Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.

Axe Avenge Bat Reviews

The Axe Avenge is Axe Bats marquee baseball bat. Its unique handle design on a two-piece composite is a lone wolf in the market. It was introduced into the BBCOR market around 2015 and continues to make adjustments ever since. It is, at its heart, a two-piece composite bat with a light swing and a big barrel.

Bats denoted with an asterisks(*) are “Reviews in Progress.” See the definition of the ratings here. Click column headers to sort.

Score Year League Drop Model Price MOI Relevant Sizes Demand Player Rating Tech Specs Performance Stiffness Durability Barrel Profile Resell Diameter Sizes Type Serial Release
2023 USSSA 8 Axe Avenge Pro 399 Light+ 4 4 5 5 5 2 3 5 4 2 3/4 30, 31, 32 TPC L173I 05/24/22
2023 USSSA 5 Axe Avenge Pro 399 Mid 4 4 5 5 5 2 4 5 4 2 3/4 30, 31, 32 TPC L173K 05/24/22
2023 USA 11 Axe Avenge Pro Tee Ball 40 Light 4 5 5 4 4 3 5 3 4 2 5/8 25, 26 SPA L166J 07/01/22
2023 USSSA 10 Axe Avenge Pro 399 Light+ 5 4 5 5 5 2 4 5 4 2 3/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 TPC L148K 05/24/22
2022 BBCOR 3 Axe Avenge Pro Hybrd PWR 400 Light+ 4 3 5 5 5 4 5 3 3 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 Hyb. L130JP-PWR 08/01/21
2022 BBCOR 3 Axe Avenge Pro Hybrid 400 Light+ 4 3 5 5 5 4 5 3 3 2 5/8 31, 32, 33, 34 Hyb. L130JP 08/01/21
2022 BBCOR 3 Axe Avenge Pro 450 Mid 4 4 5 5 5 2 4 4 4 2 5/8 31, 32, 33 TPC L146J 08/01/21
2022 BBCOR 3 Axe Avenge Pro PWR Handle 450 Mid 4 4 5 5 5 2 4 4 4 2 5/8 31, 32, 33 TPC L146J-PWR 08/01/21
2022 USA 10 Axe Avenge Pro 350 Mid+ 4 4 4 5 5 2 4 5 3 2 5/8 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC L142JP 08/01/21
2022 USSSA 10 Axe Avenge Pro 350 Light+ 4 3 4 5 4 3 3 5 3 2 3/4 27, 28, 29, 30, 31 TPC L148J 08/01/21
2022 USSSA 5 Axe Avenge Pro 350 Mid+ 3 3 4 5 5 3 3 4 3 2 3/4 30, 31, 32 TPC L199J 08/01/21
2022 USSSA 8 Axe Avenge Pro 350 Mid+ 4 4 4 5 5 3 3 4 3 2 3/4 30, 31, 32 TPC YB22ZILLA8 08/01/21
2021 USSSA 8 Axe Avenge Pro 350 Light 3 3 5 5 5 3 3 5 3 2 3/4 30, 31, 32 TPC L173J 08/01/20
2021 USA 10 Axe Avenge 350 Mid+ 4 3 4 5 5 2 4 5 3 2 5/8 30, 31, 32 TPC L142J 08/01/20
2019 USSSA 10 Axe Avenge 300 Light+ 4 3 4 5 4 2 4 4 3 2 3/4 28, 29, 30, 31, 32 TPC L148G 08/01/18
Overall Ratings

The overall rating uses seven different weighted metrics to determine our overall score. Half of total rating comes from the player and our exit speed tests (Player Rating: 25%, Performance: 25%).The other categories are Relevance (20%), Demand (10%), Durability (10%), Resell Score (5%), and Tech Specs (5%).

*: When a bat is denoted by a star (*) it is a preliminary rating. Expect it to be updated as we learn more about the bat and gather more data.

(PlaRa) Player Rating: We measure player rating from user reviews. Those users include our own hitters that we test at the lab as well as reviews we find online.

(ExVe) Performance: Performance measures the exit speeds and distances we capture in our hitting lab with HitTrax using these bats.

(Relv) Relevance: We measure the number of sizes and the MOI of the bat. Bats with a wider range of options get a better score.

(Dmnd) Demand: Demand is measured by consumer sentiment and the buzz around the bat.

(Drb) Durability: A bat’s durability is measured by user reviews as well as feedback from manufacturers.

(ReSl) Resell Score: Based on the price the bats go for used. Higher prices mean greater user demand which means, generally, a better bat. A resell value closer to its original price means a higher score.

(Tech) Tech Specs: We rate the bat on its technological advancements from previous years and compared to the industry at large. This is our chance to reward companies who are trying to innovate.
MOI
MOI or Mass Moment of Inertia is a measurement of bat swing weight. This quantifies how difficult it is to swing a bat. The industry often refers to this as things like End Load or Balanced but those words have been overused to the point of meaninglessness. We measure the actual swing weights of each bat we test using the industry-standard pendulum period, balance point, and scale weight. You can read more about that here.
Price
The price is the original MSRP price of the bat.
Type
The types of bats are single-piece alloy (SPA), two-piece composite (TPC), single-piece composite (SPC), hybrid (Hyb.), and wood (Wood). Hybrid bats are made of composite handles and alloy barrles.
Date
The estimated date the bat began distribution.

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?