Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.



2020 Louisville Slugger Solo Review

By Bat Digest | Last Updated March 3, 2021

Our hitters praised the bat’s light swing in the BBCOR and USA version.

The USSSA swings as light as a few other bats in the drop 10/11 space–but still plenty light enough. Do note, however, the 2020 Prime in USSSA drop 10 swings lighter than the Solo (close to 5% lighter). Even though the Solo is marketed as an “ultra-light” USSSA bat it doesn’t swing as light as the 2020 Prime which is marketed as just balanced.

In BBCOR and USA it didn’t matter what type of hitter picked it up they immediately notice how light the swing feels. That’s because it is. According to our swing weight measurements the USSSA and USA Solo swings weights are in the bottom 20% of every size and weight class category.


2020 Solo Video

2020 Solo Video

2020 Solo Models
BBCOR
/10
USA –11
/10
USA –13
/10
USSSA –10
/10

2020 Louisville Slugger Solo Review: Light, Value, Good Performance. After hitting each 2020 Solo with several different hitters, it rates out as well as the 2019 version did. That is, a very durable bat that perfectly serves the need of a budget conscience buyer who needs a light swing. The BBCOR Solo has many fans and the 29-inch is a hit for those who needs it ultra-light. The USA is our favorite Solo. The drop 11 creates as good as exit speeds as any. USSSA Solo’s aren’t as popular as composite barrels do better there. Our Score 9/10 (BBCOR); 9.8/10 (USA); 8.5/10 (USSSA).

2020 Solo Models

2020 Louisville Slugger Solo Review: Light, Value, Good Performance. After hitting each 2020 Solo with several different hitters, it rates out as well as the 2019 version did. That is, a very durable bat that perfectly serves the need of a budget conscience buyer who needs a light swing. The BBCOR Solo has many fans and the 29-inch is a hit for those who needs it ultra-light. The USA is our favorite Solo. The drop 11 creates as good as exit speeds as any. USSSA Solo’s aren’t as popular as composite barrels do better there. Our Score 9/10 (BBCOR); 9.8/10 (USA); 8.5/10 (USSSA).

BBCOR
/10
USA –11
/10
USA –13
/10
USSSA –10
/10
WTLBBS620B3

BBCOR Review

Louisville Slugger's Solo is a light swinging single piece aluminum bat. It uses an extended composite end cap to help bring down the swing weight. It's a very popular for smaller and new BBCOR players becuase it comes in short sizes like a 29, 30 and 31. If you need a very light swinging BBCOR bat, this is it.

Louisville Slugger's Solo is a light swinging single piece aluminum bat. It uses an extended composite end cap to help bring down the swing weight. It's a very popular for smaller and new BBCOR players becuase it comes in short sizes like a 29, 30 and 31. If you need a very light swinging BBCOR bat, this is it.


OVERALL/10
Solo BBCOR Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
4/5 Stiff
4/5 Rating
3/5 Tech
2/5 Profile
5/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
5/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34-inch
Release Date: September 15, 2019
Serial: WTLBBS620B3
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar BBCOR Bats
No items found
WTLUBS6B1120

USA Drop 11 Review


OVERALL/10
Solo USA Drop 11 Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
4/5 Stiff
5/5 Rating
3/5 Tech
2/5 Profile
4/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
4/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: September 15, 2019
Serial: WTLUBS6B1120
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar USA Bats
No items found
WTLUBSSM1320

USA Drop 13 Review


OVERALL/10
Solo SPD USA Drop 13 Ratings (key)
1/5 MOI
4/5 Stiff
2/5 Rating
3/5 Tech
2/5 Profile
4/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: -inch
Release Date: September 15, 2019
Serial: WTLUBSSM1320
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar USA Bats
No items found
WTLSLS6X1020

USSSA Drop 10 Review


OVERALL/10
Solo USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
4/5 Stiff
3/5 Rating
3/5 Tech
2/5 Profile
4/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: -inch
Release Date: September 15, 2019
Serial: WTLSLS6X1020
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
Similar Drop 10/11 USSSA Bats
No items found

Comparable Bats

Single piece aluminum bats with an extended composite end cap were once reserved only to the Rawlings Velo’s and 5150’s of the world. But, since, others, like Slugger’s Solo has come along nicely.

