Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.



<< Baseball Reviews << Slugger Reviews

2017 Louisville Slugger Prime 917 Review

By Bat Digest | Last Updated August 7, 2019


We’ve also measured it’s swing weight and overall barrel size in relation to its peers as well as considered user reviews. Our emails with Louisville Slugger’s bat team and our thousands of hours in the bat evaluation space were also helpful in our review.


2017 917 Prime Video

2017 917 Prime Video

2017 917 Prime Models


After 2 solid hours in the cage with Slugger’s 2017 917 Prime in tow we have a good grasp on its total performance, how it compares to it’s predecessor and what type of hitter will appreciate this bat the most.

BBCOR
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –8
/10
USSSA –5
/10
USSSA –12
/10
USSSA –10
/10

Model Recommendations

WTLBBP9173

BBCOR Review

Prime 917 BBCOR Ratings (key)
3 4 3 2 4 3 4 5 4 3
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 31, 32, 33, 34-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2016
Serial: WTLBBP9173
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
See other BBCOR Bats
WTLSLP917X

USSSA Drop 10 Review

Prime 917 USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
2 4 3 2 3 4 4 4 4 3
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2016
Serial: WTLSLP917X
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
See other Drop 10 USSSA Bats
STLSLP9170

USSSA Drop 10 Review

Prime 917 USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
2 4 3 2 3 4 4 4 4 3
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2016
Serial: STLSLP9170
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
See other Drop 10 USSSA Bats
STLSLP9178

USSSA Drop 8 Review

Prime 917 USSSA Drop 8 Ratings (key)
3 4 3 2 3 4 4 4 3 3
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2016
Serial: STLSLP9178
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
See other Drop 8 USSSA Bats
WTLSLP9175

USSSA Drop 5 Review

Prime 917 USSSA Drop 5 Ratings (key)
4 4 4 2 3 4 4 4 3 3
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2016
Serial: WTLSLP9175
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
See other Drop 5 USSSA Bats
WTLYBP9172

USSSA Drop 12 Review

Prime 917 USSSA Drop 12 Ratings (key)
1 4 3 2 2 4 4 4 5 3
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2016
Serial: WTLYBP9172
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 1/4
WTLYBP9170

USSSA Drop 10 Review

Prime 917 USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
2 4 3 2 3 4 4 4 4 3
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: October 1, 2016
Serial: WTLYBP9170
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 1/4
See other Drop 10 USSSA Bats

Comparable Bats

The 2017 Louisville Slugger 917 Prime fits in the most competitive niche of non-wood baseball bats. That is, the light swinging two piece composite space with an emphasis on a large barrel and max performance. This realm is not only the most crowded space but also the most expensive. Easton’s MAKO, DeMarini’s CF Zen, Adidas RBZ and Axe’s Avenge are just a few.

It should also be noted, the most crowded space in the bat market is also the most coveted. A light swinging bat with a buttery feel even on mishits with an over sized barrel for maximum contact possibility is what most players want if they have the choice.

Construction

When compared to the 2016 Prime the 917 has many similarities. Namely, the bat’s general construction is built for the player who likes a light swinging two piece composite with a buttery feel and a good sized barrel.

There are a couple of differences very much worth noting. The 2017’s version improves upon the size of the usable sweet. A new composite in the 917, likely developed in conjunction with Slugger’s new boss Wilson (who owns DeMarini too), expands the length of the usable sweet spot when compared to the 916. It’s a noticeable difference in the cage. Also, Slugger tightened the connective piece (they call the TRU3 design) for added durability and a little more feel at contact.

Overall Ratings

The overall rating uses seven different weighted metrics to determine our overall score. Half of total rating comes from the player and our exit speed tests (Player Rating: 25%, Performance: 25%).The other categories are Relevance (20%), Demand (10%), Durability (10%), Resell Score (5%), and Tech Specs (5%).

(UR) Un Rated: An overall rating of UR means the bat has yet to be fully rated. When it is, this score will update.

(PlaRa) Player Rating: We measure player rating from user reviews. Those users include our own hitters that we test at the lab as well as reviews we find online.

(ExVe) Performance: Performance measures the exit speeds and distances we capture in our hitting lab with HitTrax using these bats.

(Relv) Relevance: We measure the number of sizes and the MOI of the bat. Bats with a wider range of options get a better score.

(Dmnd) Demand: Demand is measured by consumer sentiment and the buzz around the bat.

(Drb) Durability: A bat’s durability is measured by user reviews as well as feedback from manufacturers.

(ReSl) Resell Score: Based on the price the bats go for used. Higher prices mean greater user demand which means, generally, a better bat. A resell value closer to its original price means a higher score.

(Tech) Tech Specs: We rate the bat on its technological advancements from previous years and compared to the industry at large. This is our chance to reward companies who are trying to innovate.
MOI
MOI or Mass Moment of Inertia is a measurement of bat swing weight. This quantifies how difficult it is to swing a bat. The industry often refers to this as things like End Load or Balanced but those words have been overused to the point of meaninglessness. We measure the actual swing weights of each bat we test using the industry-standard pendulum period, balance point, and scale weight. You can read more about that here.
Price
The price is the original MSRP price of the bat.
Type
The types of bats are single-piece alloy (SPA), two-piece composite (TPC), single-piece composite (SPC), hybrid (Hyb.), and wood (Wood). Hybrid bats are made of composite handles and alloy barrles.
Date
The estimated date the bat began distribution.

2017 Louisville Slugger 917 Prime User Reviews

0
Pop
0
Durability
0
Feel on Sweet Spot Hits
0
Feel on Mishits
0
Worth the Price
Users (0 votes) {{ reviewsOverall }} / 10
What people say... Leave your rating
Order by:

Be the first to leave a review.

Verified
/ 10
{{{ review.rating_title }}}
{{{review.rating_comment | nl2br}}}

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Leave your rating

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?