Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.



2019 DeMarini Voodoo Bat Review | Balanced

By Bat Digest | Last Updated March 3, 2021

Some vendors have it one way and some the other. This is not to be confused with the Voodoo Insane or the Voodoo One. The Voodoo Balanced, the subject of this review, comes in a BBCOR as well as a USSSA and USA drop 10 and drop 5. We’ve hit with each of these DeMarini Voodoo’s for 2019 (as we have with the Voodoo line since 2014) and leave below what we have learned.


2019 Voodoo Balanced Video

2019 Voodoo Balanced Video

2019 Voodoo Balanced Models
BBCOR
/10
USA –10
/10
USA –5
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –5
/10

Not much has changed on the 2019 DeMarini Voodoo Balanced. It’s still a two-piece hybrid bat with a reasonably balanced swing, good barrel profile, and relativity stiffer feel than the two-piece composite world. The bat is very popular and difficult to find but everyone who has ever had the bat loves it. There is another version of this bat that has a heavier swing and a very stiff feel called the DeMarini Voodoo Loaded.

2019 Voodoo Balanced Models

Not much has changed on the 2019 DeMarini Voodoo Balanced. It’s still a two-piece hybrid bat with a reasonably balanced swing, good barrel profile, and relativity stiffer feel than the two-piece composite world. The bat is very popular and difficult to find but everyone who has ever had the bat loves it. There is another version of this bat that has a heavier swing and a very stiff feel called the DeMarini Voodoo Loaded.

BBCOR
/10
USA –10
/10
USA –5
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –5
/10
WTDXVBC-19

BBCOR Review


OVERALL/10
Voodoo Balanced BBCOR Ratings (key)
3/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
5/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: -inch
Release Date: August 1, 2018
Serial: WTDXVBC-19
Bat Type: Hybrid
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar BBCOR Bats
No items found
WTDXUD2-19

USA Drop 10 Review


OVERALL/10
Voodoo Balanced USA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
3/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: -inch
Release Date: August 1, 2018
Serial: WTDXUD2-19
Bat Type: Hybrid
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar USA Bats
No items found
WTDXUD5-19

USA Drop 5 Review


OVERALL/10
Voodoo Balanced USA Drop 5 Ratings (key)
4/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: -inch
Release Date: August 1, 2018
Serial: WTDXUD5-19
Bat Type: Hybrid
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar USA Bats
No items found
WTDXVBZ-19

USSSA Drop 10 Review


OVERALL/10
Voodoo USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
3/5 MOI
4/5 Stiff
4/5 Rating
3/5 Tech
3/5 Profile
4/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
4/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2018
Serial: WTDXVBZ-19
Bat Type: Hybrid
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
Similar Drop 10/11 USSSA Bats
No items found
WTDXVB5-19

USSSA Drop 5 Review


OVERALL/10
Voodoo Balanced USSSA Drop 5 Ratings (key)
4/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: -inch
Release Date: August 1, 2018
Serial: WTDXVB5-19
Bat Type: Hybrid
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar Drop 5 USSSA Bats
No items found

Comparable Bats

In terms of a two piece hybrid bat with a composite handle and an aluminum barrel look how about Slugger’s 718 Select? These bats feel real similar in the USSSA and USA space and comes in a similar size and price.

In the BBCOR realm, we think the most comparable bat is Easton’s new Project 3 13.6 Hybrid. This is a mid to light swinging two piece hybrid. Big barrel and a proven connection piece. But, the 13.6 only comes in a BBCOR.

Previous Models

DeMarini claims to have made some upgrades to the handle in the 2019 version of the Voodoo. Our experience has been that we love both years of the bat line. We couldn’t tell much difference, in our hitting, from the 2018 or 2019 handle. Both feel great on hits and mishits.

The biggest difference is the addition of a drop 5 in the USA Space. A heavier swinging hybrid in the new standard will serve a lot of kids real well–especially those bigger 13 and 14 year old Babe Ruth players that can swing either BBCOR or USA.


