Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.

Louisville Slugger Prime Bats

Slugger’s Prime, the precursor to the META (which in its first year was called the Meta Prime) is a two-piece composite bat with a big barrel and a lighter swing. Slugger’s Prime is an under-the-radar favorite of a lot of big hitters that don’t like the fanfare associated with the META or CF.

Bats denoted with an asterisks(*) are “Reviews in Progress.” See the definition of the ratings here. Click column headers to sort.

Score Year League Drop Model Price MOI Relevant Sizes Demand Player Rating Tech Specs Performance Stiffness Durability Barrel Profile Resell Diameter Sizes Type Serial Release
2022 USA 10 Louisville Slugger Prime 350 Light+ 4 4 4 4 4 2 4 3 4 2 5/8 28, 29, 30, 31 TPC WBL2536010 10/27/21
2020 BBCOR 3 Louisville Slugger Prime 450 Mid 4 3 4 4 5 2 3 4 3 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 TPC WTLBBP9B320 09/15/19
2020 USSSA 10 Louisville Slugger Prime 350 Light+ 5 4 4 4 5 2 3 4 3 2 3/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC WTLSLP9X1020 09/15/19
2020 USSSA 8 Louisville Slugger Prime 350 Mid 3 4 4 4 5 2 3 4 3 2 3/4 30, 31, 32 TPC WTLSLP9X820 09/15/19
2020 USSSA 5 Louisville Slugger Prime 350 Mid+ 3 3 4 4 4 2 3 4 3 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 TPC WTLSLP9B520 09/15/19
2020 USSSA 12 Louisville Slugger Prime One 250 Light 4 4 4 4 4 2 4 4 2 2 3/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPC WTLSLP1X1220 09/15/19
2020 USA 10 Louisville Slugger Prime 350 Light+ 5 4 4 4 4 2 3 4 3 2 5/8 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC WTLUBP9B1020 09/15/19
2019 BBCOR 3 Louisville Slugger 919 Prime 450 Mid 4 3 4 4 5 2 3 4 3 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 TPC WTLBBP919B3 09/15/18
2019 USSSA 10 Louisville Slugger Prime 919 350 Light+ 5 3 4 4 4 2 3 3 4 2 3/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC WTLSLP919X10 09/15/18
2019 USA 10 Louisville Slugger 919 Prime 350 Light+ 5 4 4 4 4 2 3 4 3 2 5/8 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC WTLUBP919B10 09/15/18
2019 BBCOR 3 Louisville Slugger Meta Prime 500 Mid 4 5 5 5 5 3 5 5 5 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 TPC WTLBBMTP9B3 09/15/18
2019 USSSA 12 Louisville Slugger Prime One 250 Light 4 4 4 4 4 4 3 4 2 2 5/8 28, 29, 30, 31 SPC WTLSLP119X12 09/15/18
2019 USSSA 8 Louisville Slugger Prime 919 350 Mid 3 3 4 4 4 2 3 3 4 2 3/4 30, 31, 32 TPC WTLSLP919X8 09/15/18
2019 USSSA 5 Louisville Slugger Prime 919 350 Mid+ 3 3 4 4 4 2 4 3 4 2 3/4 30, 31, 32 TPC WTLSLP919X5 09/15/18
2018 USSSA 8 Louisville Slugger Prime 918 350 Mid 5 3 4 4 4 2 3 3 4 2 3/4 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC WTLSLP918X8 10/01/17
2018 USSSA 10 Louisville Slugger Prime 918 350 Light+ 5 3 4 4 4 2 3 3 4 2 3/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC WTLSLP918X10 10/01/17
2018 BBCOR 3 Louisville Slugger Prime 918 450 Mid 4 3 4 4 5 2 3 4 3 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 TPC WTLBBP918B3 10/01/17
2017 BBCOR 3 Louisville Slugger Prime 917 Mid 4 3 4 4 5 2 3 4 3 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 TPC WTLBBP9173 10/01/16
2017 USSSA 10 Louisville Slugger Prime 917 Light+ 4 3 4 4 4 2 3 3 4 2 3/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC WTLSLP917X 10/01/16
2017 USSSA 10 Louisville Slugger Prime 917 Light+ 4 3 4 4 4 2 3 3 4 2 5/8 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC STLSLP9170 10/01/16
2017 USSSA 8 Louisville Slugger Prime 917 Mid 3 3 4 4 4 2 3 3 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 TPC STLSLP9178 10/01/16
2017 USSSA 5 Louisville Slugger Prime 917 Mid+ 3 3 4 4 4 2 4 3 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 TPC WTLSLP9175 10/01/16
2017 USSSA 12 Louisville Slugger Prime 917 Light 5 3 4 4 4 2 3 2 4 2 1/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC WTLYBP9172 10/01/16
2017 USSSA 10 Louisville Slugger Prime 917 Light+ 4 3 4 4 4 2 3 3 4 2 1/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC WTLYBP9170 10/01/16
2016 BBCOR 3 Louisville Slugger Prime 916 Mid 4 3 4 4 5 2 3 4 3 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 TPC BBP9163 10/01/15
2016 USSSA 10 Louisville Slugger Prime 916 Light+ 4 3 4 4 4 2 3 3 4 2 3/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC SLP916X 10/01/15
2016 USSSA 10 Louisville Slugger Prime 916 Light+ 4 3 4 4 4 2 3 3 4 2 5/8 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC SLP9160 10/01/15
2016 USSSA 8 Louisville Slugger Prime 916 Mid 3 3 4 4 4 2 3 3 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 TPC SLP9168 10/01/15
2016 USSSA 5 Louisville Slugger Prime 916 Mid+ 3 3 4 4 4 2 4 3 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 TPC SLP9165 10/01/15
2016 USSSA 12 Louisville Slugger Prime 916 Light+ 5 3 4 4 4 2 3 2 4 2 1/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC YBP9162 10/01/15
2016 USSSA 10 Louisville Slugger Prime 916 Light+ 4 3 4 4 4 2 3 3 4 2 1/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC YBP9160 10/01/15
2016 USSSA 12.5 Louisville Slugger Prime 916 Light 4 3 4 4 4 2 3 2 4 2 1/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC TBP9162 10/01/15
Overall Ratings

