Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.



2020 DeMarini CF Review

By Bat Digest | Last Updated March 4, 2021

Some of our hitters like everything about the 2020 DeMarini CF. They like the swing weight, the feel on contact, the bats big barrel and performance on balls you square and and even miss. We like the sizing options–as it comes in drop 10, 8 and 5s in the USSSA; a drop 10 in the USA and BBCOR.

The only thing that people complain about with the CF, especially for the USSSA version, is the bat’s durability. Most don’t argue with the fact the bat performs, in the USSSA space at least, better than all the others. But, the durability, or lack thereof, does drive at least some crazy.


2020 CF Video

2020 CF Video

2020 CF Models
BBCOR
/10
USA –10
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –8
/10
USSSA –5
/10

The 2020 DeMarini CF review comes on the heels of hours of testing the BBCOR, USSSA and USA versions. Our testing gave the 2020 USSSA CF a near perfect rating (save the potential for durability issues). The USA version rated out well but, like all composite barrels in USA  bats, lacked great performance. BBCOR CF testing didn’t go so well and it’s the biggest disappointment of the bunch. We’re not sure what to think of that. We liked the 2019 version. Still, our BBCOR 2020 CF hitters and exit speeds were uninspired. Our Score 9.9/10 (USSSA); 9.0/10 (USA); 8/10 (BBCOR).

2020 CF Models

The 2020 DeMarini CF review comes on the heels of hours of testing the BBCOR, USSSA and USA versions. Our testing gave the 2020 USSSA CF a near perfect rating (save the potential for durability issues). The USA version rated out well but, like all composite barrels in USA  bats, lacked great performance. BBCOR CF testing didn’t go so well and it’s the biggest disappointment of the bunch. We’re not sure what to think of that. We liked the 2019 version. Still, our BBCOR 2020 CF hitters and exit speeds were uninspired. Our Score 9.9/10 (USSSA); 9.0/10 (USA); 8/10 (BBCOR).

BBCOR
/10
USA –10
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –8
/10
USSSA –5
/10
WTDXCBC-20

BBCOR Review


OVERALL/10
CF BBCOR Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
2/5 Stiff
3/5 Rating
4/5 Tech
4/5 Profile
5/5 EV
3/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
5/5 Relvnce
Sizing: -inch
Release Date: August 1, 2019
Serial: WTDXCBC-20
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar BBCOR Bats
No items found
WTDXUFX-20

USA Drop 10 Review


OVERALL/10
CF USA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
2/5 Stiff
4/5 Rating
4/5 Tech
5/5 Profile
4/5 EV
2/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
5/5 Relvnce
Sizing: -inch
Release Date: August 1, 2019
Serial: WTDXUFX-20
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar USA Bats
No items found
WTDXCBZ-20

USSSA Drop 10 Review

The 2020 DeMarini CF defines the space as to what a USSSA drop 10 should feel, sound and perform like. While bats like the CAT 9 get a lot of play too, the CF still dominates the space. Although the bat is not as durable as many would hope, most are fine with a bat that performs as well as this does, feels as good as it does and has the barrel profile the CF does. All our hitters love the bat and, without fail, put it in their top 2 of 2020 USSSA bats.

The 2020 DeMarini CF defines the space as to what a USSSA drop 10 should feel, sound and perform like. While bats like the CAT 9 get a lot of play too, the CF still dominates the space. Although the bat is not as durable as many would hope, most are fine with a bat that performs as well as this does, feels as good as it does and has the barrel profile the CF does. All our hitters love the bat and, without fail, put it in their top 2 of 2020 USSSA bats.


OVERALL/10
CF USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
2/5 Stiff
5/5 Rating
4/5 Tech
5/5 Profile
5/5 EV
2/5 Durblty
5/5 Resell
5/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2019
Serial: WTDXCBZ-20
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
Similar Drop 10/11 USSSA Bats
No items found
WTDXC8Z-20

USSSA Drop 8 Review


OVERALL/10
CF USSSA Drop 8 Ratings (key)
3/5 MOI
2/5 Stiff
5/5 Rating
4/5 Tech
5/5 Profile
5/5 EV
3/5 Durblty
5/5 Resell
5/5 Relvnce
Sizing: -inch
Release Date: August 1, 2019
Serial: WTDXC8Z-20
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
Similar Drop 8 USSSA Bats
No items found
WTDXCB5-20

USSSA Drop 5 Review


OVERALL/10
CF USSSA Drop 5 Ratings (key)
4/5 MOI
3/5 Stiff
5/5 Rating
4/5 Tech
5/5 Profile
5/5 EV
3/5 Durblty
5/5 Resell
4/5 Relvnce
Sizing: -inch
Release Date: August 1, 2019
Serial: WTDXCB5-20
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar Drop 5 USSSA Bats
No items found

Comparable Bats

In the Senior League arena few make the case the CF series from DeMarini has an equal. It dominates the USSSA big barrel bat space, and we see no reason that will change 2020. Of course, though, the jury is still out.

