Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.

2021 Marucci CAT 9 Review | We Hit the Legend

By Bat Digest | Last Updated December 3, 2020

The long-awaited Marucci CAT 9 was made widely available on 8.31.2020. (Check here to buy it). For 2021, expect the same great barrel with a new alloy and the same AV2 knob found in the CAT 8. The 2021 Marucci CAT 9 comes in BBCOR, USSSA and USA. It’s big barrel and light swing in USSSA will attract a lot of hitters, again. The not too end-loaded BBCOR performs as well as any BBCOR bat on the market, has a loud ping and a great look.

Navigate
Full reviewJump to the full review
Comparable Bats
Previous Models
User Reviews

2021 Marucci CAT 9 BBCOR

$350

Original Price

CAT 9 BBCOR Drop 3

The CAT 9 is a tiny bit heavier than the average BBCOR but so little that it's hard to tell. By our measurements, this is a lighter swinging bat than the 2018 CAT 8. The Marucci CAT 9 BBCOR is an ultra-popular bat with great barrel size, grip, feel, and performance. It's a top of the line and durable bat that likely deserves all the praise it gets. That said, it is a single-piece alloy and you can find those kinds of bats (without the fancy knob) for a lot less than this. We also love the half sizes added this year.

Specs

Certification: BBCOR

Barrel Size: 2 5/8

Sizes: 30/27, 31/28, 32/29, 33/30, 33.5/30.5, 34/31

Barrel Size: 2 5/8

Drop: 3

Swing Weight: Balanced (Within +/- 5% of Industry Average)

Serial Number: MCBC9

Release Month:

Related: Best BBCOR Bats

2021 Marucci CAT 9 USSSA Drop 8

$280

Original Price

CAT 9 USSSA Drop 8

The drop 8 CAT 9 in USSSA is a 2 3/4 barrel with a great feel, major pop, and some serious industry love. This is the most popular drop 8 on the market due, at least in part, to its price point, player ratings, and brand name status. We love the bat and recommend it to anyone looking to size up from a drop 10 or who wants to try a single piece bat for the first time. It's one of the best-rated bats on the planet. We also love the drop 8 in the shorter sizes---it really helps manage hand sting better for those who can wield it.

Specs

Certification: USSSA

Barrel Size: 2 3/4

Sizes: 28/20, 29/21, 30/22, 31/23, 32/24

Barrel Size: 2 3/4

Drop: 8

Swing Weight: Balance - (Between 5 and 10% lower than Industry Average).

Serial Number: MSBC98

Release Month:

Related: Best USSSA Bats

2021 Marucci CAT 9 USSSA Drop 5

$280

Original Price

CAT 9 USSSA Drop 5

The 2021 drop 5 Marucci CAT 9 is a few bats that can compete with the drop 5 DeMarini CF. The CAT 9 feels great and hits the crap out of the ball. It has a balanced swing, about like the CF. It's the biggest difference is the stiffness of contact. There's more feedback in this bat than in the CF---which is ultra-smooth. So, if you want a stiff feeling, drop 5 bats with a good barrel, great user ratings, and price point to save you a few bucks (compared to the CF), then this is your bat. We'd love to see it in a 29-inch and/or 33-inch, but not every bat can be perfect.

Specs

Certification: USSSA

Barrel Size: 2 3/4

Sizes: 30/25, 31/26, 32/27

Barrel Size: 2 3/4

Drop: 5

Swing Weight: End Loaded (More than 10% Above Class Average)

Serial Number: MSBC95

Release Month:

Related: Best USSSA Bats

2021 Marucci CAT 9 USSSA Drop 10

$280

Original Price

CAT 9 USSSA Drop 10

The CAT 9 USSSA Drop 10 is many folks' favorite USSSA bat. It's wildly popular for its price point, feel brand name, and performance. Our players liked the size options, big barrel, light swing, and loud sound on contact. It feels like you hit the ball hard because you do. Easily one of our favorite USSSA bats on the market. Not very many bats get a 10, but we have no idea how we could make this bat any better.

Specs

Certification: USSSA

Barrel Size: 2 3/4

Sizes: 27/17, 28/18, 29/19, 30/20, 31/21

Barrel Size: 2 3/4

Drop: 10

Swing Weight: Balanced (Within +/- 5% of Industry Average)

Serial Number: MSBC910

Release Month:

Related: Best USSSA Bats

2021 Marucci CAT 9 Junior Big Barrel Drop 10

$220

Original Price

CAT 9 USSSA Drop 10

Price Checks
Specs

Certification: USSSA

Barrel Size: 2 3/4

Sizes: 24/14, 25/15, 26/16, 27/17

Barrel Size: 2 3/4

Drop: 10

Swing Weight: Hand Loaded (10% or Lighter than Industry Average)

Serial Number: MJBBC9

Release Month: October 2020

Related: Best USSSA Bats

RECOMMENDED 2021 CAT 9 VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2021 CAT 9 VIDEO
RECOMMENDED 2021 CAT 9 VIDEO

2021 Marucci CAT 9 Review

Our hitters like the loud sound, great feel for a single piece, and what feels like a long sweet spot on the 2021 Marucci CAT 9. The bat looks great and doesn’t feel much different (if at all) when compared to the 2020 CAT 8. That isn’t a bad thing, but it does feel a bit like the same old CAT with a new look and a differently named alloy.

