Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Disclaimer: This site uses affiliate links. Learn More.


Many end of Year Deals and Black Friday deals are live now. We are keeping track of all we find here. It really is a great time to buy an new 'old' model.
Many end of Year Deals and Black Friday deals are live now. We are keeping track of all we find here. It really is a great time to buy an new 'old' model.



2021 DeMarini CF Review [Baseball]

By Bat Digest | Last Updated November 17, 2022


The 2021 DeMarini CF is just like the 2020 line. That is not a bad thing. All versions have that flex feel handle. The BBCOR swings light. The USSSA drop 10, 8, and 5 will still be legendary. The USA version is still struggling to impress (as all USA bats are). Also, the 2021 bat is called the CF, not the “CF Zen.” But, plenty of people search or refer to the bat as the “Zen,” so we use it here. But, to be sure, it is the 2021 CF.


Price Check


2021 CF Video

2021 CF Video

2021 CF Models


Our hitters love the big barrel, great sound, and balanced feel of DeMarini’s CF. We expect the 2021 CF to be much the same. The BBCOR swings light, the USSSA drop 10, 8, and 5 have world-class performance, and the USA is as good as any other USA bat on the market today. It hasn’t changed much from 2020–but why should it? Aside from some durability issues in the USSSA, it’s tough to find any reasonable complaints (aside from the BBCOR being a bit too flexible—but that’s a feel preference, not a performance one).

BBCOR
/10
USA –10
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –8
/10
USSSA –5
/10

General Recomendations

For years the 2021 CF Zen from DeMarini is built on a light swing, big barrel, and non-stiff connection piece. For 2021, we see no reason they will change.

Model Recommendations

WTDXCBC21

BBCOR Review

CF BBCOR Ratings (key)
2 4 3 1 5 4 3 5 5 3
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
DeMarini's 2021 BBCOR CF is a big barrel and light swing. It's most differentiating feature is the semi-flexibility in the handle. Unlike most BBCOR bats which are rather stiff, the 2021 CF (and the CF's before it) has more give in the connection. Connection give does not affect performance. Instead, it affects the perception of your performance. Every hit on the CF feels good. If that is your style, and you like a light swing on a two-piece composite with a big barrel, then the 2021 DeMarini CF BBCOR may very well be for you.
Sizing: 30, 31, 32, 33, 34-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2020
Serial: WTDXCBC21
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
WTDXUFX21

USA Drop 10 Review

CF USA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
2 4 2 2 5 4 4 4 5 4
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
DeMarini's 2021 CF Drop 10 in USA is a light swinging two-piece composite bat built with the USSSA versions in mind. It swings light and doesn't appear to have the same durability issues as the USSSA versions. The flex feel is the exact same in this USA version as it is in its other lines. However, the barrel is much shorter and the more restrictive standard is immediately noticable. The USA CF is a fine bat, but it is far from a must swing like the USSSA versions. There are no changes between the 2021 and 2020 USA CF bats.
Sizing: 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2020
Serial: WTDXUFX21
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
WTDXCB721

USSSA Drop 10 Review

CF USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
2 4 2 2 5 5 4 5 5 5
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
There are two things wrong with the 2021 DeMarini CF in a drop 10 USSSA. First, it's not cheap. Second, it isn't the most durable bat out there. Other than that, the bat is, dare we say, perfect. The feel, the barrel size, and performance are all as good as it gets. To the first problem, though, there is no fixing that. Other bats demand that price, and we always wish things were cheaper. To the second problem, the bat has become more durable over the years. It doesn't break like the 2016/17 version, that is for sure. But, there is always a close play between performing at the max limit and being durable. Our best suggestion to fix the durability issue is to see if going to the drop 8 will be a better fit. The drop 8 is more durable.
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2020
Serial: WTDXCB721
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
Similar Drop 10/11 USSSA Bats
WTDXC8Z21

