Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.

2021 DeMarini CF Review [Baseball]

By Bat Digest | Last Updated June 9, 2021

The 2021 DeMarini CF is just like the 2020 line. That is not a bad thing. All versions have that flex feel handle. The BBCOR swings light. The USSSA drop 10, 8, and 5 will still be legendary. The USA version is still struggling to impress (as all USA bats are). Also, the 2021 bat is called the CF, not the “CF Zen.” But, plenty of people search or refer to the bat as the “Zen,” so we use it here. But, to be sure, it is the 2021 CF.

Navigate
Full reviewJump to the full review
Comparable Bats
Previous Models
User Reviews

2021 DeMarini CF BBCOR

$450

Original Price

CF BBCOR Drop 3

DeMarini's 2021 BBCOR CF is a big barrel and light swing. It's most differentiating feature is the semi-flexibility in the handle. Unlike most BBCOR bats which are rather stiff, the 2021 CF (and the CF's before it) has more give in the connection. Connection give does not affect performance. Instead, it affects the perception of your performance. Every hit on the CF feels good. If that is your style, and you like a light swing on a two-piece composite with a big barrel, then the 2021 DeMarini CF BBCOR may very well be for you.

Specs

Certification: BBCOR

Barrel Size: 2 5/8

Sizes: 30/27, 31/28, 32/29, 33/30, 34/31

Barrel Size: 2 5/8

Drop: 3

Swing Weight: Balance - (Between 5 and 10% lower than Industry Average).

Serial Number: WTDXCBC21

Release Month:

Related: Best BBCOR Bats

2021 DeMarini CF USA Drop 10

$350

Original Price

CF USA Drop 5

DeMarini's 2021 CF Drop 10 in USA is a light swinging two-piece composite bat built with the USSSA versions in mind. It swings light and doesn't appear to have the same durability issues as the USSSA versions. The flex feel is the exact same in this USA version as it is in its other lines. However, the barrel is much shorter and the more restrictive standard is immediately noticable. The USA CF is a fine bat, but it is far from a must swing like the USSSA versions. There are no changes between the 2021 and 2020 USA CF bats.

Specs

Certification: USA

Barrel Size: 2 5/8

Sizes: 29/19, 30/20, 31/21, 32/22

Barrel Size: 2 5/8

Drop: 5

Swing Weight: Balance - (Between 5 and 10% lower than Industry Average).

Serial Number: WTDXUFX21

Release Month:

Related: Best USA Bats

2021 DeMarini CF USSSA Drop 8

$350

Original Price

CF USSSA Drop 8

If you struggle with the durability in the drop 10 CF, then your answer might be the drop 8 version of the 2021 DeMarini CF. There are no changes between the 2020 and 2021 CF. As always, the drop 8 is a moderately balanced, big barrel two-piece composite bat. The semif-flexible handle feels just like most kids want it to. The swing weight is right in line with the average of drop 8 bats on the market. If you can swing a drop 8 then it will be hard to find another bat you like more than the drop 8 2021 DeMarini CF.

Specs

Certification: USSSA

Barrel Size: 2 3/4

Sizes: 29/21, 30/22, 31/23, 32/24

Barrel Size: 2 3/4

Drop: 8

Swing Weight: Balanced (Within +/- 5% of Industry Average)

Serial Number: WTDXC8Z21

Release Month:

Related: Best USSSA Bats

2021 DeMarini CF USSSA Drop 5

$350

Original Price

CF USSSA Drop 5

The drop 5 DeMarini CF is a legendary bat. Since 2017 it has been killing balls. Our exit speed tests showed the drop 5 2021 is as good as any USSSA drop 10 CF now or since. This bat, like the drop 10, also has some complaints about durability. But, we don't believe it breaks more than any other two-piece composite bat in the USSSA drop 5 space. We'd recommend you buy the bat with a warranty. And, if you can swing a drop 5 in USSSA then this one is as good as any. The drop 5 33/28 is a big boys bat and can hit the ball harder than any other baseball bat on the 2021 market of any league.

Specs

Certification: USSSA

Barrel Size: 2 5/8

Sizes: 30/25, 31/26, 32/27, 33/28

Barrel Size: 2 5/8

Drop: 5

Swing Weight: Balance + (5 to 10% Heavier Than Industry Average)

Serial Number: WTDXCB521

Release Month:

Related: Best USSSA Bats

2021 DeMarini CF USSSA Drop 10

$350

Original Price

CF USSSA Drop 10

There are two things wrong with the 2021 DeMarini CF in a drop 10 USSSA. First, it's not cheap. Second, it isn't the most durable bat out there. Other than that, the bat is, dare we say, perfect. The feel, the barrel size, and performance are all as good as it gets. To the first problem, though, there is no fixing that. Other bats demand that price, and we always wish things were cheaper. To the second problem, the bat has become more durable over the years. It doesn't break like the 2016/17 version, that is for sure. But, there is always a close play between performing at the max limit and being durable. Our best suggestion to fix the durability issue is to see if going to the drop 8 will be a better fit. The drop 8 is more durable.

