Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.

Marucci CAT Reviews

Marucci’s CAT line is iconic. It dominates at the plates, by the numbers and in the hearts of BBCOR, USA and USSSA players. It often tops the lists of our best BBCOR, USSSA and USA bats.

In more recent years, Marucci has expanded the CAT line to include hybrid and composite versions. We review and rate each of those bats below.

Bats denoted with an asterisks(*) are “Reviews in Progress.” See the definition of the ratings here. Click column headers to sort.

Score Year League Drop Model Price MOI Relevant Sizes Demand Player Rating Tech Specs Performance Stiffness Durability Barrel Profile Resell Diameter Sizes Type Serial Release
2023 BBCOR 3 Marucci CAT 6 Mid 2 5/8 30, 31, 32, 33, 34 SPA MCBC6JB 10/01/22
2023 USSSA 5 * Marucci CAT X 280 Light+ 4 4 5 4 5 4 5 4 5 2 5/8 , SPA MSBCCX5 08/09/22
2023 USSSA 10 * Marucci CAT X 280 Light+ 5 5 4 5 5 3 4 4 5 2 5/8 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA MSBCCX10 08/09/22
2023 USSSA 8 * Marucci CAT X 280 Light+ 4 5 4 5 5 3 4 4 5 2 5/8 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA MSBCCX10
2023 BBCOR 3 * Marucci CAT X 300 Light+ 5 5 5 4 5 4 4 4 5 2 5/8 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34 SPA MSBCCXB 08/09/22
2023 BBCOR 3 * Marucci CAT X Connect 400 Mid+ 5 4 5 5 5 3 4 4 5 2 5/8 30, 31, 32, 33, 34 Hyb. MCBCCX 09/08/22
2023 BBCOR 3 * Marucci CAT X Composite 500 Light+ 4 5 5 5 5 4 3 4 4 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 TPC MCBCCPX 08/10/22
2023 USSSA 5 * Marucci CAT X Connect 380 Mid+ 4 4 5 5 5 3 5 4 5 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 Hyb. MCBCCX5 08/09/22
2023 USSSA 8 * Marucci CAT X Connect 380 Mid+ 4 5 4 4 4 3 4 4 5 2 5/8 29, 30, 31, 32 Hyb. MCBCCX8 09/08/22
2023 USSSA 10 * Marucci CAT X Connect 380 Light+ 5 4 4 5 4 3 4 4 5 2 5/8 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 Hyb. MCBCCX10 09/08/22
2023 USSSA 5 * Marucci CAT X Composite 400 Light+ 4 5 4 5 5 3 4 4 5 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 TPC MCBCCPX5 08/09/22
2023 USSSA 8 * Marucci CAT X Composite 400 Light+ 5 5 5 5 5 3 4 4 5 2 5/8 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC MCBCCPX8 08/09/22
2023 USSSA 10 * Marucci CAT X Composite 400 Light+ 5 5 5 5 5 3 3 4 5 2 5/8 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC MCBCCPX10 08/09/22
2022 BBCOR 3 Marucci CAT 9 Pastime 350 Mid 4 5 5 5 5 4 4 5 5 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 33, 34 SPA MCBC9A 09/15/21
2022 BBCOR 3 Marucci CAT9 Composite Pastime 550 Light+ 4 5 5 5 5 4 4 4 4 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 TPC MCBCCP9A 09/15/21
2022 USA 11 Marucci CAT 150 Light+ 4 4 4 4 4 4 4 3 3 2 5/8 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 SPA MSBC11YUSA 11/01/21
2021 BBCOR 3 Marucci CAT 9 Connect 400 Mid+ 4 4 5 5 5 2 4 4 4 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 33, 34 SPA MCBCC9 10/01/20
2021 USA 11 Marucci Cat Connect 200 Mid 4 5 5 4 5 2 3 1 4 2 5/8 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 SPA MSBCC11USA 10/01/20
2021 USSSA 10 Marucci CAT 9 Composite 350 Light 5 5 5 5 5 4 3 3 4 2 3/4 28, 29, 30, 31 TPC MSBCCP910 10/01/20
2021 USSSA 8 Marucci CAT 9 Composite 350 Light+ 5 5 5 5 5 4 4 3 5 2 3/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC MSBCCP98 10/01/20
2021 USSSA 5 Marucci CAT 9 Composite 350 Mid 4 5 5 5 5 4 4 3 4 2 3/4 30, 31, 32 TPC MSBCCP95 10/01/20
2021 USSSA 10 Marucci CAT 9 220 Mid+ 4 3 5 3 4 4 4 4 4 2 3/4 24, 25, 26, 27 SPA MJBBC9 10/01/20
2021 USSSA 10 Marucci CAT 9 Composite 250 Light 4 3 4 5 4 2 3 2 4 2 3/4 24, 25, 26, 27 TPC MJBBCCP9 07/01/20
2021 USSSA 5 Marucci CAT 9 Connect 300 Mid+ 4 4 5 5 5 2 4 4 4 2 3/4 30, 31, 32 SPA MSBCC95 10/01/20
2021 USSSA 8 Marucci CAT 9 Connect 300 Mid 5 4 5 5 5 2 4 4 4 2 3/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA MSBCC98 10/01/20
2021 USSSA 10 Marucci CAT 9 Connect 300 Light+ 5 4 4 5 4 2 4 4 4 2 3/4 28, 29, 30, 31 SPA MSBCC910 10/01/20
2021 BBCOR 3 Marucci CAT 9 350 Mid+ 4 5 4 3 5 4 4 4 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32, 33, 33, 34 SPA MCBC9 10/01/20
2021 USSSA 10 Marucci CAT 9 280 Mid+ 4 5 5 3 5 4 4 4 4 2 3/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 SPA MSBC910 10/01/20
2021 USSSA 8 Marucci CAT 9 280 Mid+ 4 5 5 3 5 4 4 4 4 2 3/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA MSBC98 10/01/20