No items found

Construction

The 2019 DeMarini Voodoo (Balanced) is a two piece hybrid bat. Hybrid refers to the fact that it has a composite handle and an aluminum barrel. The handle and connection piece is the same they use on their high end CF Zen and CF Insane lines. It is a decently stiff connection with good durability and a feel that most hitters just love. The barrel is a high grade aluminum that is considered a standard top shelf by most in the industry. More than a few elite college teams and players prefer DeMarini’s aluminum barrel over any other.

Overall Ratings Key

To keep consistent ratings across years, models and brands, we’ve devloped an aggregated rating system using 6 categories. As well, we track swing weight (MOI), stiffness and profile although they do not affect the overall score directly. The explanation of each rating is below.

  1. MOI: is the swing weight accurately measured at our bat lab. We score it 1 through 5. No score is better than another. This is a descriptive value. A lower number (1) represents a light swinging bat for its class, while a higher number (5) represents an endloaded bat.
  2. Tech: The tech advancements in the bat are 5% of its overall score. We award points for innovation even if the invention encourages the industry to try new things.
  3. Durability: The bat’s lifespan is rated at 15% of the overall score. We gather this information almost exclusively from the user and player feedback. More reports of a bat breaking then the lower the score.
  4. Stiffness: Stiffness is not counted towards the overall score since it’s a complete preference. The higher the number, the stiffer the bat, the lower the number, the more flex in the bat directly after contact. This is significantly correlated to how good a bat feels on mishits and hits.
  5. Profile: The profile does not count towards the overall score. However, we do track it. A high number means the bat has an extensive profile, and a lower number means it has a small profile.
  6. Resell: We count the secondary market of a used value of the bat as 10% of the overall score. We think the demand for the bat in the secondary market (eBay and SidelineSwap) are a good indicator of how well the bat is perceived to perform. It also shows a more excellent value for the owner as their bat retains more value and no longer becomes valuable to them.
  7. Rating: This is the player rating and represents 25% of the overall score. These are gathered from our hitters and reviews we find online and those we have contact with from other reputable sources.
  8. EV: Exit Velocity is the rankings we create in our exit speed velocity tests every year on bats. This score represents 25% of the overall score.
  9. Relevance: Relevance measures how applicable and available a bat is for consumers. The broader range of sizes and the more appropriate the swing weight for the masses then, the higher the score. This metric accounts for 20% of the overall score.

2019 DeMarini Voodoo Balanced User Reviews

7.9
Pop
7.8
Durability
8
Feel on Sweet Spot Hits
7.2
Feel on Mishits
8
Worth the Price
Users (5 votes) {{ reviewsOverall }} / 10
What people say... Leave your rating
Order by:

Be the first to leave a review.

Verified
/ 10
{{{ review.rating_title }}}
{{{review.rating_comment | nl2br}}}

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Leave your rating

4 Comments
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Anonymous
3 years ago

If you look at the Demarini chart (Mass Index comparison chart) for their BBCOR bats on their website , the Voodoo Balanced has a lighter swing weight than the Zen in a 30″ and the same swing weight as the Zen in a 31″. At 33″, they start to swing heavier than the Zen.

https://www.demarini.com/en-us/bats/baseball-bats/2019-voodoo-balanced-3-baseball-bat

Louisville Slugger is also now listing the Mass Index of their bats for each length. Not sure if you can compare numbers of two different brands, but you can compare within the line-up of a brand.

https://www.slugger.com/en-us/baseball/aluminum-composite/bbcor/solo-619-3-2-5-8-bbcor-baseball-bat

Of course, individual bats will vary.

Anonymous
3 years ago

I just wanted to show that in the 30″ and 31″ Demarini Voodoo balanced, the Mass Index is lower, comparatively speaking, than in the 32″ and up. I talked to Demarini and this is by design for younger, smaller players. The 30″ Voodoo balanced swings lighter than the 30″ Zen and the 31″ swings the same as the 31″ Zen. The Voodoo Balanced starts to swing heavier than a Zen at 32 inches. I originally said at 33″. The 30″ Voodoo Balanced is a good option for 13U. The 625 Mass Index number is the same as what Louisville S. lists for the Solo… not sure about calculation accuracies though.

I agree that it’s best to be able to feel and swing a bat to compare, but some bats aren’t available, especially since all the sporting goods stores are gone and in some ares, all we’re left with is Dick’s.

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?