior barrel only comes in a drop 8 and there is no youth (2 1/4) barrel version. We expect this to be the last year the S3 is made by Easton in any form---at least for a while. The MAKO Z-Core and its larger barrel appear to be taking over the single piece game on the Easton front. We find the single-piece aluminum barrel market to be lackluster at best. The average player who prefers stiff one-piece bats does so for their power. That power is also enhanced by bats that are end-loaded---hence the reason we find one-piece bat lovers more in line for XL3 type bats instead of S3 type bats. When a single piece bat is put in a hand-loaded or balanced bat we're not quite sure what the point may be other than delivering a chance to at least hit the ball. But we'd rarely if ever, expect such a hit ball from a light swinging one-piece alloy without a monster barrel to go much further than the infield grass line.

Price Check

2016 Easton S3 In Depth Review

Back To Top

2016 DeMarini NVS Vexxum Review

2016 DeMarini NVS Vexxum Review

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

The 2016 DeMarini NVS Vexxum is back with some color ups and a longer barrel. It remains one of our favorite hybrid bats on the market, focusing on a more balanced swing and a more balanced price point. Swinging this sweet singing two-piece from DeMarini Bats and getting to write about it is one of the highlights of our year. Weird, we know. But the 2016 DeMarini NVS Vexxum Review was well worth the wait.xum.

NVS Vexxum

After more than three hours in the cage with the BBCOR, Senior League, and Youth (little league) versions of the NVS Vexxum, we’d quickly recommend the bat to the player who prefers the sting dampening of a two-piece hybrid, hot out of the wrapper performance of an aluminum barrel and a lig… Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $99.95
RECOMMENDED 2016 NVS Vexxum VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 NVS Vexxum VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 NVS Vexxum VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 NVS Vexxum VIDEO

Quick NVS Vexxum Review

After more than three hours in the cage with the BBCOR, Senior League, and Youth (little league) versions of the NVS Vexxum, we’d quickly recommend the bat to the player who prefers the sting dampening of a two-piece hybrid, hot out of the wrapper performance of an aluminum barrel and a lighter than average swing weight.

As we mentioned above, the budget-conscious player looking for legitimate performance with a bat meant to dampen sting that also provides a light swing weight should consider the NVS Vexxum as one of their top two or three bats going into signing day. The lengthened barrel on the 2016 model was well-received among hitters testing the bat.

2016 NVS Vexxum Model Tips

In our tests, we found the added barrel length in the 2016 version gives the bat a real updated feel, and among a couple of the 12 to 14-year-olds, the Vexxum was considered their favorite bat despite the bat’s shorter barrel compared to some 2016 composite barreled bats. The differing color designs based on the model of Vexxum were also a hit among this demographic.

2016 DeMarini NVS Vexxum Review

The NVS Vexxum remains one of our personal favorite bats, and we find it often overshadowed by DeMarini's CF8 and Voodoo in marketing dollars much more than in actual performance. Throw in the fact the Vexxum retails for a considerable clip below some other high-performance peers, and it's hard not to recommend this bat to nearly anyone looking for a balanced swing and aluminum barrel. The added barrel length in the 2016 version gives it a clear upper hand compared to last year's model.

Price Check

2016 DeMarini NVS Vexxum In Depth Review

Back To Top

2016 DeMarini Insane Review

2016 DeMarini Insane Review

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

The 2016 DeMarini Insane Review should sound a whole lot like the 2015 DeMarini Insane Review. Why? Well, mostly because the bat’s only change from 2015 is the addition of color ups. The bat will continue to sport DeMarini’s traditional alloy and an end-loaded once piece design made for serious hitters who can appreciate the purpose of hand sting.

Insane

We’ve hit with the 2016 DeMarini Insane, and seen several others hit with it too. Through that experience we are confident in claiming the 2016 DeMarini Insane is fit well for stronger hitters who can appreciate feedback on their hands on mishits and love how it’s stiff construction c… Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $349.95
RECOMMENDED 2016 Insane VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Insane VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Insane VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Insane VIDEO

Quick Insane Review

We’ve hit with the 2016 DeMarini Insane, and seen several others hit with it too. Through that experience we are confident in claiming the 2016 DeMarini Insane is fit well for stronger hitters who can appreciate feedback on their hands on mishits and love how it’s stiff construction converts more power to the ball.