The most comparable bat to the 2020 Slugger Solo is the Rawling’s 2020 Velo ACP. They are built similarly in the sense of a single piece aluminum with an extended composite end cap and a focus on an ultra light swing.

Previous Models

The only serious change in the lineup, save the colorway change, is the BBCOR version ads a new end cap that helps with a lower and more controlled swing weight. Our hitters could tell no difference by holding them, but do know Slugger is committed to the Solo being a light swinging BBCOR bat.

The USA and USSSA are 2020 Solo are the same as the 2019 Solo 619.


No items found

Construction

Like all companies, Slugger has some marketing jargon to explain different parts of the bat. We discuss those in bold below.

The Solo uses an ultra light alloy with very thin walls. They refer to this as Premium Hyper Superlight Alloy. Each company has their own spin on an aluminum alloy to make it their own. But, in reality, not many break through tech in aluminum alloys has been achieved in dozens of years. Expect the Solo to have decent durability and a light swing—a lot like other premium single piece bats in the baseball bat space.

The Solo uses an end cap built for speed and durability with the emphasis on speed. They refer to this as the Speed Ballistic Composite End Cap (or SBC) and is what separates it from a bat like the Omaha. The end cap extends into the barrel to help reduce end cap weight while keeping the bat durable.

Slugger’s 2020 Solo comes with a Premium LS Pro Comfort Grip which replaces the Lizard Skin they had on previous models. It’s a decent grip.

Overall Ratings Key

To keep consistent ratings across years, models and brands, we’ve devloped an aggregated rating system using 6 categories. As well, we track swing weight (MOI), stiffness and profile although they do not affect the overall score directly. The explanation of each rating is below.

  1. MOI: is the swing weight accurately measured at our bat lab. We score it 1 through 5. No score is better than another. This is a descriptive value. A lower number (1) represents a light swinging bat for its class, while a higher number (5) represents an endloaded bat.
  2. Tech: The tech advancements in the bat are 5% of its overall score. We award points for innovation even if the invention encourages the industry to try new things.
  3. Durability: The bat’s lifespan is rated at 15% of the overall score. We gather this information almost exclusively from the user and player feedback. More reports of a bat breaking then the lower the score.
  4. Stiffness: Stiffness is not counted towards the overall score since it’s a complete preference. The higher the number, the stiffer the bat, the lower the number, the more flex in the bat directly after contact. This is significantly correlated to how good a bat feels on mishits and hits.
  5. Profile: The profile does not count towards the overall score. However, we do track it. A high number means the bat has an extensive profile, and a lower number means it has a small profile.
  6. Resell: We count the secondary market of a used value of the bat as 10% of the overall score. We think the demand for the bat in the secondary market (eBay and SidelineSwap) are a good indicator of how well the bat is perceived to perform. It also shows a more excellent value for the owner as their bat retains more value and no longer becomes valuable to them.
  7. Rating: This is the player rating and represents 25% of the overall score. These are gathered from our hitters and reviews we find online and those we have contact with from other reputable sources.
  8. EV: Exit Velocity is the rankings we create in our exit speed velocity tests every year on bats. This score represents 25% of the overall score.
  9. Relevance: Relevance measures how applicable and available a bat is for consumers. The broader range of sizes and the more appropriate the swing weight for the masses then, the higher the score. This metric accounts for 20% of the overall score.

2020 Louisville Slugger Solo User Reviews

9.4
Pop
9.6
Durability
9.3
Feel on Sweet Spot Hits
8.3
Feel on Mishits
9.9
Worth the Price
Users (4 votes) {{ reviewsOverall }} / 10
What people say... Leave your rating
Order by:

Be the first to leave a review.

Verified
/ 10
{{{ review.rating_title }}}
{{{review.rating_comment | nl2br}}}

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Leave your rating

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?