Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.



2019 Rawlings VELO Review

By Bat Digest | Last Updated March 3, 2021

In short, hitters liked the light swing, loud sound, and trusted name of the 2019 Velo. A few did not like the hand sting and smaller barrel size. We’d recommend the bat to those who want a traditional feeling stiff bat with a light swing and a loud sound. Exit speeds looked good, but the bat lacked the swing weight to be considered a fireball. But it swings well, and a good hitter can make this work fine.


2019 Velo Video

2019 Velo Video

2019 Velo Models
BBCOR
/10
USA –11
/10
USA –10
/10
USA –5
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –8
/10
USSSA –5
/10

After recording several hitter’s experiences with the 2019 Rawlings Velo, we write this review. In short, hitters liked the light swing, loud sound, and trusted name of the 2019 Velo. The bat is a light swinging, sounds loud, and can hit it well if you can dial it in. Many players don’t like what they think is the smaller sweet spot and the hand wrings on mishits.

2019 Velo Models

After recording several hitter’s experiences with the 2019 Rawlings Velo, we write this review. In short, hitters liked the light swing, loud sound, and trusted name of the 2019 Velo. The bat is a light swinging, sounds loud, and can hit it well if you can dial it in. Many players don’t like what they think is the smaller sweet spot and the hand wrings on mishits.

BBCOR
/10
USA –11
/10
USA –10
/10
USA –5
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –8
/10
USSSA –5
/10
BB9V3

BBCOR Review


OVERALL/10
Velo BBCOR Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
4/5 Stiff
4/5 Rating
4/5 Tech
3/5 Profile
5/5 EV
5/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
4/5 Relvnce
Sizing: -inch
Release Date: October 1, 2018
Serial: BB9V3
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar BBCOR Bats
No items found
US9V11

USA Drop 11 Review


OVERALL/10
Velo USA Drop 11 Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
4/5 Stiff
4/5 Rating
4/5 Tech
3/5 Profile
4/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
4/5 Relvnce
Sizing: -inch
Release Date: October 1, 2018
Serial: US9V11
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar USA Bats
No items found
US9V5

USA Drop 10 Review


OVERALL/10
Velo USA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2018
Serial: US9V5
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar USA Bats
No items found
US9V5

USA Drop 5 Review


OVERALL/10
Velo USA Drop 5 Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
5/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2018
Serial: US9V5
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar USA Bats
No items found
UT9V10

USSSA Drop 10 Review


OVERALL/10
Velo USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2018
Serial: UT9V10
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
Similar Drop 10/11 USSSA Bats
No items found
UT9V8

USSSA Drop 8 Review


OVERALL/10
Velo USSSA Drop 8 Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
5/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 29, 30, 31-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2018
Serial: UT9V8
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar Drop 8 USSSA Bats
No items found
UT9V5

USSSA Drop 5 Review


OVERALL/10
Velo USSSA Drop 5 Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
5/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2018
Serial: UT9V5
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar Drop 5 USSSA Bats
No items found

Comparable Bats

The single-piece aluminum bat space is replete with options. We like bats like Easton’s Beast series as well as DeMarini’s one. Don’t forget either about Slugger’s 619 Solo or their 518 Omaha.

In terms of a real comparable bat (by way of construction), the 619 Solo is the most alike. It has a single-piece aluminum structure with an extended composite end cap and, like the 2019 Velo, comes in several sizing and league options.

Some would argue the Velo is a lot like the Marucci CAT 8. They both use variable wall thickness, but it’s hard to say these bats are too similar in terms of feel and barrel size. Where, we think, the CAT 8 shines.

Previous Models

Except the stock grip, there are virtually no changes in the 2019 Velo when compared to the 2018 version. Many would say that is a good thing. They liked the light swing, durable nature, and loud ping of the trusty Rawlings. That said, you’d do well to look for the 2018 version of the bat.


No items found

Construction

Like years past, the 2019 Rawlings Velo uses an extended composite end cap on a single-piece aluminum bat that uses variable wall thickness to extend the barrel’s length. In English, they:

  1. Put on a plastic end cap that goes well into the barrel of the bat to bring down the weight.
  2. Change the thickness of the barrel walls to extend its profile and increase the trampoline effect closer to the end cap and knob.
  3. Produce the main portion of the bat in a single piece of high-grade aluminum.

Overall Ratings Key

To keep consistent ratings across years, models and brands, we’ve devloped an aggregated rating system using 6 categories. As well, we track swing weight (MOI), stiffness and profile although they do not affect the overall score directly. The explanation of each rating is below.

  1. MOI: is the swing weight accurately measured at our bat lab. We score it 1 through 5. No score is better than another. This is a descriptive value. A lower number (1) represents a light swinging bat for its class, while a higher number (5) represents an endloaded bat.
  2. Tech: The tech advancements in the bat are 5% of its overall score. We award points for innovation even if the invention encourages the industry to try new things.
  3. Durability: The bat’s lifespan is rated at 15% of the overall score. We gather this information almost exclusively from the user and player feedback. More reports of a bat breaking then the lower the score.
  4. Stiffness: Stiffness is not counted towards the overall score since it’s a complete preference. The higher the number, the stiffer the bat, the lower the number, the more flex in the bat directly after contact. This is significantly correlated to how good a bat feels on mishits and hits.
  5. Profile: The profile does not count towards the overall score. However, we do track it. A high number means the bat has an extensive profile, and a lower number means it has a small profile.
  6. Resell: We count the secondary market of a used value of the bat as 10% of the overall score. We think the demand for the bat in the secondary market (eBay and SidelineSwap) are a good indicator of how well the bat is perceived to perform. It also shows a more excellent value for the owner as their bat retains more value and no longer becomes valuable to them.
  7. Rating: This is the player rating and represents 25% of the overall score. These are gathered from our hitters and reviews we find online and those we have contact with from other reputable sources.
  8. EV: Exit Velocity is the rankings we create in our exit speed velocity tests every year on bats. This score represents 25% of the overall score.
  9. Relevance: Relevance measures how applicable and available a bat is for consumers. The broader range of sizes and the more appropriate the swing weight for the masses then, the higher the score. This metric accounts for 20% of the overall score.

2019 Rawlings Velo User Reviews

10
Pop
10
Durability
10
Feel on Sweet Spot Hits
3
Feel on Mishits
10
Worth the Price
Users (2 votes) {{ reviewsOverall }} / 10
What people say... Leave your rating
Order by:

Be the first to leave a review.

Verified
/ 10
{{{ review.rating_title }}}
{{{review.rating_comment | nl2br}}}

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Leave your rating

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?