Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.



2016 DeMarini Voodoo Raw Review

By Bat Digest | Last Updated March 3, 2021

The 2016 Voodoo Raw will come in 4 categories: BBCOR, Youth (2 1/4), Senior Barrel, and, new to the 2016 class, a Junior Big Barrel (2 3/4).  We took each version into the cage and have broken down their reviews below.


2016 Voodoo Raw Video

2016 Voodoo Raw Video

2016 Voodoo Raw Models
BBCOR
/10
USSSA –5
/10
USSSA –9
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –13
/10

For several years DeMarini has created a beast of a bat in the Voodoo line, and many expect DeMarini to do it again this year. Hence the excitement for a wildly popular model that, year in and year out, has lived up to high expectations (if not outpaced them).

2016 Voodoo Raw Models

For several years DeMarini has created a beast of a bat in the Voodoo line, and many expect DeMarini to do it again this year. Hence the excitement for a wildly popular model that, year in and year out, has lived up to high expectations (if not outpaced them).

BBCOR
/10
USSSA –5
/10
USSSA –9
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –13
/10
DXVDC

BBCOR Review

The DeMarini Voodoo Raw is a two piece hybrid bat with a bit of an endload and a softer connection piece. The bat hits the ball great and is made for that big hitter who doesn't like hand sting.

The DeMarini Voodoo Raw is a two piece hybrid bat with a bit of an endload and a softer connection piece. The bat hits the ball great and is made for that big hitter who doesn't like hand sting.


OVERALL/10
Voodoo Raw BBCOR Ratings (key)
4/5 MOI
2/5 Stiff
4/5 Rating
4/5 Tech
3/5 Profile
5/5 EV
5/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
3/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 31, 32, 33, 34-inch
Release Date: September 1, 2015
Serial: DXVDC
Bat Type: Hybrid
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar BBCOR Bats
No items found
WTDXVD5-16

USSSA Drop 5 Review


OVERALL/10
Voodoo Raw USSSA Drop 5 Ratings (key)
4/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
5/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 30, 31, 32, 33-inch
Release Date: September 1, 2015
Serial: WTDXVD5-16
Bat Type: Hybrid
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar Drop 5 USSSA Bats
No items found
WTDXVDR-16

USSSA Drop 9 Review


OVERALL/10
Voodoo Raw USSSA Drop 9 Ratings (key)
4/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
5/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: September 1, 2015
Serial: WTDXVDR-16
Bat Type: Hybrid
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
WTDXVDX-16

USSSA Drop 10 Review


OVERALL/10
Voodoo Raw USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
4/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
5/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 25, 26, 27-inch
Release Date: September 1, 2015
Serial: WTDXVDX-16
Bat Type: Hybrid
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar Drop 10/11 USSSA Bats
No items found
WTDXVDZ-16

USSSA Drop 10 Review


OVERALL/10
Voodoo Raw USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
4/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
5/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: September 1, 2015
Serial: WTDXVDZ-16
Bat Type: Hybrid
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
Similar Drop 10/11 USSSA Bats
No items found
WTDXVDL-16

USSSA Drop 13 Review


OVERALL/10
Voodoo Raw USSSA Drop 13 Ratings (key)
4/5 MOI
/5 Stiff
/5 Rating
/5 Tech
/5 Profile
/5 EV
5/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 28, 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: September 1, 2015
Serial: WTDXVDL-16
Bat Type: Hybrid
Barrel Size: 2 1/4

Comparable Bats

Previous Models

There are some differences from 2015 Overlord FT worth mentioning:

  • The stiffness of the RAW has been improved in the new D-Fusion 2.0 handle.
  • The grip is slightly thinner and tackier when compared to the Overlord FT.
  • The knob flare is shorter and more dramatic. We personally like this feel better.
  • The end cap design is no longer that ‘D’ we found in the 2015 versions.
  • The color design is targeted at the Highschool/College level.