CAT 9 Ratings
Player Feedback (30%)
Performance (30%)
Relevance (20%)
Demand (15%)
Tech Specs (5%)
Total Weighted Rating /10 Total Weighted Rating /10

2021 Marucci CAT 9 Review

Player Feedback (30%)
Performance (30%)
Relevance (20%)
Demand (15%)
Tech Specs (5%)
Total Weighted Rating /10 Total Weighted Rating /10

Our hitters like the loud sound, great feel for a single piece, and what feels like a long sweet spot on the 2021 Marucci CAT 9. The bat looks great and doesn’t feel much different (if at all) when compared to the 2020 CAT 8. That isn’t a bad thing, but it does feel a bit like the same old CAT with a new look and a differently named alloy.

RECOMMENDED 2021 CAT 9 VIDEO

Comparable Bats

1. 2020 The Goods

2020 DeMarini The Goods Review: Endloaded, Stiff, Big Hitting. We put the 2020 DeMarini The Goods two piece bat in the hands of 3 serious BBCOR ball players. Each found the bat to swing heavy (in a good way), feel great and look fantastic. We also watched many NCAA 2019 College World Series players give it a shot. The bat is a great shift from the Voodoo Insane of 2019 and is clearly built for the big hitter who still likes a two piece hybrid instead of a single piece aluminum. Our Score: 9/10.

2. 2018 Voodoo One

We have now spent considerable time both in the cage and during games with the 2018 DeMarini Voodoo One balanced. It is a light swinging version of the older Voodoo Insane and does really well against a bat like the Rawlings VELO.

3. 2019 CAT 8 OTM
See the CAT 8 OTM Review

*These are basically sold out at this point.***

For the 2018 holidays, Marucci has released a special colorway on the CAT 8.

2021 Marucci CAT 9 Model Tips

The 2021 CAT 9 in USSSA is a balanced to light swinging big barrel single-piece aluminum bat. Performance-wise, it does well in the space and performs as well as the DeMarini CF, which has dominated the area for years. In BBCOR, the bat swings heavier than most give it credit. We consider the bat with a slight end-load but a colossal barrel, great sound, and top-notch performance.

2021 Marucci CAT 9 Review

Those who like the feel of a single piece bat, as well as the durability afforded by a single piece aluminum, might find the CAT 9 to their linking. As well, the bat has a slight end load, so don't think it's for the faint of heart. This is not a great first BBCOR bat kind of look. But, for that good to strong Junior or Senior looking to make some noise (both literally and figuratively), this is the bat. Also, BBCOR bats these days perform about the same. The BBCOR standard keeps barrel performance across brands and models very uniform. This is not a knock on the CAT 9. We love it in BBCOR. But, don't buy the hype that his BBCOR bat (or any other) is markedly better than another.

Price Check
2021 Marucci CAT 9 Review

The bat we recommend second, to almost every USSSA player, is the Marucci CAT 9. We love its big barrel, light swing weight, and reasonable feedback on mishits. If you don't want to spend DeMarini CF kind of money and are okay with a little more feedback on the hands during mishits---especially mishits on the inside of the barrel, then the 2021 Marucci CAT 9 should be high up your list.

Price Check

2021 CAT 9 Construction

Marucci has used the same general principles in their CAT line of bats ever since the now illegal Cat 5. That is, they:

  • use a high performing barrel that uses variable wall thickness to create a longer sweet spot.
  • Implant a silicone piece inside the knob of the bat to help dampen sting on mishits (they call this the AV2).
  • Do not use any rings inside the barrel.
  • Focus the bats swing weight towards the knob for a lighter feeling bat.
  • Use a single piece of aluminum to construct the entire bat.

Dicks Sporting Goods has an exclusive version of the 2021 Marucci CAT 9. It’s a call back to the white edition from years past. It comes in a drop 10, 5, and BBCOR. Note, the drop is not legal for NCAA baseball as they don’t allow white bats. But, it is allowed in high school leagues.

Marucci History

The Marucci CAT 9 has been a long time in the making. Since the CAT 5, the bat has stayed true to its roots, but come a long way too. It still boasts an anti-vibration knob, loud sound, and single-piece feel. Over the years, the barrel size has increased dramatically—implementing variable wall thickness to extend the battel’s usable length and keep the swing weight down. However, the bat still chimes loud on contact, and the anti-vibration knob, now on the third or fourth iteration, still holds to its initial intent: Deliver a single piece feel with a single-piece feel.

Marucci CAT 9 History

Compared to the CAT 9, the CAT 9 Connect uses a composite handle and a connective piece Marucci calls the OLS. Our younger hitters tend to prefer two-piece bats because they feel better on mishits

We took on a particular hitter, a 12-year-old, and hit 60 pitches on the CAT 9 and CAT 9 Connect. They preferred the feel of the CAT 9 Connect. The barrels are no different—both the AZR. The bats have similar swing weights.

The only difference is the feel. You get better hand protection in a Connect than you do in a CAT 9 because that two-piece really dampens the sting in the hands.

Marucci CAT 9

2021 Marucci CAT 9 User Reviews

9.1
Pop
8.8
Durability
9.2
Feel on Sweet Spot Hits
7.7
Feel on Mishits
9
Worth the Price
Users (23 votes) {{ reviewsOverall }} / 10
What people say... Leave your rating
Order by:

Be the first to leave a review.

Verified
/ 10
{{{ review.rating_title }}}
{{{review.rating_comment | nl2br}}}

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Leave your rating

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
4 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Rich
Rich
1 year ago

Any update on information regarding the 2020 Cat 9?

zander
zander
10 months ago

the bat is so worth the money has a huge barrel great pop and if u hit it on the barrel it flies

Jaxson Wheeler
Jaxson Wheeler
9 months ago

My dad got me it for Christmas but they didn’t have my size so to won’t be hear until January. But I hear amazing things about the cat 9

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?

4
0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x