In terms of two piece composite USA bats you have a few options. Slugger’s 919 Prime, Easton’s Ghost Evolution and Rawling’s Quatro are the most common similar bats.

In BBCOR the world is your oyster. It feels like everyone makes a two piece composite that swings light and has a big barrel. The field is mixed. Rawling’s Quatro and Slugger’s Meta Prime as well a Easton’s ADV all compete for the top end performing BBCOR bat.

Previous Models

It’s too early to tell if DeMarini addressed the only serious complaint folks have with DeMarini’s Senior League bat. That is, of course, its durability. But, our sentiment is that DeMarini has proven willing to keep pushing the performance limit at the expense of bats that aren’t as durable. To date, based on sheer market dominance, the strategy has worked.

For 2020 they did update the end cap to one they are calling the “ReACTION END CAP”. If that solved the problem we must wait and see. But we aren’t holding our breath.


No items found

Construction

DeMarini uses a two piece composite bat structure for the 2020 CF. The two pieces are made from composite materials. The composite is the same as it was in 2019 CF Zen and is referred to as Paraflex Plus Composite Barrel.

The connection piece, where the bat’s barrel and handle are fused together, intends to remove sting from the hands and keep energy in the barrel. There is more tech in the connection piece than we’ll give time for it here. But, for what it is worth, DeMarini has long been the leader in top end connective pieces in their two piece bats. DeMarini refers to the connective piece on their 2020 CF as the 3 Fusion Connection.

New to the 2020 line is a redesigned end cap. DeMarini’s CF calls this the ReACTION End Cap and, atleast they claim, is built with stronger and lighter materials to “increase barrel performance without sacrificing swing speed.” Of course what we think is the new end cap doesn’t change the swing weight of the bat but may very well improve its durability. We will see…

Overall Ratings Key

To keep consistent ratings across years, models and brands, we’ve devloped an aggregated rating system using 6 categories. As well, we track swing weight (MOI), stiffness and profile although they do not affect the overall score directly. The explanation of each rating is below.

  1. MOI: is the swing weight accurately measured at our bat lab. We score it 1 through 5. No score is better than another. This is a descriptive value. A lower number (1) represents a light swinging bat for its class, while a higher number (5) represents an endloaded bat.
  2. Tech: The tech advancements in the bat are 5% of its overall score. We award points for innovation even if the invention encourages the industry to try new things.
  3. Durability: The bat’s lifespan is rated at 15% of the overall score. We gather this information almost exclusively from the user and player feedback. More reports of a bat breaking then the lower the score.
  4. Stiffness: Stiffness is not counted towards the overall score since it’s a complete preference. The higher the number, the stiffer the bat, the lower the number, the more flex in the bat directly after contact. This is significantly correlated to how good a bat feels on mishits and hits.
  5. Profile: The profile does not count towards the overall score. However, we do track it. A high number means the bat has an extensive profile, and a lower number means it has a small profile.
  6. Resell: We count the secondary market of a used value of the bat as 10% of the overall score. We think the demand for the bat in the secondary market (eBay and SidelineSwap) are a good indicator of how well the bat is perceived to perform. It also shows a more excellent value for the owner as their bat retains more value and no longer becomes valuable to them.
  7. Rating: This is the player rating and represents 25% of the overall score. These are gathered from our hitters and reviews we find online and those we have contact with from other reputable sources.
  8. EV: Exit Velocity is the rankings we create in our exit speed velocity tests every year on bats. This score represents 25% of the overall score.
  9. Relevance: Relevance measures how applicable and available a bat is for consumers. The broader range of sizes and the more appropriate the swing weight for the masses then, the higher the score. This metric accounts for 20% of the overall score.

2020 DeMarini CF User Reviews

9.4
Pop
4.3
Durability
9.4
Feel on Sweet Spot Hits
6.9
Feel on Mishits
6
Worth the Price
Users (11 votes) {{ reviewsOverall }} / 10
What people say... Leave your rating
Order by:

Be the first to leave a review.

Verified
/ 10
{{{ review.rating_title }}}
{{{review.rating_comment | nl2br}}}

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Leave your rating

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?