Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.



2019 DeMarini CF Zen Review

By Bat Digest | Last Updated September 13, 2021

The bat feels a lot more like the famed CF8 with a bigger (2 3/4) barrel then that of the 2017 or 2018 CF Zen. We discuss our experience in this 2019 DeMarini CF Zen Review.


2019 CF Zen Video

2019 CF Zen Video

2019 CF Zen Models
BBCOR
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –8
/10
USSSA –5
/10

We have hit with the BBCOR, Drop 5, Drop 8 and Drop 10 2019 DeMarini CF Zen. The bat is a two-piece composite bat with a big barrel and a light swing. We don’t see any differences between this bat and the 2018 (or its newer 2020/2021 version). That is not a bad thing. The bat dominated the USSSA space, is average in USA and a good to great bat in BBCOR. The USSSA bat likes to break, but in the meantime, it is a great hit.

2019 CF Zen Models

We have hit with the BBCOR, Drop 5, Drop 8 and Drop 10 2019 DeMarini CF Zen. The bat is a two-piece composite bat with a big barrel and a light swing. We don’t see any differences between this bat and the 2018 (or its newer 2020/2021 version). That is not a bad thing. The bat dominated the USSSA space, is average in USA and a good to great bat in BBCOR. The USSSA bat likes to break, but in the meantime, it is a great hit.

BBCOR
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –8
/10
USSSA –5
/10
WTDXCBC19

BBCOR Review


OVERALL/10
CF Zen BBCOR Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
2/5 Stiff
3/5 Rating
4/5 Tech
4/5 Profile
5/5 EV
3/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
5/5 Relvnce
Sizing: -inch
Release Date: August 1, 2018
Serial: WTDXCBC19
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar BBCOR Bats
No items found
WTDXCBZ-19

USSSA Drop 10 Review

DeMarini's 2019 CF Zen is a two-piece composite bat with a big barrel and a light swing. It is, far and away, the most popular USSSA bat for 2019 and comes in a drop 5, 8, and 10.

DeMarini's 2019 CF Zen is a two-piece composite bat with a big barrel and a light swing. It is, far and away, the most popular USSSA bat for 2019 and comes in a drop 5, 8, and 10.


OVERALL/10
CF Zen USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
2/5 Stiff
5/5 Rating
4/5 Tech
5/5 Profile
5/5 EV
2/5 Durblty
5/5 Resell
5/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2018
Serial: WTDXCBZ-19
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
Similar Drop 10/11 USSSA Bats
No items found
WTDXC8Z-19

USSSA Drop 8 Review


OVERALL/10
CF Zen USSSA Drop 8 Ratings (key)
3/5 MOI
2/5 Stiff
5/5 Rating
4/5 Tech
5/5 Profile
5/5 EV
3/5 Durblty
5/5 Resell
5/5 Relvnce
Sizing: -inch
Release Date: August 1, 2018
Serial: WTDXC8Z-19
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
Similar Drop 8 USSSA Bats
No items found
WTDXCB5-19

USSSA Drop 5 Review


OVERALL/10
CF Zen USSSA Drop 5 Ratings (key)
4/5 MOI
3/5 Stiff
5/5 Rating
4/5 Tech
5/5 Profile
5/5 EV
3/5 Durblty
5/5 Resell
4/5 Relvnce
Sizing: -inch
Release Date: August 1, 2018
Serial: WTDXCB5-19
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar Drop 5 USSSA Bats
No items found

Comparable Bats

If you are in the two piece composite light swinging big barreled bat space then the CF Zen has some company. In 2019 the crop consists of Eastons new ADV, Rawlings Quatro Pro and Slugger’s 919 Prime as well as their Meta Prime. Axe bats also makes a two piece composite in the Axe Avenge.

Each of those bats, with the exception of the Meta Prime, price out about the same. In terms of performance and feel it just depends on the league we are talking. We think any company is hard pressed to meet the performance standard DeMarini has set in the USSSA space. But, in the USA and BBCOR world we often feel like your guess is as good as ours.

Previous Models

Our experience with the two bats pushes us towards the 2019 version–especially in the drop 8 and drop 10. The 2018 version was, in large measure, a repaint on the 2017 CF Retooled CF Zen.

The 2019 Zen in the drop 5, drop 8 and drop 10 are all new bats from the ground up and you won’t find that dampening ring inside the barrel to make it legal.


No items found

Construction

The 2019 CF Zen is a two piece composite bat built with a big barrel and balanced swing weight. It sits on the easier side of the isle in terms of swing strength and the higher side of the isle for barrel size. The connective piece, called the 3-Fusion, is used on their other high performance bats. Some argue it is the perfect combination of stiffness and give for that butter smash all day long.

Overall Ratings Key

To keep consistent ratings across years, models and brands, we’ve devloped an aggregated rating system using 6 categories. As well, we track swing weight (MOI), stiffness and profile although they do not affect the overall score directly. The explanation of each rating is below.

  1. MOI: is the swing weight accurately measured at our bat lab. We score it 1 through 5. No score is better than another. This is a descriptive value. A lower number (1) represents a light swinging bat for its class, while a higher number (5) represents an endloaded bat.
  2. Tech: The tech advancements in the bat are 5% of its overall score. We award points for innovation even if the invention encourages the industry to try new things.
  3. Durability: The bat’s lifespan is rated at 15% of the overall score. We gather this information almost exclusively from the user and player feedback. More reports of a bat breaking then the lower the score.
  4. Stiffness: Stiffness is not counted towards the overall score since it’s a complete preference. The higher the number, the stiffer the bat, the lower the number, the more flex in the bat directly after contact. This is significantly correlated to how good a bat feels on mishits and hits.
  5. Profile: The profile does not count towards the overall score. However, we do track it. A high number means the bat has an extensive profile, and a lower number means it has a small profile.
  6. Resell: We count the secondary market of a used value of the bat as 10% of the overall score. We think the demand for the bat in the secondary market (eBay and SidelineSwap) are a good indicator of how well the bat is perceived to perform. It also shows a more excellent value for the owner as their bat retains more value and no longer becomes valuable to them.
  7. Rating: This is the player rating and represents 25% of the overall score. These are gathered from our hitters and reviews we find online and those we have contact with from other reputable sources.
  8. EV: Exit Velocity is the rankings we create in our exit speed velocity tests every year on bats. This score represents 25% of the overall score.
  9. Relevance: Relevance measures how applicable and available a bat is for consumers. The broader range of sizes and the more appropriate the swing weight for the masses then, the higher the score. This metric accounts for 20% of the overall score.

2019 DeMarini CF Zen User Reviews

6.6
Pop
4.8
Durability
7.1
Feel on Sweet Spot Hits
5.3
Feel on Mishits
4.7
Worth the Price
Users (9 votes) {{ reviewsOverall }} / 10
What people say... Leave your rating
Order by:

Be the first to leave a review.

Verified
/ 10
{{{ review.rating_title }}}
{{{review.rating_comment | nl2br}}}

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Leave your rating

1 Comment
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
Jeffrey
4 years ago

One of the best bats my son had ever had in his tournament he went 8/10 with 4 homeruns crazy pop

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?