Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.



2017 Easton MAKO Beast Review

By Bat Digest | Last Updated March 3, 2021

We’d guess no less than 4 hours in the cage, two tournaments among several different hitters, the Little League World Series, consulting our 2015 and 2016 Easton MAKO reviews and our 2017 Easton Lineup to put together this review.


2017 Mako Beast Video

2017 Mako Beast Video

2017 Mako Beast Models
BBCOR
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –8
/10
USSSA –5
/10
USSSA –12
/10
USSSA –11
/10
USSSA –10
/10

We have spent a lot of time over the last several weeks getting ready for this review.

2017 Mako Beast Models

We have spent a lot of time over the last several weeks getting ready for this review.

BBCOR
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –8
/10
USSSA –5
/10
USSSA –12
/10
USSSA –11
/10
USSSA –10
/10
BB17MK

BBCOR Review

The 2018 Easton MAKO Beast is a two-piece composite bat with a huge barrel, light swing, and great feel on contact. It is the endpoint of the MAKO line of bats and the precursor to Easton's ADV 360.

The 2018 Easton MAKO Beast is a two-piece composite bat with a huge barrel, light swing, and great feel on contact. It is the endpoint of the MAKO line of bats and the precursor to Easton's ADV 360.


OVERALL/10
Mako Beast BBCOR Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
2/5 Stiff
5/5 Rating
4/5 Tech
4/5 Profile
5/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
4/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 31, 32, 33, 34-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2016
Serial: BB17MK
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar BBCOR Bats
No items found
SL17MK10B

USSSA Drop 10 Review


OVERALL/10
Mako Beast USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
3/5 Stiff
4/5 Rating
3/5 Tech
4/5 Profile
5/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
5/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2016
Serial: SL17MK10B
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
Similar Drop 10/11 USSSA Bats
No items found
SL17S310B

USSSA Drop 10 Review


OVERALL/10
Mako Beast USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
3/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2016
Serial: SL17S310B
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
Similar Drop 10/11 USSSA Bats
No items found
SL17MK10

USSSA Drop 10 Review


OVERALL/10
Mako Beast USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
3/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2016
Serial: SL17MK10
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar Drop 10/11 USSSA Bats
No items found
SL17MK8

USSSA Drop 8 Review


OVERALL/10
Mako Beast USSSA Drop 8 Ratings (key)
3/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2016
Serial: SL17MK8
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar Drop 8 USSSA Bats
No items found
SL17MK5

USSSA Drop 5 Review


OVERALL/10
Mako Beast USSSA Drop 5 Ratings (key)
4/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2016
Serial: SL17MK5
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar Drop 5 USSSA Bats
No items found
YB17MK12

USSSA Drop 12 Review


OVERALL/10
Mako Beast USSSA Drop 12 Ratings (key)
1/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2016
Serial: YB17MK12
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 1/4
YB17MK11

USSSA Drop 11 Review


OVERALL/10
Mako Beast USSSA Drop 11 Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2016
Serial: YB17MK11
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 1/4
Similar Drop 10/11 USSSA Bats
No items found
YB17MK10

USSSA Drop 10 Review


OVERALL/10
Mako Beast USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
3/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: August 1, 2016
Serial: YB17MK10
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 1/4
Similar Drop 10/11 USSSA Bats
No items found

Comparable Bats

In the two piece composite space there several options. Both the 917 Prime from Slugger and the CF Zen from DeMarini are a lot like the Easton Mako Beast. All of them have big barrels, swing light and come in a number of sizes. In terms of user reviews the DeMarini is the most mixed as it had some durability issues (but absolutely raked the ball).

Previous Models

Compared to the 2016 Easton MAKO we didn’t find any remarkable changes (at least in the 2 5/8 version). Easton has claimed in a few YouTube videos the Beast barrel is the ‘hottest’ ever and such a claim would be impossible for us to measure.

Some have written to us claiming the compression tests on the Beast’s barrel have come back different than MAKOs in years past. This would imply Easton has done something differently, but implying it now out performs a 2015 and 2016 version, which were straight out crazy hot, is too far fetched for us. The MAKO in the last several years has been the bat to beat in terms of on field performance. That will be no different for 2017.


No items found

Construction

Like previous years’ models, the 2017 Easton MAKO Beast is a two piece composite bat with a focus on a massive barrel and a light swing weight. However, in the BBCOR space, the 2017 barrel is larger than last year’s version. In the Big Barrel or Youth Barrel space, the barrel size will be the same.

In both BBCOR, Big Barrel and Youth Barrel, the bat composition is still the TCT composite Easton has been using for at least a couple years now. The connective piece (CXN) is still reasonably stiff and allows for good vibration absorption without any noticeable loss in power.

Overall Ratings Key

To keep consistent ratings across years, models and brands, we’ve devloped an aggregated rating system using 6 categories. As well, we track swing weight (MOI), stiffness and profile although they do not affect the overall score directly. The explanation of each rating is below.

  1. MOI: is the swing weight accurately measured at our bat lab. We score it 1 through 5. No score is better than another. This is a descriptive value. A lower number (1) represents a light swinging bat for its class, while a higher number (5) represents an endloaded bat.
  2. Tech: The tech advancements in the bat are 5% of its overall score. We award points for innovation even if the invention encourages the industry to try new things.
  3. Durability: The bat’s lifespan is rated at 15% of the overall score. We gather this information almost exclusively from the user and player feedback. More reports of a bat breaking then the lower the score.
  4. Stiffness: Stiffness is not counted towards the overall score since it’s a complete preference. The higher the number, the stiffer the bat, the lower the number, the more flex in the bat directly after contact. This is significantly correlated to how good a bat feels on mishits and hits.
  5. Profile: The profile does not count towards the overall score. However, we do track it. A high number means the bat has an extensive profile, and a lower number means it has a small profile.
  6. Resell: We count the secondary market of a used value of the bat as 10% of the overall score. We think the demand for the bat in the secondary market (eBay and SidelineSwap) are a good indicator of how well the bat is perceived to perform. It also shows a more excellent value for the owner as their bat retains more value and no longer becomes valuable to them.
  7. Rating: This is the player rating and represents 25% of the overall score. These are gathered from our hitters and reviews we find online and those we have contact with from other reputable sources.
  8. EV: Exit Velocity is the rankings we create in our exit speed velocity tests every year on bats. This score represents 25% of the overall score.
  9. Relevance: Relevance measures how applicable and available a bat is for consumers. The broader range of sizes and the more appropriate the swing weight for the masses then, the higher the score. This metric accounts for 20% of the overall score.

2017 Easton Mako Beast User Reviews

10
Pop
9.3
Durability
8.8
Feel on Sweet Spot Hits
8.8
Feel on Mishits
10
Worth the Price
Users (2 votes) {{ reviewsOverall }} / 10
What people say... Leave your rating
Order by:

Be the first to leave a review.

Verified
/ 10
{{{ review.rating_title }}}
{{{review.rating_comment | nl2br}}}

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Leave your rating

1 Comment
Oldest
Newest Most Voted
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments
3 years ago

We have been hitting the beast xl since it came out in late 16. Still hitting it in 19. Tried all the zens and sluggers. None compare to the 17 beast. Launches long balls from that sweet spot !! Love it.

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?