2021 USSSA 5 Marucci CAT 9 280 Mid+ 4 5 5 3 5 4 4 4 4 2 3/4 30, 31, 32 SPA MSBC95 10/01/20
2020 BBCOR 3 Marucci CAT 7 Silver 220 Mid+ 4 4 5 3 5 4 4 4 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32, 33, 34 SPA MCBC72S 10/01/19
2020 USSSA 5 Marucci CAT 7 Silver 180 Mid+ 4 4 5 3 5 4 4 4 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 SPA MSBC725S 10/01/19
2020 USSSA 8 Marucci CAT 7 Silver 180 Mid+ 5 4 5 3 5 4 4 4 4 2 5/8 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA MSBC728S 10/01/19
2020 USSSA 10 Marucci CAT 7 Silver 180 Mid+ 5 4 5 3 5 4 4 4 4 2 3/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 SPA MSBC7210S 10/01/19
2020 USSSA 10 Marucci CAT 7 Silver 150 Mid+ 3 4 4 3 4 4 4 4 4 2 3/4 25, 26, 27 SPA MJBBC72S 10/01/19
2019 USSSA 10 Marucci Cat Composite 250 Light+ 3 3 4 4 5 4 3 3 4 2 3/4 25, 26, 27, 28 SPA MJBBCCP 10/01/18
2019 USSSA 8 Marucci CAT 8 230 Mid+ 5 4 5 3 5 4 4 4 4 2 3/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA MSBC88 10/01/18
2019 BBCOR 3 Marucci CAT 8 300 Mid+ 5 4 5 3 5 4 4 4 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32, 33, 34 SPA MCBC8 10/01/18
2019 USSSA 10 Marucci CAT 6 Gen 2 250 Mid+ 4 4 4 3 5 4 4 4 4 2 3/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33 SPA MSBC625 10/01/18
2019 BBCOR 3 Marucci CAT 6 Gen 2 290 Mid+ 4 4 4 3 5 4 4 4 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32, 33, 34 SPA MCBC62 10/01/18
2019 USSSA 5 Marucci CAT 8 230 Mid+ 4 4 5 3 5 4 4 4 4 2 3/4 30, 31, 32 SPA MSBC85 01/17/19
2019 USSSA 10 Marucci CAT 8 230 Mid+ 5 4 4 3 5 4 4 4 4 2 3/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 SPA MSBC810 01/17/19
2019 USA 10 Marucci CAT 150 Mid+ 5 4 4 3 4 4 4 4 4 2 1/2 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 SPA MSBC10USA 01/03/19
2019 BBCOR 3 Marucci CAT 8 350 Mid+ 4 4 4 3 5 4 4 4 4 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 SPA MCBCC8 10/01/18
2019 USSSA 5 Marucci CAT 8 280 Mid+ 3 5 4 3 5 4 4 4 4 2 3/4 30, 31, 32 SPA MSBCC85 10/01/18
2019 USSSA 10 Marucci CAT 8 180 Mid+ 3 5 4 4 4 4 4 3 4 2 3/4 24, 25, 26, 27, 28 SPA MJBBC8 10/01/18
2019 USSSA 5 Marucci Cat Composite 350 Mid+ 3 5 5 5 5 4 4 5 4 2 3/4 30, 31, 32 SPA MSBCCP5 10/01/18
2019 USSSA 8 Marucci Cat Composite 350 Mid 3 5 5 5 5 4 4 3 4 2 3/4 30, 31, 32 SPA MSBCCP8 10/01/18
2019 USSSA 10 Marucci Cat Composite 350 Light+ 5 3 4 5 5 4 3 3 3 2 3/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA MSBCCP10 10/01/18
2018 Fastpitch 9 Marucci CATFX Connect 350 Mid 4 2 3 3 4 2 3 4 2 2 1/4 30, 31, 32, 33, 34 TPC MFPCC79 10/01/17
2018 Fastpitch 10 Marucci CATFX Connect 350 Mid 5 2 4 4 4 2 3 4 2 2 1/4 30, 31, 32, 33, 34 TPC MFPCC710 10/01/17
2018 Fastpitch 11 Marucci CATFX Connect 350 Mid 4 2 4 3 4 3 3 4 2 2 1/4 30, 31, 32, 33 TPC MFPCC711 10/01/17
2018 Fastpitch 10 Marucci CATFX 250 Mid 5 2 4 4 4 3 3 4 2 2 1/4 30, 31, 32, 33, 34 SPC MFPC710BL 10/01/17
2018 Fastpitch 9 Marucci CATFX 250 Mid 4 2 5 3 4 2 3 4 2 2 1/4 30, 31, 32, 33, 34 TPC MFPC79 10/01/17
2018 Fastpitch 10 Marucci CATFX 250 Mid 5 2 4 4 4 3 3 4 2 2 1/4 30, 31, 32, 33, 34 SPC MFPC710 10/01/17
2018 USSSA 5 Marucci CAT 7 Silver 250 Mid+ 3 4 4 3 4 4 4 3 4 2 3/4 30, 31, 32 SPA MSBCC75 10/01/17
2017 USSSA 5 Marucci CAT 7 Silver 200 Mid+ 3 4 4 3 4 4 4 3 4 2 3/4 30, 31, 32 SPA MSBC75 07/07/20
2017 USSSA 8 Marucci CAT 7 Silver 200 Mid+ 3 5 4 4 4 4 4 3 4 2 3/4 30, 31, 32 SPA MSBYC78 07/07/20
2017 USSSA 10 Marucci CAT 7 Silver 180 Mid+ 5 5 4 4 4 4 4 3 4 2 3/4 24, 25, 26, 27, 28 SPA MJBBC7 10/01/16
2017 BBCOR 3 Marucci CAT 7 Silver 350 Mid+ 4 4 4 3 5 4 4 4 4 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 SPA MCBCC7 10/01/16
2017 USSSA 10 Marucci CAT 7 180 Mid+ 4 4 4 3 5 4 4 3 4 2 3/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 SPA MSBC7X10 10/01/16
2017 BBCOR 3 Marucci CAT 7 250 Mid+ 4 4 4 3 5 4 4 3 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32, 33, 34 SPA MCBC7 10/01/16
2015 BBCOR 3 Marucci CAT 6 250 Mid+ 4 3 3 3 4 4 4 3 4 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 SPA MCBC614 10/01/14
2015 USSSA 10 Marucci CAT 6 180 Mid+ 5 5 4 4 4 4 4 3 4 2 3/4 24, 25, 26, 27, 28 SPA MJBBC6 10/01/14
2015 USSSA 5 Marucci CAT 6 200 Mid+ 3 3 3 3 4 4 4 3 4 2 3/4 30, 31, 32 SPA MSBC65 10/01/14
2015 USSSA 8 Marucci CAT 6 200 Mid+ 5 5 4 4 4 4 4 3 4 2 3/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPA MSBC68 10/01/14
2013 BBCOR 3 Marucci CAT 5^2 250 Mid+ 2 3 4 3 5 4 4 3 4 2 5/8 31, 32 SPA CAT-5 10/01/14
Overall Ratings