Specs

Certification: USSSA

Barrel Size: 2 3/4

Sizes: 28/18, 29/19, 30/20, 31/21, 32/22

Barrel Size: 2 3/4

Drop: 10

Swing Weight: Balance - (Between 5 and 10% lower than Industry Average).

Serial Number: WTDXCB721

Release Month:

Related: Best USSSA Bats

RECOMMENDED 2021 CF VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2021 CF VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2021 CF VIDEO

2021 DeMarini CF Review

Our hitters love the big barrel, great sound, and balanced feel of DeMarini’s CF. We expect the 2021 CF to be much the same. The BBCOR swings light, the USSSA drop 10, 8, and 5 have world-class performance, and the USA is as good as any other USA bat on the market today. It hasn’t changed much from 2020–but why should it? Aside from some durability issues in the USSSA, it’s tough to find any reasonable complaints (aside from the BBCOR being a bit too flexible—but that’s a feel preference, not a performance one).

CF Ratings
Player Feedback (30%)
Performance (30%)
Relevance (20%)
Demand (15%)
Tech Specs (5%)
Total Weighted Rating 9.4/10 Total Weighted Rating 9.4/10

2021 DeMarini CF Review

Player Feedback (30%)
Performance (30%)
Relevance (20%)
Demand (15%)
Tech Specs (5%)
Total Weighted Rating 9.4/10 Total Weighted Rating 9.4/10

Our hitters love the big barrel, great sound, and balanced feel of DeMarini’s CF. We expect the 2021 CF to be much the same. The BBCOR swings light, the USSSA drop 10, 8, and 5 have world-class performance, and the USA is as good as any other USA bat on the market today. It hasn’t changed much from 2020–but why should it? Aside from some durability issues in the USSSA, it’s tough to find any reasonable complaints (aside from the BBCOR being a bit too flexible—but that’s a feel preference, not a performance one).

RECOMMENDED 2021 CF VIDEO

Comparable Bats

2. 2021 Meta

We’ve hit with the 2021 Louisville Slugger Meta over 1,000 times. Compared to the 2020 version, there are very few changes. However, the sound of the bat, due to a new end cap, as well as a minor barrel restructuring gives it a different sound. No bat is anticipated, much like the 2021 Louisville Slugger Meta.

Expect a USSSA meta in a drop 10, 8, and 5 in October of 2020.

In June of 2020, Slugger releases the 33″ version of the 2021 Meta. This is mainly meant to replace the 2020 33″ which was made illegal. Expect to see the remaining sizes of the Meta in October, when Slugger releases the bulk of their BBCOR bats. You can check Slugger’s 2021 Meta page here for available sizing.

3. 2022 ZOA
See the ZOA Review

DeMarini’s 2022 ZOA is a two-piece composite bat that will be available in BBCOR in a balanced and a loaded (DL) version. The bat seeks to upgrade the two-piece composite game and compete with the META in both success and price. Time will tell if it replaces the CF entirely, but with a sister company in Slugger and their success with the Meta only a few cubicles over, we expect big things from the 2022 ZOA.

2021 DeMarini CF Model Tips

For years the 2021 CF Zen from DeMarini is built on a light swing, big barrel, and non-stiff connection piece. For 2021, we see no reason they will change.

2021 DeMarini CF Review

DeMarini's CF has never quite grabbed hold of the market as it does in the USSSA. That's because, at least as our guessing goes, it's too much like the USSSA version. That is a more flexible connection and ultra-light swing. For BBCOR, most players start to prefer heavier swings and stiffer bats---even in their two-piece composites. What makes it a world-class bat in USSSA makes it a reasonable choice, but not a popular one in the BBCOR.

Price Check
2021 DeMarini CF Review

There are no changes in the USSSA CF from 2020 to the 2021. Both are still big barrel, light swing, and world-class performing USSSA bats. We think it's a great choice AS LONG AS you are comfortable knowing your bat may very well break, and you'll need to go through the warranty process. However, the vast majority of CF bats do NOT break. If you are very concerned about durability here, check out the drop 8 CF (or drop 5) instead of the drop 10.

Price Check
2021 DeMarini CF Review

There are no changes between the 2020 and 2021 CF USA drop 10. Both are two-piece bats built with a light swing. We recommend the bat for players that want a great feel on every hit. However, the shorter barrel and more restrictive standard make this bat much less fun to hit than the USSSA.

Price Check

2021 CF Construction

The 2021 DeMarini will contine the long line of two-piece composite bats. That is, the handle of the bat and the barrel are made separately. They then connect the bat together with a type of connective piece that helps determine the feel of the bat. Although we don’t have specific construction information yet on the 2021 DeMarini CF, we fully expect something similar to previous years’ models.

 

2021 DeMarini CF User Reviews

8.5
Pop
5.9
Durability
8.8
Feel on Sweet Spot Hits
7.3
Feel on Mishits
6.8
Worth the Price
Users (18 votes) {{ reviewsOverall }} / 10
What people say... Leave your rating
Order by:

Be the first to leave a review.

Verified
/ 10
{{{ review.rating_title }}}
{{{review.rating_comment | nl2br}}}

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Leave your rating

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
1 Comment
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
sunny
sunny
1 year ago

horrible c/s ad quality. No more demarini ever.

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?

1
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x