2016 Insane Model Tips

The BBCOR, Senior League, Big Barrel and Youth Barrel Insane all feel very stiff at contact and unforgiving on mishits. When hit right, and it does take some skill to do so, there is serious satisfaction in pure ball flight and distance. There aren’t very many bats we’ve swung that transfer more energy directly to the ball at impact like the Insane. A real stiff bat that can deliver real stiff drives and feels as much like a single billet wood bat as any metal bat on the market is what you’ll get in the 2016 Insane.

2016 DeMarini Insane Review

While such an experience may sound sexy enough, we'd guess most average players will prefer the larger barrel of some performance composites, the lighter swing of a hand loaded bat or the butter smooth deliver of some two piece bats over this steel rod in a DeMarini Insane.

Price Check

2016 DeMarini Insane In Depth Review

Back To Top

2016 Combat Vigor Review

Bat Brands

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

Our 2016 Combat Vigor Review comes after 4 hours of use and about 600 hacks. The bat is true to its Combat roots as it is a single-piece composite bat with a little bit of hand ring when hit on the wrong spot—but when hit well on the sweet spot, the bat performs admirably. The Vigor is a balanced bat with a slim feeling handle and a stock Lizard Skin Grip.

Vigor

You definitely lose some barrel size on the Vigor when compared to some of the more top-shelf bats—the Combat MAXUM being one of them. But the price difference in something like the Combat Vigor (compared to the MAXUM, DeMarini CF8, or Easton MAKO) may give plenty of reason to give up a cou… Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $49.95
RECOMMENDED 2016 Vigor VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Vigor VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Vigor VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Vigor VIDEO

Quick Vigor Review

You definitely lose some barrel size on the Vigor when compared to some of the more top-shelf bats—the Combat MAXUM being one of them. But the price difference in something like the Combat Vigor (compared to the MAXUM, DeMarini CF8, or Easton MAKO) may give plenty of reason to give up a couple of inches of the barrel for a more affordable option.

2016 Vigor Model Tips

The bat lacks the barrel size many have come to expect from the Combat line of performance bats—specifically the MAXUM and Portent lines.

2016 Combat Vigor In Depth Review

Back To Top

2016 DeMarini Uprising Review

2016 DeMarini Uprising Review

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

Our 2016 DeMarini Uprising Review (Baseball) comes after a dozen hours of testing in the cage on the field with the drop 10 2 3/4 version of the bat. On the whole, we’d suggest the bat only to those who are looking for a cheap option this year but would also like the guarantee of a warranty from a name brand company. Performance and durability are lacking but not any more than other bats in the price point.

Uprising

If you are not willing to spend more than $80 or so on a new baseball bat—and need one now—then the Uprising is probably as good as an option as any. It’s just a bat made out of aluminum that has a light swing and will at least serve the purpose of providing a bat to hit within … Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $49.95
RECOMMENDED 2016 Uprising VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Uprising VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Uprising VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Uprising VIDEO

Quick Uprising Review

If you are not willing to spend more than $80 or so on a new baseball bat—and need one now—then the Uprising is probably as good as an option as any. It’s just a bat made out of aluminum that has a light swing and will at least serve the purpose of providing a bat to hit within rec ball.

Travel or comp players will find the bat is prone to denting and doesn’t have great performance outside the perfect center. The Uprising isn’t a bat for earnest players and serves a different part of the market outside of the performance bat space. If $80 were our budget, we’d personally use it on a used performance bat in the off-season.

Amazon, at the time of this writing, had the best price for the Uprising.

2016 Uprising Model Tips

We would hesitate to buy this bat in the used market as its potential for denting coupled with a lack of warranty might be as good as burning money. We found it more liked by those who appreciated a light swing weight—but be careful of hand sting as this one piece doesn’t do much to mitigate vibration.

2016 DeMarini Uprising Review

We hit a few more than 500 balls with the Uprising among a half dozen other hitters. Most of these younger hitters first appreciated the light swing of the bat and were quick to comment on how it looked 'cool.' At the plate, a few hand ringers changed opinions quickly, and the bat's sweet spot wasn't remarkable. When hit right in the center of the barrel, balls did get some decent flight---but off-center hits rarely made enough ball speed to get on base. Parents liked the idea the bat was less than $80 brand new, and a warranty from the DeMarini brand is often worth being excited about.

Price Check

2016 DeMarini Uprising In Depth Review

Back To Top

Easton S50 Bat Review

Easton S50 Bat Review

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

Look, we rarely ever review bats like this on our site because they aren’t any different than the hoards of budget bats found at major retailers across the world. The 2014 Easton S50 (YB14S50), along with its cohorts hanging in big box stores, has one thing in mind with its production: how cheaply can we make a baseball bat in the youth space. Apparently, pretty cheap. This Easton S50 Bat Review discusses the sizing, construction, comparable bats, and recommendations of this youth-sized baseball bat.