USSSA Drop 8 Review

CF USSSA Drop 8 Ratings (key)
3 4 3 2 5 5 5 5 4 5
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
If you struggle with the durability in the drop 10 CF, then your answer might be the drop 8 version of the 2021 DeMarini CF. There are no changes between the 2020 and 2021 CF. As always, the drop 8 is a moderately balanced, big barrel two-piece composite bat. The semif-flexible handle feels just like most kids want it to. The swing weight is right in line with the average of drop 8 bats on the market. If you can swing a drop 8 then it will be hard to find another bat you like more than the drop 8 2021 DeMarini CF.
Sizing: 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2020
Serial: WTDXC8Z21
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
See other Drop 8 USSSA Bats

Price Tracking

*Bat Digest tracks these prices through automated means and it represents a best effort. It’s possible this price tracking isn’t perfect. It is best to check the site we are tracking directly. *Red dots, marked “unavailable,” mean our system didn’t pick up a price that given day, for any reason.
WTDXCB521

USSSA Drop 5 Review

CF USSSA Drop 5 Ratings (key)
4 4 3 3 5 5 5 5 4 5
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
The drop 5 DeMarini CF is a legendary bat. Since 2017 it has been killing balls. Our exit speed tests showed the drop 5 2021 is as good as any USSSA drop 10 CF now or since. This bat, like the drop 10, also has some complaints about durability. But, we don't believe it breaks more than any other two-piece composite bat in the USSSA drop 5 space. We'd recommend you buy the bat with a warranty. And, if you can swing a drop 5 in USSSA then this one is as good as any. The drop 5 33/28 is a big boys bat and can hit the ball harder than any other baseball bat on the 2021 market of any league.
Sizing: 30, 31, 32, 33-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2020
Serial: WTDXCB521
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar Drop 5 USSSA Bats

Comparable Bats

The two-piece composite space is replete with legit options. The most popular two-piece composite with a balanced swing is the Slugger Meta. Those bats are followed closely in popularity by the Rawlings Quatro and Easton ADV 360.

Previous Models

Compared to the 2020 CF, there are no differences between the 2021 and 2020 bats. From 2019 to 2020 they changed the endcap. But, for 2020, no changes.

Construction

The 2021 DeMarini will contine the long line of two-piece composite bats. That is, the handle of the bat and the barrel are made separately. They then connect the bat together with a type of connective piece that helps determine the feel of the bat. Although we don’t have specific construction information yet on the 2021 DeMarini CF, we fully expect something similar to previous years’ models.

Overall Ratings

The overall rating uses seven different weighted metrics to determine our overall score. Half of total rating comes from the player and our exit speed tests (Player Rating: 25%, Performance: 25%).The other categories are Relevance (20%), Demand (10%), Durability (10%), Resell Score (5%), and Tech Specs (5%).

*: When a bat is denoted by a star (*) it is a preliminary rating. Expect it to be updated as we learn more about the bat and gather more data.

(PlaRa) Player Rating: We measure player rating from user reviews. Those users include our own hitters that we test at the lab as well as reviews we find online.

(ExVe) Performance: Performance measures the exit speeds and distances we capture in our hitting lab with HitTrax using these bats.

(Relv) Relevance: We measure the number of sizes and the MOI of the bat. Bats with a wider range of options get a better score.

(Dmnd) Demand: Demand is measured by consumer sentiment and the buzz around the bat.

(Drb) Durability: A bat’s durability is measured by user reviews as well as feedback from manufacturers.

(ReSl) Resell Score: Based on the price the bats go for used. Higher prices mean greater user demand which means, generally, a better bat. A resell value closer to its original price means a higher score.

(Tech) Tech Specs: We rate the bat on its technological advancements from previous years and compared to the industry at large. This is our chance to reward companies who are trying to innovate.
MOI
MOI or Mass Moment of Inertia is a measurement of bat swing weight. This quantifies how difficult it is to swing a bat. The industry often refers to this as things like End Load or Balanced but those words have been overused to the point of meaninglessness. We measure the actual swing weights of each bat we test using the industry-standard pendulum period, balance point, and scale weight. You can read more about that here.
Price
The price is the original MSRP price of the bat.
Type
The types of bats are single-piece alloy (SPA), two-piece composite (TPC), single-piece composite (SPC), hybrid (Hyb.), and wood (Wood). Hybrid bats are made of composite handles and alloy barrles.
Date
The estimated date the bat began distribution.

Download our data.