Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.



2022 Louisville Slugger Meta Review

By Bat Digest | Last Updated February 26, 2022

Our hitters like the stiffer feel of the Meta when compared to other BBCOR and USSSA two-piece composites. The big barrel, great sound, and top-end performance make it a popular bat among our testers. That said, the bat isn’t cheap and the mystique of the 2022 (and 2021) versions of the bats fall short of the 2019 and 2020 BBCOR which were world-class. Overall, this is a better-received bat than the Slugger Prime series and in BBCOR the META is a real win. USSSA 2022 Meta versions fall behind the CF in terms of overall prowess, but we are fans nonetheless.

2022 Meta Models
BBCOR
/10
BBCOR
/10
USSSA –8
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –5
/10

2022 Meta Models

BBCOR
/10
BBCOR
/10
USSSA –8
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –5
/10
WBL2522010

BBCOR Review

Meta BBCOR Ratings (key)
2/5 MOI
3/5 Stiff
5/5 Rating
4/5 Tech
4/5 Profile
5/5 EV
5/5 Durblty
5/5 Resell
4/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 31, 32, 33, 34-inch
Release Date: October 27, 2021
Serial: WBL2522010
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar BBCOR Bats
2022 Marucci CAT9 Composite Pastime
BBMPB3-22

BBCOR Review

Built for power, the 2022 Meta PWR (-3) BBCOR Bat from Louisville Slugger is here to help you elevate your game. The Meta PWR shares the same backbone as the Meta with two key differences. The high-performing EKO™ composite barrel still delivers a sound unlike anything in the game, however the Meta PWR has a higher swing weight to ensure that elite athletes can squeeze every ounce of performance out of the barrel. In addition, the three-piece patented 3FX™ Connection System is fine-tuned for an even stiffer feel to help maximize the energy transfer on contact and pairs perfectly with this bat’s monstrous sweet spot. We maximized the barrel length with the Premium GT1™ End Cap and added a touch of weight to the end of the barrel, putting the finishing touches on one of our most powerful bats ever.

Built for power, the 2022 Meta PWR (-3) BBCOR Bat from Louisville Slugger is here to help you elevate your game. The Meta PWR shares the same backbone as the Meta with two key differences. The high-performing EKO™ composite barrel still delivers a sound unlike anything in the game, however the Meta PWR has a higher swing weight to ensure that elite athletes can squeeze every ounce of performance out of the barrel. In addition, the three-piece patented 3FX™ Connection System is fine-tuned for an even stiffer feel to help maximize the energy transfer on contact and pairs perfectly with this bat’s monstrous sweet spot. We maximized the barrel length with the Premium GT1™ End Cap and added a touch of weight to the end of the barrel, putting the finishing touches on one of our most powerful bats ever.


OVERALL/10
Meta PWR BBCOR Ratings (key)
3/5 MOI
3/5 Stiff
5/5 Rating
5/5 Tech
5/5 Profile
5/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
4/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 32, 33, 34-inch
Release Date: October 27, 2021
Serial: BBMPB3-22
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar BBCOR Bats
2022 Marucci CAT9 Composite Pastime
WBL2529010

USSSA Drop 8 Review

The 2022 Louisville Slugger Meta in a drop 8 looks to be a fantastic choice for the player that has a high budget, wants the best Slugger can offer and needs a big barrel with a moderately light swing. The bat gets high praise from anyone who tries it. Although many prefer the CF or Marucci CAT Composite, the Slugger Meta USSSA is a reasonable choice for any considering a high end drop 8. It's a two piece composite with an absolutely massive barrel.

The 2022 Louisville Slugger Meta in a drop 8 looks to be a fantastic choice for the player that has a high budget, wants the best Slugger can offer and needs a big barrel with a moderately light swing. The bat gets high praise from anyone who tries it. Although many prefer the CF or Marucci CAT Composite, the Slugger Meta USSSA is a reasonable choice for any considering a high end drop 8. It's a two piece composite with an absolutely massive barrel.