S50

But due to how popular this bat is we thought it at least partly prudent to put up a small blurb for those who are considering pulling the trigger.

The Easton S50 is a youth barrel bat (meaning it is a 2 1/4 inch diameter—not big barrel like a 2 5/8 or 2 3/4). This makes the bat only… Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $29.95
RECOMMENDED 2016 S50 VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 S50 VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 S50 VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 S50 VIDEO

Quick S50 Review

But due to how popular this bat is we thought it at least partly prudent to put up a small blurb for those who are considering pulling the trigger.

The Easton S50 is a youth barrel bat (meaning it is a 2 1/4 inch diameter—not big barrel like a 2 5/8 or 2 3/4). This makes the bat only a smart choice for those in leagues where a small barrel is required—which, come 2018, should be no one.

2016 S50 Model Tips

We are sensitive to the fact many are unwilling to afford a baseball bat anything other than dirt cheap. If that is you, the S50 from Easton is as good a choice as any in that space. The bat will do nothing, in particular, to allow your player success at the plate other than giving him something to swing. The bat, it should be noted, will do next to nothing to dampen hand sting. In the event, your player is hitting off ‘fast’ pitching and takes one on the end cap or handle then remember to remind them to pick up their thumb on their way to the dugout.

2016 Easton S50 Review

Those who would like to see their child focus more on mechanics and skill mastery, as well as don't see any particular value in giving their level of skill a bat with some features, could use the Easton S50 to their advantage. The bat does have good reviews among players who aren't particularly competitive and simply want a bat to take to the game with them. In that regard, it's hard to think the $20 you spend could be a bad idea. In short, and maybe a bit too frankly, if your player is terrible then getting a terrible bat shouldn't matter very much and will save you considerable money in the meantime. If this isn't you then we'd suggest starting looking here for some ideas.

Price Check

2016 Easton S50 In Depth Review

Back To Top

2016 Combat Portent G4 Review | PG4, Value Bats

2016 Combat Portent G4 Review

Last Updated: November 6, 2020 | by Bat Digest Review Team | @BatDigest

Sadly, Combat is now defunct. But don’t blame it on the bats—they were great. Blame it on the parent company’s inability to predict the future. Combat, with Sport’s Authority, is the latest in a string of defeats for the financial problems sporting equipment brands and vendors face. We noticed, however, we failed to put up a review of the 2016 Combat Portent G4 bat. Now that they’ve been out for a while, had several user reviews written on them and are a rock bottom pricing, we publish our 2016 Combat Portent G4 review. It is, we dare say, the last review we will ever write on a Combat bat.

Portent

As the Combat Portent G4 is offered in so many sizes, it is a difficult task to recommend the bat in a sweeping sentence or two. Very generally, a hitter who likes an ultra balanced feel on a single piece bat should generally like the G4. Parents who like a steal of a deal will love the G4.

Jump to our Full Review

Original Price: $200
RECOMMENDED 2016 Portent VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Portent VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Portent VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2016 Portent VIDEO

Quick Portent Review

As the Combat Portent G4 is offered in so many sizes, it is a difficult task to recommend the bat in a sweeping sentence or two. Very generally, a hitter who likes an ultra balanced feel on a single piece bat should generally like the G4. Parents who like a steal of a deal will love the G4.

2016 Portent Model Tips

In each category—especially the youth barrel and senior league drop 10—we would recommend the bat to at least some part of the market. Although a hand ringer every so often, contact with the G4 in the sweet spot of the barrel comes with a sweet driving feeling.

2016 Combat Portent Review

For its price, there is no bat with a barrel even close to the size. And the nice balanced swing made possible by the completely composite stick passes the standing-in-a-sporting-aisle-feeling-out-bats test.

Price Check
2016 Combat Portent Review

Outside of the brand, the most comparable bat on the market is the Dirty South Swag bat. Although a smaller company based in Atlanta, they produce a single piece composite with an over-sized barrel. Their intent is, and maybe they would not say it like this, to recreate a better Combat Portent G4/Maxum. In terms of pricing at the moment, the Dirty South bats are much more expensive. But, as Combat's final stock gets unloaded into the market, expect Dirty South to be an attractive option.

Price Check

2016 Combat Portent In Depth Review

Back To Top

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?