Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.



<< Baseball Reviews << Marucci Reviews

2021 Marucci CAT 9 Review

By Bat Digest | Last Updated August 2, 2022


The long-awaited Marucci CAT 9 was made widely available on 8.31.2020. (Check here to buy it). For 2021, expect the same great barrel with a new alloy and the same AV2 knob found in the CAT 8. The 2021 Marucci CAT 9 comes in BBCOR, USSSA and USA. It’s big barrel and light swing in USSSA will attract a lot of hitters, again. The not too end-loaded BBCOR performs as well as any BBCOR bat on the market, has a loud ping and a great look.


2021 CAT 9 Video

2021 CAT 9 Video

2021 CAT 9 Models


Our hitters like the loud sound, great feel for a single piece, and what feels like a long sweet spot on the 2021 Marucci CAT 9. The bat looks great and doesn’t feel much different (if at all) when compared to the 2020 CAT 8. That isn’t a bad thing, but it does feel a bit like the same old CAT with a new look and a differently named alloy.

BBCOR
/10
BBCOR
/10
USA –11
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –8
/10
USSSA –5
/10
USSSA –10
/10

General Recomendations

The 2021 CAT 9 in USSSA is a balanced to light swinging big barrel single-piece aluminum bat. Performance-wise, it does well in the space and performs as well as the DeMarini CF, which has dominated the area for years. In BBCOR, the bat swings heavier than most give it credit. We consider the bat with a slight end-load but a colossal barrel, great sound, and top-notch performance.

Model Recommendations

MCBC9

BBCOR Review

CAT 9 BBCOR Ratings (key)
4 3 4 4 4 4 4 5 4 5
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
The CAT 9 is a tiny bit heavier than the average BBCOR but so little that it's hard to tell. By our measurements, this is a lighter swinging bat than the 2018 CAT 8. The Marucci CAT 9 BBCOR is an ultra-popular bat with great barrel size, grip, feel, and performance. It's a top of the line and durable bat that likely deserves all the praise it gets. That said, it is a single-piece alloy and you can find those kinds of bats (without the fancy knob) for a lot less than this. We also love the half sizes added this year.
Sizing: 30, 31, 32, 33, 33, 34-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2020
Serial: MCBC9
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
MCBC9A

BBCOR Review

CAT 9 Pastime BBCOR Ratings (key)
3 5 4 4 5 5 5 5 4 5
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 31, 32, 33, 33, 34-inch
Release Date: September 15, 2021
Serial: MCBC9A
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
MSBC11YUSA

USA Drop 11 Review

CAT USA Drop 11 Ratings (key)
2 4 4 4 3 3 4 4 4 4
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10

Price It

JustBats
The 2022 Marucci CAT USA is a new bat for the 2022 lineup---that is, it isn't a repaint of the previous years USA Bat. This new version has a 2 5/8 barrel (the last had a 2 1/2) with an upgraded alloy and look. It still uses the anti-vibration knob, is a one piece alloy bat and a balanced swing. We think the bat will work well for that serious entry level player looking for a stiff feel and a light swing on a well known and made bat.
Sizing: 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31-inch
Release Date: November 1, 2021
Serial: MSBC11YUSA
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
MSBC910

USSSA Drop 10 Review

CAT 9 USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
4 3 4 4 4 4 5 5 4 5
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
The CAT 9 USSSA Drop 10 is many folks' favorite USSSA bat. It's wildly popular for its price point, feel brand name, and performance. Our players liked the size options, big barrel, light swing, and loud sound on contact. It feels like you hit the ball hard because you do. Easily one of our favorite USSSA bats on the market. Not very many bats get a 10, but we have no idea how we could make this bat any better.
Sizing: 27, 28, 29, 30, 31-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2020
Serial: MSBC910
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
Similar Drop 10/11 USSSA Bats
MSBC98

USSSA Drop 8 Review

CAT 9 USSSA Drop 8 Ratings (key)
4 3 4 4 4 4 5 5 4 5
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
The drop 8 CAT 9 in USSSA is a 2 3/4 barrel with a great feel, major pop, and some serious industry love. This is the most popular drop 8 on the market due, at least in part, to its price point, player ratings, and brand name status. We love the bat and recommend it to anyone looking to size up from a drop 10 or who wants to try a single piece bat for the first time. It's one of the best-rated bats on the planet. We also love the drop 8 in the shorter sizes---it really helps manage hand sting better for those who can wield it.
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2020
Serial: MSBC98
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
See other Drop 8 USSSA Bats
MSBC95

