Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.

All Slugger Select Bats

The Louisville Slugger Select is a two-piece hybrid bat that serves as Sluggers’ middle-of-the-road performance bat. Over the years the swing weight has changed a bit. Mostly, in BBCOR, it’s built for a heavy-hitting high school or the collegiate kid that wants hot out of the wrapper performance, a reasonably stiff feel, and a big barrel. In the years they created it for the USSSA or USA space it’s a durable bat with a good feel and a real value buy.

Bats denoted with an asterisks(*) are “Reviews in Progress.” See the definition of the ratings here. Click column headers to sort.

Score Year League Drop Model Price MOI Relevant Sizes Demand Player Rating Tech Specs Performance Stiffness Durability Barrel Profile Resell Diameter Sizes Type Serial Release
2023 BBCOR 3 Louisville Slugger Select PWR Mid+ 4 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 Hyb. BBSPB3-23 10/01/22
2022 BBCOR 3 Louisville Slugger Select PWR 400 Heavy 4 4 5 4 5 4 4 4 4 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 Hyb. WBL2524010 10/27/21
2021 BBCOR 3 Louisville Slugger Select PWR 400 Heavy 4 4 5 4 5 4 4 4 4 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 Hyb. WTLBBSPB321 09/15/20
2020 BBCOR 3 Louisville Slugger Select PWR 400 Heavy 4 4 5 4 5 4 4 4 4 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 Hyb. WTLBBSPB320 09/15/19
2020 USA 10 Louisville Slugger Select 300 Mid 5 4 4 4 5 3 4 4 4 2 5/8 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 Hyb. WTLUBS7B1020 09/15/19
2020 USA 8 Louisville Slugger Select 300 Mid+ 3 4 5 4 5 3 4 4 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 Hyb. WTLUBS7B820 09/15/19
2020 USA 5 Louisville Slugger Select 300 Mid+ 4 4 5 4 5 3 4 4 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32, 33 Hyb. WTLUBS7B520 09/15/19
2019 BBCOR 3 Louisville Slugger 719 Select 400 Heavy 4 3 4 4 5 4 4 4 4 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 Hyb. WTLBBS719B3 09/15/18
2019 USA 10 Louisville Slugger Select 719 300 Mid 5 3 3 4 4 3 4 4 4 2 5/8 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 Hyb. WTLUBS719B10 09/15/18
2019 USA 8 Louisville Slugger Select 719 300 Mid+ 3 3 3 4 4 3 4 4 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 Hyb. WTLUBS719B8 09/15/18
2019 USA 5 Louisville Slugger Select 719 300 Mid+ 3 3 4 4 4 3 4 4 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 Hyb. WTLUBS719B5 09/15/18
2018 USSSA 5 Louisville Slugger Select 718 300 Mid+ 3 3 4 4 4 3 4 4 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 Hyb. WTLUBS718B5 10/01/17
2018 USSSA 10 Louisville Slugger Select 718 300 Mid+ 4 3 3 4 4 3 4 4 4 2 5/8 29, 30, 31, 32 Hyb. WTLUBS718B10 10/01/17
2018 BBCOR 3 Louisville Slugger Select 718 350 Mid 4 3 4 4 5 4 4 4 4 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 Hyb. WTLBBS718B3 10/01/17
2016 BBCOR 3 Louisville Slugger Select 716 Heavy 4 3 3 4 5 4 4 4 4 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 Hyb. BBS7163 10/01/15
2016 USSSA 10 Louisville Slugger Select 716 Mid 5 3 3 4 4 3 4 4 4 2 3/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 Hyb. SLS716X 10/01/15
2016 USSSA 10 Louisville Slugger Select 716 Mid 5 3 3 4 4 3 4 4 4 2 5/8 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 Hyb. SLS7160 10/01/15
2016 USSSA 5 Louisville Slugger Select 716 Mid+ 3 3 4 4 4 3 4 4 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 Hyb. SL7165 10/01/15
2016 USSSA 12 Louisville Slugger Select 716 Mid 4 3 2 4 5 3 4 4 4 2 1/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 Hyb. YBS7162 10/01/15
Overall Ratings

The overall rating uses seven different weighted metrics to determine our overall score. Half of total rating comes from the player and our exit speed tests (Player Rating: 25%, Performance: 25%).The other categories are Relevance (20%), Demand (10%), Durability (10%), Resell Score (5%), and Tech Specs (5%).

*: When a bat is denoted by a star (*) it is a preliminary rating. Expect it to be updated as we learn more about the bat and gather more data.

(PlaRa) Player Rating: We measure player rating from user reviews. Those users include our own hitters that we test at the lab as well as reviews we find online.

(ExVe) Performance: Performance measures the exit speeds and distances we capture in our hitting lab with HitTrax using these bats.

(Relv) Relevance: We measure the number of sizes and the MOI of the bat. Bats with a wider range of options get a better score.

(Dmnd) Demand: Demand is measured by consumer sentiment and the buzz around the bat.

(Drb) Durability: A bat’s durability is measured by user reviews as well as feedback from manufacturers.

(ReSl) Resell Score: Based on the price the bats go for used. Higher prices mean greater user demand which means, generally, a better bat. A resell value closer to its original price means a higher score.

(Tech) Tech Specs: We rate the bat on its technological advancements from previous years and compared to the industry at large. This is our chance to reward companies who are trying to innovate.
MOI
MOI or Mass Moment of Inertia is a measurement of bat swing weight. This quantifies how difficult it is to swing a bat. The industry often refers to this as things like End Load or Balanced but those words have been overused to the point of meaninglessness. We measure the actual swing weights of each bat we test using the industry-standard pendulum period, balance point, and scale weight. You can read more about that here.
Price
The price is the original MSRP price of the bat.
Type
The types of bats are single-piece alloy (SPA), two-piece composite (TPC), single-piece composite (SPC), hybrid (Hyb.), and wood (Wood). Hybrid bats are made of composite handles and alloy barrles.
Date
The estimated date the bat began distribution.

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?