The overall rating uses seven different weighted metrics to determine our overall score. Half of total rating comes from the player and our exit speed tests (Player Rating: 25%, Performance: 25%).The other categories are Relevance (20%), Demand (10%), Durability (10%), Resell Score (5%), and Tech Specs (5%).

*: When a bat is denoted by a star (*) it is a preliminary rating. Expect it to be updated as we learn more about the bat and gather more data.

(PlaRa) Player Rating: We measure player rating from user reviews. Those users include our own hitters that we test at the lab as well as reviews we find online.

(ExVe) Performance: Performance measures the exit speeds and distances we capture in our hitting lab with HitTrax using these bats.

(Relv) Relevance: We measure the number of sizes and the MOI of the bat. Bats with a wider range of options get a better score.

(Dmnd) Demand: Demand is measured by consumer sentiment and the buzz around the bat.

(Drb) Durability: A bat’s durability is measured by user reviews as well as feedback from manufacturers.

(ReSl) Resell Score: Based on the price the bats go for used. Higher prices mean greater user demand which means, generally, a better bat. A resell value closer to its original price means a higher score.

(Tech) Tech Specs: We rate the bat on its technological advancements from previous years and compared to the industry at large. This is our chance to reward companies who are trying to innovate.
MOI
MOI or Mass Moment of Inertia is a measurement of bat swing weight. This quantifies how difficult it is to swing a bat. The industry often refers to this as things like End Load or Balanced but those words have been overused to the point of meaninglessness. We measure the actual swing weights of each bat we test using the industry-standard pendulum period, balance point, and scale weight. You can read more about that here.
Price
The price is the original MSRP price of the bat.
Type
The types of bats are single-piece alloy (SPA), two-piece composite (TPC), single-piece composite (SPC), hybrid (Hyb.), and wood (Wood). Hybrid bats are made of composite handles and alloy barrles.
Date
The estimated date the bat began distribution.

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?