Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.



<< Baseball Reviews << All Easton Reviews

2019 Easton Ghost X Evolution Review

By Bat Digest | Last Updated September 13, 2021


(If you are looking for this bat in BBCOR then check out the 2019 Easton ADV Project 3.) We’ve hit with the USSSA and USA versions of the bat. The USSSA version correlates well with 2018 Easton Ghost X. It’s smooth, big barreled and will be loved by serious travel type players.


2019 Ghost X Evolution Video

2019 Ghost X Evolution Video

2019 Ghost X Evolution Models


The 2019 Easton Ghost X Evolution (Evo) is the next generation of Easton Ghost X in the USA and USSSA (Big Barrel) bat space.

USA –10
/10
USA –8
/10
USA –5
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –8
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –5
/10

General Recomendations

But, we found the USA Ghost X Evolution leaps and bounds better than the 2018 USA Ghost. The 2019 bat feels smooth, the barrel is huge and the balance right where you want it. It’s sting dampeingin was on par with the USSSA version—not like the electrocution feeling found in the 2018 USA Ghost x. We expect the 2019 Easton Evo to be a favorite this year in the USA Space.

Model Recommendations

YBB19GXE10

USA Drop 10 Review

Ghost X Evolution USA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
4 5 3 4 4 4 4 5 5 4
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2018
Serial: YBB19GXE10
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
See other Drop 10 USA Bats Bats
YBB19GXE8

USA Drop 8 Review

Ghost X Evolution USA Drop 8 Ratings (key)
3 4 4 2 5 4 4 4 3 4
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2018
Serial: YBB19GXE8
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
See other Drop 10 USA Bats Bats
YBB19GXE5

USA Drop 5 Review

Ghost X Evolution USA Drop 5 Ratings (key)
4 4 4 3 4 4 4 5 3 3
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2018
Serial: YBB19GXE5
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
See other Drop 10 USA Bats Bats
SL19GXE10

USSSA Drop 10 Review

Ghost X Evolution USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
2 5 4 3 4 4 4 5 5 4
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2018
Serial: SL19GXE10
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
See other Drop 10 USSSA Bats
SL19GXE8

USSSA Drop 8 Review

Ghost X Evolution USSSA Drop 8 Ratings (key)
3 4 4 2 4 4 4 4 3 4
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2018
Serial: SL19GXE8
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
See other Drop 8 USSSA Bats
SL19GXE108

USSSA Drop 10 Review

Ghost X Evolution USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
2 4 3 2 4 4 4 4 4 4
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2018
Serial: SL19GXE108
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
See other Drop 10 USSSA Bats
SL19GXE58

USSSA Drop 5 Review

Ghost X Evolution USSSA Drop 5 Ratings (key)
4 4 4 2 4 4 4 5 3 3
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2018
Serial: SL19GXE58
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
See other Drop 5 USSSA Bats

Comparable Bats

The two piece composite space is replete with serious options. DeMarini’s CF Zen, Rawlings Quatro, Louisville Slugger’s 919 Prime and Mizuno’s Hot Metal, to name just a few. Each of these bats focus on a big barrel, light swing and smooth smash on both hits and mishits.

As well, especially the 919, Zen and Quatro, these bats come in an array of sizes and leagues. Expect a serious USSSA and USA bat in each of these options. You’ll find evangelists for each depending on experience with the brand or just a general preference for a sound. Easton has a ton of success in the Youth USSSA market (helped by the LLWS and a great bat for ages in the market). In the last few years they’ve come on strong with the drop 5 in the Ghost.

Previous Models

In the USA Bat space you can be confident the Evolution is considerably different between the 2019 Evolution and the 2018 Ghost X. Speak to any player that swung the USA Ghost X in 2018 and you’ll find the bat had some problems. Not only was one bat banned for being illegal, but the bat felt really, really terrible on mishits. Compared to the 2017 Easton MAKO the bat felt like it was built with an electric shock mechanism for poorly hit balls. Exit speeds were less than steller too.

Whatever Easton did between 2018 and 2019 with their top end USA Bat worked. The new Ghost Evolution feels smooth, sounds great and has that same light balance to the swing. (They did add some type of foam to the inside of their CXN connective piece. If this was the ticket that caused the change we aren’t sure, but there is clearly something different in the feel between 2018 and 2019 in the USA space).

The new 2019 Ghost X Evolution has an upgraded foam inside the barrel. This helps dampen sting (especially in the Hyperlite). It is also the company that secured the Lizard Skin grip contract away from Slugger as well as a new end cap that is a bit lighter—helping to bring down the swing weight as the foam increased it.

Construction

The 2019 Easton Evolution is a high end two piece composite bat built after the manner of the Easton MAKO of years gone by. They have claimed to upgrade a few things including the handle and barrel. But, anyone who ever swung those old Mako’s knows they needed no upgrading. The question is, of course, can they replicate those 2 1/4 inch monsters in the USA and USSSA space.

Overall Ratings

The overall rating uses seven different weighted metrics to determine our overall score. Half of total rating comes from the player and our exit speed tests (Player Rating: 25%, Performance: 25%).The other categories are Relevance (20%), Demand (10%), Durability (10%), Resell Score (5%), and Tech Specs (5%).

(UR) Un Rated: An overall rating of UR means the bat has yet to be fully rated. When it is, this score will update.

(PlaRa) Player Rating: We measure player rating from user reviews. Those users include our own hitters that we test at the lab as well as reviews we find online.

(ExVe) Performance: Performance measures the exit speeds and distances we capture in our hitting lab with HitTrax using these bats.

(Relv) Relevance: We measure the number of sizes and the MOI of the bat. Bats with a wider range of options get a better score.

(Dmnd) Demand: Demand is measured by consumer sentiment and the buzz around the bat.

(Drb) Durability: A bat’s durability is measured by user reviews as well as feedback from manufacturers.

(ReSl) Resell Score: Based on the price the bats go for used. Higher prices mean greater user demand which means, generally, a better bat. A resell value closer to its original price means a higher score.

(Tech) Tech Specs: We rate the bat on its technological advancements from previous years and compared to the industry at large. This is our chance to reward companies who are trying to innovate.
MOI
MOI or Mass Moment of Inertia is a measurement of bat swing weight. This quantifies how difficult it is to swing a bat. The industry often refers to this as things like End Load or Balanced but those words have been overused to the point of meaninglessness. We measure the actual swing weights of each bat we test using the industry-standard pendulum period, balance point, and scale weight. You can read more about that here.
Price
The price is the original MSRP price of the bat.
Type
The types of bats are single-piece alloy (SPA), two-piece composite (TPC), single-piece composite (SPC), hybrid (Hyb.), and wood (Wood). Hybrid bats are made of composite handles and alloy barrles.
Date
The estimated date the bat began distribution.

2019 Easton Ghost X Evolution User Reviews

0
Pop
0
Durability
0
Feel on Sweet Spot Hits
0
Feel on Mishits
0
Worth the Price
Users (0 votes) {{ reviewsOverall }} / 10
What people say... Leave your rating
Order by:

Be the first to leave a review.

Verified
/ 10
{{{ review.rating_title }}}
{{{review.rating_comment | nl2br}}}

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Leave your rating

Comments

Angel says:

Which is better the 2019 zen or the 2019 evolution

Brian says:

Depends on what you want, but in terms of straight exit speed tests we like the Zen. However, the Evolution is a legit option in terms of long term durability and performance. Both swing about the same and feel about the same. We personally like the Zens a bit better—but there are sizes and drops where we might prefer the Ghost X Evolution too.

Comments are closed.

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?