USSSA Drop 5 Review

CAT 9 USSSA Drop 5 Ratings (key)
4 3 4 4 4 4 5 5 4 5
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
The 2021 drop 5 Marucci CAT 9 is a few bats that can compete with the drop 5 DeMarini CF. The CAT 9 feels great and hits the crap out of the ball. It has a balanced swing, about like the CF. It's the biggest difference is the stiffness of contact. There's more feedback in this bat than in the CF---which is ultra-smooth. So, if you want a stiff feeling, drop 5 bats with a good barrel, great user ratings, and price point to save you a few bucks (compared to the CF), then this is your bat. We'd love to see it in a 29-inch and/or 33-inch, but not every bat can be perfect.
Sizing: 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2020
Serial: MSBC95
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
Similar Drop 5 USSSA Bats
MJBBC9

USSSA Drop 10 Review

CAT 9 USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
4 3 4 4 4 4 5 4 4 3
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 24, 25, 26, 27-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2020
Serial: MJBBC9
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
Similar Drop 10/11 USSSA Bats

Comparable Bats

The most comparable bat on the market to the CAT 9, we think, is the Warstic Hawk or Slugger’s Solo. We also think the Victus Vandal is a reasonable comparison. All are single-piece aluminum bats with a decent sized barrel. The Solo swings lighter and the Vandal will wring your hands more. Some might also consider the Rawlings VELO as a reasonable comparison. We do not disagree. The Solo, Vandal, and VELO all have variable wall thickness to extend the swing spot of the barrel.

Previous Models

As we stated above, the 2021 Marucci CAT 9 comes with an upgraded allow when compared to the CAT 8. They changed some things to make it more durable and a bit thinner. Marucci still uses multivariable wall thickness to extend the length of the sweet spot and bring down swing weight. As well, in the BBCOR bats, they added a groove along the length of the barrel to bring down the swing weight even more.

Construction

Marucci has used the same general principles in their CAT line of bats ever since the now illegal Cat 5. That is, they:

  • use a high performing barrel that uses variable wall thickness to create a longer sweet spot.
  • Implant a silicone piece inside the knob of the bat to help dampen sting on mishits (they call this the AV2).
  • Do not use any rings inside the barrel.
  • Focus the bats swing weight towards the knob for a lighter feeling bat.
  • Use a single piece of aluminum to construct the entire bat.
Overall Ratings

The overall rating uses seven different weighted metrics to determine our overall score. Half of total rating comes from the player and our exit speed tests (Player Rating: 25%, Performance: 25%).The other categories are Relevance (20%), Demand (10%), Durability (10%), Resell Score (5%), and Tech Specs (5%).

*: When a bat is denoted by a star (*) it is a preliminary rating. Expect it to be updated as we learn more about the bat and gather more data.

(PlaRa) Player Rating: We measure player rating from user reviews. Those users include our own hitters that we test at the lab as well as reviews we find online.

(ExVe) Performance: Performance measures the exit speeds and distances we capture in our hitting lab with HitTrax using these bats.

(Relv) Relevance: We measure the number of sizes and the MOI of the bat. Bats with a wider range of options get a better score.

(Dmnd) Demand: Demand is measured by consumer sentiment and the buzz around the bat.

(Drb) Durability: A bat’s durability is measured by user reviews as well as feedback from manufacturers.

(ReSl) Resell Score: Based on the price the bats go for used. Higher prices mean greater user demand which means, generally, a better bat. A resell value closer to its original price means a higher score.

(Tech) Tech Specs: We rate the bat on its technological advancements from previous years and compared to the industry at large. This is our chance to reward companies who are trying to innovate.
MOI
MOI or Mass Moment of Inertia is a measurement of bat swing weight. This quantifies how difficult it is to swing a bat. The industry often refers to this as things like End Load or Balanced but those words have been overused to the point of meaninglessness. We measure the actual swing weights of each bat we test using the industry-standard pendulum period, balance point, and scale weight. You can read more about that here.
Price
The price is the original MSRP price of the bat.
Type
The types of bats are single-piece alloy (SPA), two-piece composite (TPC), single-piece composite (SPC), hybrid (Hyb.), and wood (Wood). Hybrid bats are made of composite handles and alloy barrles.
Date
The estimated date the bat began distribution.

2021 Marucci CAT 9 User Reviews

0
Pop
0
Durability
0
Feel on Sweet Spot Hits
0
Feel on Mishits
0
Worth the Price
Users (0 votes) {{ reviewsOverall }} / 10
What people say... Leave your rating
Order by:

Be the first to leave a review.

Verified
/ 10
{{{ review.rating_title }}}
{{{review.rating_comment | nl2br}}}

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Leave your rating

Comments

Jaxson Wheeler says:

My dad got me it for Christmas but they didn’t have my size so to won’t be hear until January. But I hear amazing things about the cat 9

zander says:

the bat is so worth the money has a huge barrel great pop and if u hit it on the barrel it flies

Rich says:

Any update on information regarding the 2020 Cat 9?

Brian says:

Yes. The CAT 9 is now expected to release in August of 2020. COVID has it pushed back. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?