Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.

Louisville Slugger Meta Bats

Louisville Slugger’s Meta came on the scene in 2018 and has taken the BBCOR world by storm. They’ve added more leagues and sizes over the years and the bat continues to do very well in the two-piece composite big barrel space with a premium price tag. Here are our reviews over the years.

Bats denoted with an asterisks(*) are “Reviews in Progress.” See the definition of the ratings here. Click column headers to sort.

Score Year League Drop Model Price MOI Relevant Sizes Demand Player Rating Tech Specs Performance Stiffness Durability Barrel Profile Resell Diameter Sizes Type Serial Release
2023 BBCOR 3 Louisville Slugger Meta Mid 4 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 TPC BBMTB3-23 10/01/22
2023 BBCOR 3 Louisville Slugger Meta PWR Heavy 2 2 5/8 32, 33, 34 TPC BBMPB3-23 10/01/22
2022 USSSA 12 Louisville Slugger Meta One 250 Light+ 5 2 3 4 4 3 4 4 3 2 3/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC WBL2531010 10/27/21
2022 BBCOR 3 Louisville Slugger Meta 500 Light+ 4 5 5 4 5 3 5 4 5 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 TPC WBL2522010 10/27/21
2022 USSSA 8 Louisville Slugger Meta 350 Mid 4 5 5 5 5 3 3 4 4 2 3/4 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC WBL2529010 10/27/21
2022 USSSA 10 Louisville Slugger Meta 350 Mid 4 4 5 4 5 3 3 5 5 2 3/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 TPC WBL2528010 10/27/21
2022 USSSA 5 Louisville Slugger Meta 350 Mid+ 3 3 4 4 5 3 4 4 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 TPC WBL2530010 10/27/21
2022 BBCOR 3 Louisville Slugger Meta PWR 500 Mid 4 2 5 5 5 3 4 5 4 2 5/8 32, 33, 34 TPC BBMPB3-22 10/27/21
2022 Fastpitch 10 Louisville Slugger Meta 450 Mid 5 4 5 5 5 2 3 4 5 2 1/4 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34 TPC WBL2492010 10/27/21
2022 Fastpitch 9 Louisville Slugger Meta 450 Mid 4 4 5 5 5 3 3 4 5 2 1/4 32, 33, 34 TPC WBL2495010 10/27/21
2022 Fastpitch 8 Louisville Slugger Meta 450 Mid+ 3 4 5 5 5 3 4 4 5 2 1/4 33, 34 TPC WBL2496010 10/27/21
2022 Fastpitch 11 Louisville Slugger Meta 450 Light+ 5 4 4 5 5 2 3 4 5 2 1/4 29, 30, 31, 32, 33 TPC WBL2492011 10/27/21
2021 BBCOR 3 Louisville Slugger Meta PWR 500 Heavy 1 2 5 4 5 4 3 5 4 2 5/8 32, 33 TPC WBL2465010 09/15/20
2021 BBCOR 3 Louisville Slugger Meta 500 Light+ 4 5 4 5 5 3 3 5 5 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 TPC WBL2463010 09/15/20
2021 USSSA 10 Louisville Slugger Meta 350 Mid 5 4 5 5 5 3 4 4 4 2 3/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC WBL2467010 09/15/20
2021 USSSA 8 Louisville Slugger Meta 350 Light+ 5 5 5 5 5 3 4 4 4 2 3/4 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC WBL2468010 09/15/20
2021 USSSA 5 Louisville Slugger Meta 350 Mid 4 4 4 5 4 3 4 4 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 TPC WBL2469010 09/15/20
2020 BBCOR 3 Louisville Slugger Meta 499 Mid 4 5 5 5 5 3 4 5 5 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 TPC WTLBBMTB3 09/15/19
2019 BBCOR 3 Louisville Slugger Meta Prime 500 Mid 4 5 5 5 5 3 5 5 5 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 TPC WTLBBMTP9B3 09/15/18
Overall Ratings

The overall rating uses seven different weighted metrics to determine our overall score. Half of total rating comes from the player and our exit speed tests (Player Rating: 25%, Performance: 25%).The other categories are Relevance (20%), Demand (10%), Durability (10%), Resell Score (5%), and Tech Specs (5%).

*: When a bat is denoted by a star (*) it is a preliminary rating. Expect it to be updated as we learn more about the bat and gather more data.

(PlaRa) Player Rating: We measure player rating from user reviews. Those users include our own hitters that we test at the lab as well as reviews we find online.

(ExVe) Performance: Performance measures the exit speeds and distances we capture in our hitting lab with HitTrax using these bats.

(Relv) Relevance: We measure the number of sizes and the MOI of the bat. Bats with a wider range of options get a better score.

(Dmnd) Demand: Demand is measured by consumer sentiment and the buzz around the bat.

(Drb) Durability: A bat’s durability is measured by user reviews as well as feedback from manufacturers.

(ReSl) Resell Score: Based on the price the bats go for used. Higher prices mean greater user demand which means, generally, a better bat. A resell value closer to its original price means a higher score.

(Tech) Tech Specs: We rate the bat on its technological advancements from previous years and compared to the industry at large. This is our chance to reward companies who are trying to innovate.
MOI
MOI or Mass Moment of Inertia is a measurement of bat swing weight. This quantifies how difficult it is to swing a bat. The industry often refers to this as things like End Load or Balanced but those words have been overused to the point of meaninglessness. We measure the actual swing weights of each bat we test using the industry-standard pendulum period, balance point, and scale weight. You can read more about that here.
Price
The price is the original MSRP price of the bat.
Type
The types of bats are single-piece alloy (SPA), two-piece composite (TPC), single-piece composite (SPC), hybrid (Hyb.), and wood (Wood). Hybrid bats are made of composite handles and alloy barrles.
Date
The estimated date the bat began distribution.

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?