The overall rating uses seven different weighted metrics to determine our overall score. Half of total rating comes from the player and our exit speed tests (Player Rating: 25%, Performance: 25%).The other categories are Relevance (20%), Demand (10%), Durability (10%), Resell Score (5%), and Tech Specs (5%).

*: When a bat is denoted by a star (*) it is a preliminary rating. Expect it to be updated as we learn more about the bat and gather more data.

(PlaRa) Player Rating: We measure player rating from user reviews. Those users include our own hitters that we test at the lab as well as reviews we find online.

(ExVe) Performance: Performance measures the exit speeds and distances we capture in our hitting lab with HitTrax using these bats.

(Relv) Relevance: We measure the number of sizes and the MOI of the bat. Bats with a wider range of options get a better score.

(Dmnd) Demand: Demand is measured by consumer sentiment and the buzz around the bat.

(Drb) Durability: A bat’s durability is measured by user reviews as well as feedback from manufacturers.

(ReSl) Resell Score: Based on the price the bats go for used. Higher prices mean greater user demand which means, generally, a better bat. A resell value closer to its original price means a higher score.

(Tech) Tech Specs: We rate the bat on its technological advancements from previous years and compared to the industry at large. This is our chance to reward companies who are trying to innovate.
MOI
MOI or Mass Moment of Inertia is a measurement of bat swing weight. This quantifies how difficult it is to swing a bat. The industry often refers to this as things like End Load or Balanced but those words have been overused to the point of meaninglessness. We measure the actual swing weights of each bat we test using the industry-standard pendulum period, balance point, and scale weight. You can read more about that here.
Price
The price is the original MSRP price of the bat.
Type
The types of bats are single-piece alloy (SPA), two-piece composite (TPC), single-piece composite (SPC), hybrid (Hyb.), and wood (Wood). Hybrid bats are made of composite handles and alloy barrles.
Date
The estimated date the bat began distribution.

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?