No items found

Construction

The 2 1/4 youth line of bats from DeMarini’s hybrid line will include, again, a drop 13 Voodoo. Of particular note, the 2016 youth barreled Voodoo Raw, unlike all the other Raws this year, has a light swing weight (MOI). That fact, coupled with its massive size range of 28 inches up to 32 inches, makes it the most versatile Voodoo Raw in the entire 2016 lineup.

One fear we always take into the cage with a drop 13 is how easily hand sting can affect batter confidence—skinny, and light bats tend to wring your hands like the dickens on mishits. The last thing a young player needs is the fear of getting electrocuted every-time he attacks a baseball. But DeMarini’s two-piece technology in the Voodoo has come as close as anything to solving that issue in the light swinging bats. Overall

When reviewing baseball bats, it’s hard to think of negative things when there isn’t anything negative to say. The Voodoo is to the high-performance hybrid bat arena what the Rolls Royce is to the luxury car market in that it defines the space. It was the first (that stuck), it dominates the hybrid bat market, and it is the standard to which all other hybrid bats are compared. From T-Ball to Travel Ball to the NCAA World Series in Omaha, the 2016 Raw will serve as yet another loved iteration in a long genealogy of Voodoo bats that flat out rake.

When the bat is released on August 1st, 2015, the new Voodoo Raw’s best pricing is usually found at Amazon (with a search like this) or a place like a baseball express (with a search like this). After August 1st, eBay searches like this are always an interesting place to look. Similar bats will be the 716 Select from Slugger and the 2016 MAKO Hybrid XL.

 

Overall Ratings Key

To keep consistent ratings across years, models and brands, we’ve devloped an aggregated rating system using 6 categories. As well, we track swing weight (MOI), stiffness and profile although they do not affect the overall score directly. The explanation of each rating is below.

  1. MOI: is the swing weight accurately measured at our bat lab. We score it 1 through 5. No score is better than another. This is a descriptive value. A lower number (1) represents a light swinging bat for its class, while a higher number (5) represents an endloaded bat.
  2. Tech: The tech advancements in the bat are 5% of its overall score. We award points for innovation even if the invention encourages the industry to try new things.
  3. Durability: The bat’s lifespan is rated at 15% of the overall score. We gather this information almost exclusively from the user and player feedback. More reports of a bat breaking then the lower the score.
  4. Stiffness: Stiffness is not counted towards the overall score since it’s a complete preference. The higher the number, the stiffer the bat, the lower the number, the more flex in the bat directly after contact. This is significantly correlated to how good a bat feels on mishits and hits.
  5. Profile: The profile does not count towards the overall score. However, we do track it. A high number means the bat has an extensive profile, and a lower number means it has a small profile.
  6. Resell: We count the secondary market of a used value of the bat as 10% of the overall score. We think the demand for the bat in the secondary market (eBay and SidelineSwap) are a good indicator of how well the bat is perceived to perform. It also shows a more excellent value for the owner as their bat retains more value and no longer becomes valuable to them.
  7. Rating: This is the player rating and represents 25% of the overall score. These are gathered from our hitters and reviews we find online and those we have contact with from other reputable sources.
  8. EV: Exit Velocity is the rankings we create in our exit speed velocity tests every year on bats. This score represents 25% of the overall score.
  9. Relevance: Relevance measures how applicable and available a bat is for consumers. The broader range of sizes and the more appropriate the swing weight for the masses then, the higher the score. This metric accounts for 20% of the overall score.

2016 DeMarini Voodoo Raw User Reviews

0
Pop
0
Durability
0
Feel on Sweet Spot Hits
0
Feel on Mishits
0
Worth the Price
Users (0 votes) {{ reviewsOverall }} / 10
What people say... Leave your rating
Order by:

Be the first to leave a review.

Verified
/ 10
{{{ review.rating_title }}}
{{{review.rating_comment | nl2br}}}

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Leave your rating

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?

0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x