Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.



2018 Rawlings VELO Review

By Bat Digest | Last Updated March 3, 2021

We used the 2018 BBCOR version of the bat in a few tournaments across several different players with nearly unanimous approval. Our hitters like the loud sound, light swing, and real stiff feel. Some hitters didn’t think it had the power of some other bats, but our exit speeds showed differently. They preferred the grip on the Velo over most bats. 


2018 Velo Video

2018 Velo Video

2018 Velo Models
BBCOR
/10
USA –10
/10
USA –5
/10
USSSA –12
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –5
/10

Aside from the color design, there are no considerable differences between the 2018 VELO and the 2017 version, including our opinion that it is a great buy.

2018 Velo Models

Aside from the color design, there are no considerable differences between the 2018 VELO and the 2017 version, including our opinion that it is a great buy.

BBCOR
/10
USA –10
/10
USA –5
/10
USSSA –12
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –5
/10
BB8V3

BBCOR Review


OVERALL/10
Velo BBCOR Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
4/5 Stiff
5/5 Rating
3/5 Tech
2/5 Profile
5/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
4/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 31, 32, 32, 33, 33, 34-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2017
Serial: BB8V3
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar BBCOR Bats
No items found
US8V10

USA Drop 10 Review


OVERALL/10
Velo USA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2017
Serial: US8V10
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar USA Bats
No items found
US855

USA Drop 5 Review


OVERALL/10
Velo USA Drop 5 Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
5/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2017
Serial: US855
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar USA Bats
No items found
UT8V34

USSSA Drop 12 Review


OVERALL/10
Velo Hybrid USSSA Drop 12 Ratings (key)
1/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
3/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 27, 28, 29, 30-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2017
Serial: UT8V34
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
UT8V34

USSSA Drop 10 Review


OVERALL/10
Velo Hybrid USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2017
Serial: UT8V34
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
Similar Drop 10/11 USSSA Bats
No items found
UT8534

USSSA Drop 5 Review


OVERALL/10
Velo Hybrid USSSA Drop 5 Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
5/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2017
Serial: UT8534
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar Drop 5 USSSA Bats
No items found

Comparable Bats

The Rawlings Velo was the first bat to use variable wall thickness to create a lighter swinging bat with a bigger barrel in the aluminum space.

Since, however, many have flat copied the idea. And although none of those copy-cats have added the POP 2.0 groove to their bat’s inside (like the VELO did for the 2017 and beyond models), we consider those others at least somewhat comparable bats.

Do note that the CAT 7 does NOT use a composite end cap. Also note that the Slugger 618 uses a composite end cap on an aluminum bat, but forgoes the variable wall thickness.

Previous Models

There are no differences, aside from the color, between the 2017 and 2018 Rawlings VELO.

We should note, however, the size offerings are different. The VELO can be found in a USAbat this year, and last year those did not exist.


No items found

Construction

The Rawlings VELO is a single piece bat that uses variable wall thickness and a groove on the inside of the barrel to create a light swinging bat with a big barrel.

Using clever means to decrease swing weight while maintaining durability and barrel size is the principal task of bat engineers. The Rawlings VELO pioneered the technique of using variable wall thickness to accomplish a bigger barrel without affecting swing weight. In the 2017 version, Rawlings rolled out POP 2.0 technology (their term, not ours) which removes even more volume from the inner barrel by creating a groove lengthwise inside the barrel. This managed to drop the swing weight even lower while leaving room for a larger barrel.

Without argument, the VELO is the most advanced aluminum bat on the market.

In addition to the inner barrel make-up, they also use an extended composite end cap to further reduce swing weight.​ This extended composite end cap is their justification for using the word “hybrid” on the side of the barrel. It is not a “hybrid” in the traditional sense of the term, or as we generally use it on this site. That is, it does not have a composite handle and an aluminum barrel.

Overall Ratings Key

To keep consistent ratings across years, models and brands, we’ve devloped an aggregated rating system using 6 categories. As well, we track swing weight (MOI), stiffness and profile although they do not affect the overall score directly. The explanation of each rating is below.

  1. MOI: is the swing weight accurately measured at our bat lab. We score it 1 through 5. No score is better than another. This is a descriptive value. A lower number (1) represents a light swinging bat for its class, while a higher number (5) represents an endloaded bat.
  2. Tech: The tech advancements in the bat are 5% of its overall score. We award points for innovation even if the invention encourages the industry to try new things.
  3. Durability: The bat’s lifespan is rated at 15% of the overall score. We gather this information almost exclusively from the user and player feedback. More reports of a bat breaking then the lower the score.
  4. Stiffness: Stiffness is not counted towards the overall score since it’s a complete preference. The higher the number, the stiffer the bat, the lower the number, the more flex in the bat directly after contact. This is significantly correlated to how good a bat feels on mishits and hits.
  5. Profile: The profile does not count towards the overall score. However, we do track it. A high number means the bat has an extensive profile, and a lower number means it has a small profile.
  6. Resell: We count the secondary market of a used value of the bat as 10% of the overall score. We think the demand for the bat in the secondary market (eBay and SidelineSwap) are a good indicator of how well the bat is perceived to perform. It also shows a more excellent value for the owner as their bat retains more value and no longer becomes valuable to them.
  7. Rating: This is the player rating and represents 25% of the overall score. These are gathered from our hitters and reviews we find online and those we have contact with from other reputable sources.
  8. EV: Exit Velocity is the rankings we create in our exit speed velocity tests every year on bats. This score represents 25% of the overall score.
  9. Relevance: Relevance measures how applicable and available a bat is for consumers. The broader range of sizes and the more appropriate the swing weight for the masses then, the higher the score. This metric accounts for 20% of the overall score.

2018 Rawlings Velo User Reviews

0
Pop
0
Durability
0
Feel on Sweet Spot Hits
0
Feel on Mishits
0
Worth the Price
Users (0 votes) {{ reviewsOverall }} / 10
What people say... Leave your rating
Order by:

Be the first to leave a review.

Verified
/ 10
{{{ review.rating_title }}}
{{{review.rating_comment | nl2br}}}

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Leave your rating

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?

0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x