Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.



<< Baseball Reviews << DeMarini Reviews

2020 DeMarini CF Review

By Bat Digest | Last Updated August 2, 2022


The 2020 DeMarini CF review comes on the heels of hours of testing the BBCOR, USSSA and USA versions. Our testing gave the 2020 USSSA CF a near perfect rating (save the potential for durability issues). The USA version rated out well but, like all composite barrels in USA  bats, lacked great performance. BBCOR CF testing didn’t go so well and it’s the biggest disappointment of the bunch. We’re not sure what to think of that. We liked the 2019 version. Still, our BBCOR 2020 CF hitters and exit speeds were uninspired. Our Score 9.9/10 (USSSA); 9.0/10 (USA); 8/10 (BBCOR).


2020 CF Video

2020 CF Video

2020 CF Models


Some of our hitters like everything about the 2020 DeMarini CF. They like the swing weight, the feel on contact, the bats big barrel and performance on balls you square and and even miss. We like the sizing options–as it comes in drop 10, 8 and 5s in the USSSA; a drop 10 in the USA and BBCOR.

The only thing that people complain about with the CF, especially for the USSSA version, is the bat’s durability. Most don’t argue with the fact the bat performs, in the USSSA space at least, better than all the others. But, the durability, or lack thereof, does drive at least some crazy.

BBCOR
/10
USA –10
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –8
/10
USSSA –5
/10

General Recomendations

If you are in the USSSA space then we have a hard time suggesting you buy any other bat but the CF. Granted, it might break. No doubt, you’ll find a user review online that hates the bat and the company stemming from a CF breaking. But, we feel confident the lack of durability is directly correlated with how hot the bat performs.

Model Recommendations

WTDXCBC-20

BBCOR Review

CF BBCOR Ratings (key)
2 4 3 1 5 4 3 5 5 3
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 30, 31, 32, 33, 34-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2019
Serial: WTDXCBC-20
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
See other BBCOR Bats
WTDXUFX-20

USA Drop 10 Review

CF USA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
2 4 2 2 5 4 4 4 5 4
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2019
Serial: WTDXUFX-20
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
See other Drop 10 USA Bats Bats
WTDXCBZ-20

USSSA Drop 10 Review

CF USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
2 4 2 2 5 5 5 5 5 5
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
The 2020 DeMarini CF defines the space as to what a USSSA drop 10 should feel, sound and perform like. While bats like the CAT 9 get a lot of play too, the CF still dominates the space. Although the bat is not as durable as many would hope, most are fine with a bat that performs as well as this does, feels as good as it does and has the barrel profile the CF does. All our hitters love the bat and, without fail, put it in their top 2 of 2020 USSSA bats.
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2019
Serial: WTDXCBZ-20
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
See other Drop 10 USSSA Bats
WTDXC8Z-20

USSSA Drop 8 Review

CF USSSA Drop 8 Ratings (key)
3 4 3 2 5 5 5 5 4 5
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2019
Serial: WTDXC8Z-20
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
See other Drop 8 USSSA Bats
WTDXCB5-20

USSSA Drop 5 Review

CF USSSA Drop 5 Ratings (key)
4 4 3 3 5 5 5 5 4 5
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2019
Serial: WTDXCB5-20
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
See other Drop 5 USSSA Bats

Comparable Bats

In the Senior League arena few make the case the CF series from DeMarini has an equal. It dominates the USSSA big barrel bat space, and we see no reason that will change 2020. Of course, though, the jury is still out.

In terms of two piece composite USA bats you have a few options. Slugger’s 919 Prime, Easton’s Ghost Evolution and Rawling’s Quatro are the most common similar bats.

In BBCOR the world is your oyster. It feels like everyone makes a two piece composite that swings light and has a big barrel. The field is mixed. Rawling’s Quatro and Slugger’s Meta Prime as well a Easton’s ADV all compete for the top end performing BBCOR bat.

Previous Models

It’s too early to tell if DeMarini addressed the only serious complaint folks have with DeMarini’s Senior League bat. That is, of course, its durability. But, our sentiment is that DeMarini has proven willing to keep pushing the performance limit at the expense of bats that aren’t as durable. To date, based on sheer market dominance, the strategy has worked.

For 2020 they did update the end cap to one they are calling the “ReACTION END CAP”. If that solved the problem we must wait and see. But we aren’t holding our breath.

Construction

DeMarini uses a two piece composite bat structure for the 2020 CF. The two pieces are made from composite materials. The composite is the same as it was in 2019 CF Zen and is referred to as Paraflex Plus Composite Barrel.

The connection piece, where the bat’s barrel and handle are fused together, intends to remove sting from the hands and keep energy in the barrel. There is more tech in the connection piece than we’ll give time for it here. But, for what it is worth, DeMarini has long been the leader in top end connective pieces in their two piece bats. DeMarini refers to the connective piece on their 2020 CF as the 3 Fusion Connection.

New to the 2020 line is a redesigned end cap. DeMarini’s CF calls this the ReACTION End Cap and, atleast they claim, is built with stronger and lighter materials to “increase barrel performance without sacrificing swing speed.” Of course what we think is the new end cap doesn’t change the swing weight of the bat but may very well improve its durability. We will see…

Overall Ratings

The overall rating uses seven different weighted metrics to determine our overall score. Half of total rating comes from the player and our exit speed tests (Player Rating: 25%, Performance: 25%).The other categories are Relevance (20%), Demand (10%), Durability (10%), Resell Score (5%), and Tech Specs (5%).

*: When a bat is denoted by a star (*) it is a preliminary rating. Expect it to be updated as we learn more about the bat and gather more data.

(PlaRa) Player Rating: We measure player rating from user reviews. Those users include our own hitters that we test at the lab as well as reviews we find online.

(ExVe) Performance: Performance measures the exit speeds and distances we capture in our hitting lab with HitTrax using these bats.

(Relv) Relevance: We measure the number of sizes and the MOI of the bat. Bats with a wider range of options get a better score.

(Dmnd) Demand: Demand is measured by consumer sentiment and the buzz around the bat.

(Drb) Durability: A bat’s durability is measured by user reviews as well as feedback from manufacturers.

(ReSl) Resell Score: Based on the price the bats go for used. Higher prices mean greater user demand which means, generally, a better bat. A resell value closer to its original price means a higher score.

(Tech) Tech Specs: We rate the bat on its technological advancements from previous years and compared to the industry at large. This is our chance to reward companies who are trying to innovate.
MOI
MOI or Mass Moment of Inertia is a measurement of bat swing weight. This quantifies how difficult it is to swing a bat. The industry often refers to this as things like End Load or Balanced but those words have been overused to the point of meaninglessness. We measure the actual swing weights of each bat we test using the industry-standard pendulum period, balance point, and scale weight. You can read more about that here.
Price
The price is the original MSRP price of the bat.
Type
The types of bats are single-piece alloy (SPA), two-piece composite (TPC), single-piece composite (SPC), hybrid (Hyb.), and wood (Wood). Hybrid bats are made of composite handles and alloy barrles.
Date
The estimated date the bat began distribution.

2020 DeMarini CF User Reviews

0
Pop
0
Durability
0
Feel on Sweet Spot Hits
0
Feel on Mishits
0
Worth the Price
Users (0 votes) {{ reviewsOverall }} / 10
What people say... Leave your rating
Order by:

Be the first to leave a review.

Verified
/ 10
{{{ review.rating_title }}}
{{{review.rating_comment | nl2br}}}

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Leave your rating

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?