Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.

Easton Maxum Bats

The Combat/Easton Maxum is legendary. It got its first run from Combat, a now-defunct company absorbed by Easton. (Which was then absorbed by Rawlings). The Maxum has a tradition as a single-piece composite bat with a massive barrel and light swing weight. Those who love it absolutely love it. Over the years it has come in many sizes and leagues. Our ratings of the bats are below.

Bats denoted with an asterisks(*) are “Reviews in Progress.” See the definition of the ratings here. Click column headers to sort.

Score Year League Drop Model Price MOI Relevant Sizes Demand Player Rating Tech Specs Performance Stiffness Durability Barrel Profile Resell Diameter Sizes Type Serial Release
2022 USA 10 Easton Maxum Ultra 280 Mid+ 5 4 5 5 5 3 4 5 4 2 5/8 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 SPC YBB22MX10 10/07/21
2022 USA 12 Easton Maxum Ultra 280 Light+ 4 3 3 4 4 3 4 5 2 2 5/8 27, 28, 28, 30, 31 SPC YBB22MX12 10/07/21
2022 USSSA 10 Easton Maxum Ultra 300 Light+ 5 4 5 4 5 3 4 5 4 2 3/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPC SL22MX10 10/07/21
2022 USSSA 12 Easton Maxum Ultra 200 Light 2 2 3 3 4 2 4 4 2 2 3/4 25, 26, 27 SPC JBB22MX12 10/07/21
2022 USSSA 5 Easton Maxum Ultra 300 Mid+ 3 3 5 4 5 3 4 5 4 2 3/4 30, 31, 32 SPC SL22MX58 10/07/21
2021 BBCOR 3 Easton Maxum Ultra 400 Light 4 3 5 4 5 3 4 5 3 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 SPC BB21MX 09/01/20
2020 BBCOR 3 Easton Maxum 360 400 Light 4 4 5 5 5 2 4 5 5 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 SPC BB20MX 09/01/19
2020 USSSA 12 Easton Maxum 360 300 Light 4 4 4 4 4 2 3 4 4 2 3/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 SPC SL20MX12 09/01/19
2020 USSSA 10 Easton Maxum 360 300 Light+ 5 4 5 4 5 3 4 5 4 2 3/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 SPC SL20MX10 09/01/19
2020 USSSA 5 Easton Maxum 360 300 Mid+ 3 3 4 4 4 3 4 4 4 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 SPC SL20MX58 09/01/19
2020 USSSA 12 Easton Maxum 360 200 Light 2 4 3 4 4 2 3 4 4 2 5/8 25, 26, 27 SPC JBB20MX12 09/01/19
Overall Ratings

The overall rating uses seven different weighted metrics to determine our overall score. Half of total rating comes from the player and our exit speed tests (Player Rating: 25%, Performance: 25%).The other categories are Relevance (20%), Demand (10%), Durability (10%), Resell Score (5%), and Tech Specs (5%).

*: When a bat is denoted by a star (*) it is a preliminary rating. Expect it to be updated as we learn more about the bat and gather more data.

(PlaRa) Player Rating: We measure player rating from user reviews. Those users include our own hitters that we test at the lab as well as reviews we find online.

(ExVe) Performance: Performance measures the exit speeds and distances we capture in our hitting lab with HitTrax using these bats.

(Relv) Relevance: We measure the number of sizes and the MOI of the bat. Bats with a wider range of options get a better score.

(Dmnd) Demand: Demand is measured by consumer sentiment and the buzz around the bat.

(Drb) Durability: A bat’s durability is measured by user reviews as well as feedback from manufacturers.

(ReSl) Resell Score: Based on the price the bats go for used. Higher prices mean greater user demand which means, generally, a better bat. A resell value closer to its original price means a higher score.

(Tech) Tech Specs: We rate the bat on its technological advancements from previous years and compared to the industry at large. This is our chance to reward companies who are trying to innovate.
MOI
MOI or Mass Moment of Inertia is a measurement of bat swing weight. This quantifies how difficult it is to swing a bat. The industry often refers to this as things like End Load or Balanced but those words have been overused to the point of meaninglessness. We measure the actual swing weights of each bat we test using the industry-standard pendulum period, balance point, and scale weight. You can read more about that here.
Price
The price is the original MSRP price of the bat.
Type
The types of bats are single-piece alloy (SPA), two-piece composite (TPC), single-piece composite (SPC), hybrid (Hyb.), and wood (Wood). Hybrid bats are made of composite handles and alloy barrles.
Date
The estimated date the bat began distribution.

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?