Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.



2018 Easton Beast X Reviews

By Bat Digest | Last Updated July 3, 2020

That is, the Beast X is a line of single piece aluminum bats that come in a light (speed) or heavy (loaded) swing speed. There is a subset of the Beast X that is referred to as the Hybrid, but we review that elsewhere. After extensive use with the Beast X, we put together this 2018 Easton Beast X Review.


2018 Beast X Video

2018 Beast X Video

2018 Beast X Models
USA –12
/10
USA –10
/10
USA –8
/10
USA –5
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –8
/10
USSSA –5
/10
USSSA –5
/10

The 2018 Easton Beast X is the progeny of the 2017 Easton Z-Core line of bats.

2018 Beast X Models

The 2018 Easton Beast X is the progeny of the 2017 Easton Z-Core line of bats.

USA –12
/10
USA –10
/10
USA –8
/10
USA –5
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –8
/10
USSSA –5
/10
USSSA –5
/10
YBB18BXHL

USA Drop 12 Review


OVERALL/10
Beast X Hyperlite USA Drop 12 Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
3/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2017
Serial: YBB18BXHL
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 1/4
Similar USA Bats
No items found
YBB18BX10

USA Drop 10 Review


OVERALL/10
Beast X USA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
3/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2017
Serial: YBB18BX10
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar USA Bats
No items found
YBB18BX5

USA Drop 8 Review


OVERALL/10
Beast X USA Drop 8 Ratings (key)
3/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2017
Serial: YBB18BX5
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar USA Bats
No items found
YBB18BX5

USA Drop 5 Review


OVERALL/10
Beast X USA Drop 5 Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2017
Serial: YBB18BX5
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar USA Bats
No items found
SL19BS10

USSSA Drop 10 Review

The 2019 Easton Beast Speed is a single-piece bat with a light swing in a 2 3/4. The bat is built for the hitter who wants as much bat speed as they do barrel coverage and don't want to break the bank. It comes standard with a Lizard Skin grip.

The 2019 Easton Beast Speed is a single-piece bat with a light swing in a 2 3/4. The bat is built for the hitter who wants as much bat speed as they do barrel coverage and don't want to break the bank. It comes standard with a Lizard Skin grip.


OVERALL/10
Beast Speed USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
4/5 Stiff
4/5 Rating
2/5 Tech
4/5 Profile
4/5 EV
5/5 Durblty
2/5 Resell
5/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2018
Serial: SL19BS10
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
Similar Drop 10/11 USSSA Bats
No items found
SL18BX10

USSSA Drop 10 Review


OVERALL/10
Beast X USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2017
Serial: SL18BX10
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
Similar Drop 10/11 USSSA Bats
No items found
SL18BX8

USSSA Drop 8 Review


OVERALL/10
Beast X USSSA Drop 8 Ratings (key)
/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2017
Serial: SL18BX8
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
Similar Drop 8 USSSA Bats
No items found
SL18BX5

USSSA Drop 5 Review


OVERALL/10
Beast X USSSA Drop 5 Ratings (key)
/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2017
Serial: SL18BX5
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
Similar Drop 5 USSSA Bats
No items found
SL18BX58

USSSA Drop 5 Review


OVERALL/10
Beast X USSSA Drop 5 Ratings (key)
/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
3/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2017
Serial: SL18BX58
Bat Type: Single Piece Alloy
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar Drop 5 USSSA Bats
No items found

Comparable Bats

Finding a single piece aluminum bat is as easy as going to your local big box store. In fact, most cheap bats are made just like that. But anyone who has spent time with a performance alloy bat when compared to a cheap $50 Walmart bat knows darn well that the top shelf bats are just different. The barrels are larger, the swing weight distributed perfectly.

In that high class category of single piece aluminum there are fewer options. But, for sure, there are plenty to choose from.

2018 Easton Beast X Review

We would put the 2018 DeMarini One as closely related to the Z-Core Speed as any bat out there. It is a light swinging single piece aluminum bat with a good sized barrel.​

2018 Louisville Slugger 518 Review

Slugger also makes a single piece aluminum with a decent sized barrel called the Omaha 518. Worth considering if this is your wheelhouse.

Previous Models

Although a considerable name change, which makes the two bat lines almost unrecognizable, the truth is the 2017 Z-Core and the 2018 Beast X are very similar bats. Easton did upgraded some of the aluminum properties in the Beast X to add some durability. But it didn’t change the already large barrel size of the Z-Core. Nor did it affect the swing weight when comparing the Speed and XL versions of the line.

The biggest change was a redesign of the two piece connective piece, but that only affected the Hybrid versions of the Beast X/Z-Core. We will discuss that in our review of that bat.


No items found

Construction

The Beast X is a single piece aluminum bat. It is made with Easton’s most elite alloy (which is good). But, the bat runs in a number of different lengths, weights and leagues. They also have a version called the Hybrid which is a two piece bat.

In any event, make sure you know which version you are buying as plenty of bats in the market today go by the Easton Beast X.

Overall Ratings Key

To keep consistent ratings across years, models and brands, we’ve devloped an aggregated rating system using 6 categories. As well, we track swing weight (MOI), stiffness and profile although they do not affect the overall score directly. The explanation of each rating is below.

  1. MOI: is the swing weight accurately measured at our bat lab. We score it 1 through 5. No score is better than another. This is a descriptive value. A lower number (1) represents a light swinging bat for its class, while a higher number (5) represents an endloaded bat.
  2. Tech: The tech advancements in the bat are 5% of its overall score. We award points for innovation even if the invention encourages the industry to try new things.
  3. Durability: The bat’s lifespan is rated at 15% of the overall score. We gather this information almost exclusively from the user and player feedback. More reports of a bat breaking then the lower the score.
  4. Stiffness: Stiffness is not counted towards the overall score since it’s a complete preference. The higher the number, the stiffer the bat, the lower the number, the more flex in the bat directly after contact. This is significantly correlated to how good a bat feels on mishits and hits.
  5. Profile: The profile does not count towards the overall score. However, we do track it. A high number means the bat has an extensive profile, and a lower number means it has a small profile.
  6. Resell: We count the secondary market of a used value of the bat as 10% of the overall score. We think the demand for the bat in the secondary market (eBay and SidelineSwap) are a good indicator of how well the bat is perceived to perform. It also shows a more excellent value for the owner as their bat retains more value and no longer becomes valuable to them.
  7. Rating: This is the player rating and represents 25% of the overall score. These are gathered from our hitters and reviews we find online and those we have contact with from other reputable sources.
  8. EV: Exit Velocity is the rankings we create in our exit speed velocity tests every year on bats. This score represents 25% of the overall score.
  9. Relevance: Relevance measures how applicable and available a bat is for consumers. The broader range of sizes and the more appropriate the swing weight for the masses then, the higher the score. This metric accounts for 20% of the overall score.

2018 Easton Beast X User Reviews

4.7
Pop
6.3
Durability
5.3
Feel on Sweet Spot Hits
0.3
Feel on Mishits
3.5
Worth the Price
Users (3 votes) {{ reviewsOverall }} / 10
What people say... Leave your rating
Order by:

Be the first to leave a review.

Verified
/ 10
{{{ review.rating_title }}}
{{{review.rating_comment | nl2br}}}

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Leave your rating

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?