Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.



Louisville Slugger Vapor Review

By Bat Digest | Last Updated July 3, 2020

In short, this 7050 alloy bat is the same bat you can buy from a number of different brands at big box stores for under $90. There is nothing special about its barrel size or construction in the youth, BBCOR or slowpitch softball realm.


2018 Vapor Video

2018 Vapor Video

2018 Vapor Models
BBCOR
/10
BBCOR
/10
BBCOR
/10
BBCOR
/10
BBCOR
/10
USA –10
/10
USA –9
/10
USA –9
/10
USSSA –9
/10
USSSA –13
/10

With few exceptions, we do not review budget non-performance bats on this site. However, some bats are popular enough and in particular, appear in searches on our site enough, that we feel we must provide some insight for those looking. Slugger’s Vapor is at the top of the list due to its distribution. It is a good, but not great, bat. Those looking for a deal and a cheap bat to get through the season will like it. Note, too, in the USA space it is a heavy swinging bat at a drop 9 so don’t expect it to feel like other more expensive drop 10 bats.

2018 Vapor Models

With few exceptions, we do not review budget non-performance bats on this site. However, some bats are popular enough and in particular, appear in searches on our site enough, that we feel we must provide some insight for those looking. Slugger’s Vapor is at the top of the list due to its distribution. It is a good, but not great, bat. Those looking for a deal and a cheap bat to get through the season will like it. Note, too, in the USA space it is a heavy swinging bat at a drop 9 so don’t expect it to feel like other more expensive drop 10 bats.

BBCOR
/10
BBCOR
/10
BBCOR
/10
BBCOR
/10
BBCOR
/10
USA –10
/10
USA –9
/10
USA –9
/10
USSSA –9
/10
USSSA –13
/10
WTLBBVAB320

BBCOR Review

Vapor BBCOR Ratings (key)
4/5 MOI
4/5 Stiff
2/5 Rating
2/5 Tech
2/5 Profile
2/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
1/5 Resell
4/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 30, 31, 32, 33, 34-inch
Release Date: October 27, 2021
Serial: WTLBBVAB320
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar BBCOR Bats
No items found
WTLBBVAB320

BBCOR Review


OVERALL/10
Vapor BBCOR Ratings (key)
3/5 MOI
4/5 Stiff
4/5 Rating
2/5 Tech
2/5 Profile
4/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
2/5 Resell
4/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 30, 31, 32, 33-inch
Release Date: September 15, 2019
Serial: WTLBBVAB320
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar BBCOR Bats
No items found
BBVA153

BBCOR Review


OVERALL/10
Vapor BBCOR Ratings (key)
3/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
2/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: -inch
Release Date: October 1, 2014
Serial: BBVA153
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar BBCOR Bats
No items found
WTLBBVA173

BBCOR Review


OVERALL/10
Vapor BBCOR Ratings (key)
3/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
2/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: -inch
Release Date: October 1, 2016
Serial: WTLBBVA173
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar BBCOR Bats
No items found
WTLBBVA18B3

BBCOR Review


OVERALL/10
Vapor BBCOR Ratings (key)
3/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
2/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: -inch
Release Date: October 1, 2017
Serial: WTLBBVA18B3
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar BBCOR Bats
No items found
WTLUBVA18B9

USA Drop 10 Review


OVERALL/10
Vapor USA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
3/5 MOI
3/5 Stiff
4/5 Rating
2/5 Tech
2/5 Profile
4/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
1/5 Resell
3/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: September 15, 2018
Serial: WTLUBVA18B9
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar USA Bats
No items found
WBL2539010

USA Drop 9 Review

Built for performance, the 2022 Vapor (-9) USA Bat from Louisville Slugger shows you mean business in the batter’s box. This bat strips away any frills so you can stay locked in on making contact and doing damage with the Series 7 Premium Alloy Barrel. The stiff 1-piece construction of Vapor pairs with the HUB™ 1-shot end cap to deliver durability and performance, and the big barrel design maximizes plate coverage.

Built for performance, the 2022 Vapor (-9) USA Bat from Louisville Slugger shows you mean business in the batter’s box. This bat strips away any frills so you can stay locked in on making contact and doing damage with the Series 7 Premium Alloy Barrel. The stiff 1-piece construction of Vapor pairs with the HUB™ 1-shot end cap to deliver durability and performance, and the big barrel design maximizes plate coverage.


