Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.



<< Baseball Reviews << Rawlings Reviews

2020 Rawlings Quatro Pro Review

By Bat Digest | Last Updated March 3, 2021


Our hitters liked the big barrel, and length afforded by the drop 12 of the USA bat as well as the sound of the new 2020 Rawlings Quatro PRO BBCOR Bat. The USSSA bat also got good marks. The Lizard Skin Grip, looks and barrel size were helpful too. One of our main hitters is a HUGE Quatro BBCOR fan and thought the 2020 Quator PRO felt just like the 2019 Quatro. It should as it is, pretty much, the same bat.


2020 Quatro Pro Video

2020 Quatro Pro Video

2020 Quatro Pro Models


Our 2020 Rawlings Quatro Pro review consists of hitting with the USA, USSSA and BBCOR versions of the bat. Our hitters thought the USSSA and drop 10 USA versions are highly recommendable. The BBCOR version, one of our favorite BBCOR bats in previous years, fell short this year with its feel and performance lacking compared to the 2019 and 2018 versions. The Drop 12 USA version is terribly light, maybe too much so, and sounds broke–although it’s exit speeds were decent for a drop 12.

BBCOR
/10
USA –12
/10
USA –10
/10
USA –8
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –12
/10
USSSA –11
/10

General Recomendations

The barrel is massive on the USA versions of the bat. The drop 12 gives is a remarkably light swing and, by our measurements, it is the largest barrel per swing weight on the market. It reminds us of the old Combat barrels. The massive sizing options in each league (USSSA, USA and BBCOR) give plenty of serious hitters a chance to find their right Quatro Pro.

Those who need more length due to weight restrictions should really like the drop 10 type feel this drop 12 bat has.

Model Recommendations

BBZQ3

BBCOR Review

Quatro Pro BBCOR Ratings (key)
1 5 3 2 4 3 3 5 4 4
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 31, 32, 33, 34-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2020
Serial: BBZQ3
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
See other BBCOR Bats
USZQ12

USA Drop 12 Review

Quatro Pro USA Drop 12 Ratings (key)
1 3 2 2 4 3 2 4 4 4
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 27, 28, 29, 30, 31-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2019
Serial: USZQ12
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
See other Drop 10 USA Bats Bats
USZQ10

USA Drop 10 Review

Quatro Pro USA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
2 5 3 2 5 3 3 5 5 4
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2019
Serial: USZQ10
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
See other Drop 10 USA Bats Bats
USZQ8

USA Drop 8 Review

Quatro Pro USA Drop 8 Ratings (key)
2 5 4 2 5 3 4 5 3 4
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 29, 30, 31-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2019
Serial: USZQ8
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
See other Drop 10 USA Bats Bats
UTZQ10

USSSA Drop 10 Review

Quatro Pro USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
2 4 3 2 4 3 4 4 4 4
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 27, 28, 29, 30, 31-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2019
Serial: UTZQ10
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
See other Drop 10 USSSA Bats
UTZQ12

USSSA Drop 12 Review

Quatro Pro USSSA Drop 12 Ratings (key)
2 3 2 2 4 3 2 4 3 4
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 27, 28, 29, 30-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2019
Serial: UTZQ12
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
UTZQ11

USSSA Drop 11 Review

Quato Pro USSSA Drop 11 Ratings (key)
2 4 3 3 4 3 4 4 4 3
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 25, 26, 27-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2019
Serial: UTZQ11
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
See other Drop 10 USSSA Bats

Comparable Bats

In terms of a drop 12 two piece composite you won’t find another bat in the USA space. There are not any. However, there are some drop 12’s but those are single piece bats. Look for something like the Rawlings Threat or Easton Hyperlite.

In the BBCOR, USSSA and USA non drop 12 space you can find a lot of similar bats. We like the CF Zen series from DeMarini and the Ghost Evolution series from Easton. Of course Slugger’s 2020 Prime and Meta series play well too.

Previous Models

In terms of a drop 12 USA Quatro Pro the 2020 version stands alone. 2019 didn’t product a drop 12 USA Quatro. But, the drop 10 and drop 8 models come Lizard Skin stock grip and all the upgrades found in the 2019 version of the bat. It comes with multiple discs in the barrel to expand the barrel to be absolutely massive. The USA version of the Quatro pro has been available since April of 2019.

In USSSA the Quatro Pro useas a new end cap as well as the new stock Lizard Skin grip.

BBCOR versions have the same changes as the USSSA version. The 2020 Quatro comes with the 2019 barrel which was upgraded from the 2019 version.

 

If the upgrades in the USA version hold over to the USSSA version you should expect a much bigger barrel and the Lizard Skin grip. The larger barrel is created by the use of multiple smaller discs in the barrel versus the one longer one they used in the 2019 and 2019 versions. Discs in barrels is not a new thing and something many fastpitch bats have been doing for years.

We are hopeful, considering its our favorite, they keep the BBCOR bat much the same.

Construction

The Quatro Pro USA Bat uses multiple composite discs in the barrel to help expand the sweet spot and expand the durability. This is an upgrade compared to last year’s model which used a single disc.

Overall Ratings

The overall rating uses seven different weighted metrics to determine our overall score. Half of total rating comes from the player and our exit speed tests (Player Rating: 25%, Performance: 25%).The other categories are Relevance (20%), Demand (10%), Durability (10%), Resell Score (5%), and Tech Specs (5%).

(UR) Un Rated: An overall rating of UR means the bat has yet to be fully rated. When it is, this score will update.

(PlaRa) Player Rating: We measure player rating from user reviews. Those users include our own hitters that we test at the lab as well as reviews we find online.

(ExVe) Performance: Performance measures the exit speeds and distances we capture in our hitting lab with HitTrax using these bats.

(Relv) Relevance: We measure the number of sizes and the MOI of the bat. Bats with a wider range of options get a better score.

(Dmnd) Demand: Demand is measured by consumer sentiment and the buzz around the bat.

(Drb) Durability: A bat’s durability is measured by user reviews as well as feedback from manufacturers.

(ReSl) Resell Score: Based on the price the bats go for used. Higher prices mean greater user demand which means, generally, a better bat. A resell value closer to its original price means a higher score.

(Tech) Tech Specs: We rate the bat on its technological advancements from previous years and compared to the industry at large. This is our chance to reward companies who are trying to innovate.
MOI
MOI or Mass Moment of Inertia is a measurement of bat swing weight. This quantifies how difficult it is to swing a bat. The industry often refers to this as things like End Load or Balanced but those words have been overused to the point of meaninglessness. We measure the actual swing weights of each bat we test using the industry-standard pendulum period, balance point, and scale weight. You can read more about that here.
Price
The price is the original MSRP price of the bat.
Type
The types of bats are single-piece alloy (SPA), two-piece composite (TPC), single-piece composite (SPC), hybrid (Hyb.), and wood (Wood). Hybrid bats are made of composite handles and alloy barrles.
Date
The estimated date the bat began distribution.

2020 Rawlings Quatro Pro User Reviews

0
Pop
0
Durability
0
Feel on Sweet Spot Hits
0
Feel on Mishits
0
Worth the Price
Users (0 votes) {{ reviewsOverall }} / 10
What people say... Leave your rating
Order by:

Be the first to leave a review.

Verified
/ 10
{{{ review.rating_title }}}
{{{review.rating_comment | nl2br}}}

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Leave your rating

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?