OVERALL/10
Vapor USA Drop 9 Ratings (key)
4/5 MOI
4/5 Stiff
2/5 Rating
2/5 Tech
3/5 Profile
3/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
1/5 Resell
5/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 27, 28, 29, 30, 32-inch
Release Date: October 27, 2021
Serial: WBL2539010
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar USA Bats
No items found
WTLUBVA18B9

USA Drop 9 Review


OVERALL/10
Vapor USA Drop 9 Ratings (key)
/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
5/5 Durblty
2/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: -inch
Release Date: September 15, 2019
Serial: WTLUBVA18B9
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar USA Bats
No items found
SLVA159

USSSA Drop 9 Review


OVERALL/10
Vapor USSSA Drop 9 Ratings (key)
/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
2/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: -inch
Release Date: October 1, 2014
Serial: SLVA159
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
YBVA153

USSSA Drop 13 Review


OVERALL/10
Vapor USSSA Drop 13 Ratings (key)
/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
2/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: -inch
Release Date: October 1, 2014
Serial: YBVA153
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 1/4

Comparable Bats

On this site, the only other budget bat we have reviewed is the Easton S50. In terms of durability and performance you can expect the Vapor and S50 to be similar. However, the sizes may not be fully comparable.

In the aisles of WalMart, you’ll find roughly every bat you pick up to be very similar to the Vapor. Look closely at the writing on the side of the bat and if it says 7050 alloy construction then you can bet it performs the same as the Vapor.

Previous Models

Slugger makes no real determination between the Vapor in terms of year it was manufactured. There simply haven’t been any changes in the bat for a few years, so the 2014 is the same as the 2016, for example.

Each year is a very simple 7050 alloy bat in a single piece form. It has no particular technology that helps dampen sting or add power to your pop. It does pass required standard performance tests in baseball and softball, but we have no expectation it comes close to meeting them.

 


No items found

Overall Ratings Key

To keep consistent ratings across years, models and brands, we’ve devloped an aggregated rating system using 6 categories. As well, we track swing weight (MOI), stiffness and profile although they do not affect the overall score directly. The explanation of each rating is below.

  1. MOI: is the swing weight accurately measured at our bat lab. We score it 1 through 5. No score is better than another. This is a descriptive value. A lower number (1) represents a light swinging bat for its class, while a higher number (5) represents an endloaded bat.
  2. Tech: The tech advancements in the bat are 5% of its overall score. We award points for innovation even if the invention encourages the industry to try new things.
  3. Durability: The bat’s lifespan is rated at 15% of the overall score. We gather this information almost exclusively from the user and player feedback. More reports of a bat breaking then the lower the score.
  4. Stiffness: Stiffness is not counted towards the overall score since it’s a complete preference. The higher the number, the stiffer the bat, the lower the number, the more flex in the bat directly after contact. This is significantly correlated to how good a bat feels on mishits and hits.
  5. Profile: The profile does not count towards the overall score. However, we do track it. A high number means the bat has an extensive profile, and a lower number means it has a small profile.
  6. Resell: We count the secondary market of a used value of the bat as 10% of the overall score. We think the demand for the bat in the secondary market (eBay and SidelineSwap) are a good indicator of how well the bat is perceived to perform. It also shows a more excellent value for the owner as their bat retains more value and no longer becomes valuable to them.
  7. Rating: This is the player rating and represents 25% of the overall score. These are gathered from our hitters and reviews we find online and those we have contact with from other reputable sources.
  8. EV: Exit Velocity is the rankings we create in our exit speed velocity tests every year on bats. This score represents 25% of the overall score.
  9. Relevance: Relevance measures how applicable and available a bat is for consumers. The broader range of sizes and the more appropriate the swing weight for the masses then, the higher the score. This metric accounts for 20% of the overall score.

2018 Louisville Slugger Vapor User Reviews

0
Pop
0
Durability
0
Feel on Sweet Spot Hits
0
Feel on Mishits
0
Worth the Price
Users (0 votes) {{ reviewsOverall }} / 10
What people say... Leave your rating
Order by:

Be the first to leave a review.

Verified
/ 10
{{{ review.rating_title }}}
{{{review.rating_comment | nl2br}}}

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Leave your rating

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?