OVERALL/10
Meta USSSA Drop 8 Ratings (key)
3/5 MOI
3/5 Stiff
5/5 Rating
5/5 Tech
4/5 Profile
5/5 EV
3/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
4/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: October 27, 2021
Serial: WBL2529010
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
WBL2528010

USSSA Drop 10 Review

Meta USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
3/5 MOI
3/5 Stiff
5/5 Rating
4/5 Tech
5/5 Profile
5/5 EV
3/5 Durblty
5/5 Resell
4/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 27, 28, 29, 30, 31-inch
Release Date: October 27, 2021
Serial: WBL2528010
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
WBL2530010

USSSA Drop 5 Review

Meta USSSA Drop 5 Ratings (key)
4/5 MOI
3/5 Stiff
4/5 Rating
4/5 Tech
4/5 Profile
5/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
3/5 Relvnce
Sizing: 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: October 27, 2021
Serial: WBL2530010
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8

Comparable Bats

There are plenty of two-piece composite bats on the market that competes with the Meta. The big barrel and light swing in with a smooth smash made possible by the two-piece connection are bats like DeMarini’s CF and ZOA as well as Slugger’s Prime, Marucci’s CAT 9 Connect, Easton’s Hype and the Rawlings Quatro.

Previous Models

There are no changes between the BBCOR or USSSA versions of the 2022 Meta compared to 2021. It is, effectively, the same bat with different graphics along all its USSSA and BBCOR version.


Construction

The 2022 Louisville Slugger Meta comes in a normal version and, in BBCOR at least, a PWR version. The PWR version is the same as the BBCOR version of the bat but with added swing weight. Generally, expect the same “EKO” composite, “VCX2” connection piece, GT1 end cap, and balanced swing weight on the non-PWR vesions. Those features (and marketing names for bat pieces) have not changed from the 2021 version.

Here is the marketing writeup of the bat:

  • EKO™ Composite BarrelEngineered to the pinnacle of performance; light-swinging monster barrel profile, optimized sweet spot, and the truest sound in the game
  • GT1™ End CapMaximizes barrel length and swing speed, delivering added power in every swing
  • 3FX™ Connection SystemThree-piece design gives players a ‘stiff’ feel, while also dramatically reducing vibration on mis-hits
  • Premium LS Pro Comfort Grip™Designed to give players added tack and cushion to improve feel and bat control through the zone
  • Balanced Swing WeightFor the ultimate combination of speed and power

Mareting Writeup

Built for power, the 2022 Meta from Louisville Slugger is back for more. The game-changing EKO™ composite barrel delivers a sound unlike anything in the game, delivering the perfect balance of performance and feel. The three-piece construction is centered around our patented 3FX™ Connection System that gives you a stiff feel on contact that pairs perfectly with this bat’s monstrous sweet spot. We maximized the barrel length with the Premium GT1™ End Cap, putting the finishing touches on one of our highest-performing bats ever.

Overall Ratings Key

To keep consistent ratings across years, models and brands, we’ve devloped an aggregated rating system using 6 categories. As well, we track swing weight (MOI), stiffness and profile although they do not affect the overall score directly. The explanation of each rating is below.

  1. MOI: is the swing weight accurately measured at our bat lab. We score it 1 through 5. No score is better than another. This is a descriptive value. A lower number (1) represents a light swinging bat for its class, while a higher number (5) represents an endloaded bat.
  2. Tech: The tech advancements in the bat are 5% of its overall score. We award points for innovation even if the invention encourages the industry to try new things.
  3. Durability: The bat’s lifespan is rated at 15% of the overall score. We gather this information almost exclusively from the user and player feedback. More reports of a bat breaking then the lower the score.
  4. Stiffness: Stiffness is not counted towards the overall score since it’s a complete preference. The higher the number, the stiffer the bat, the lower the number, the more flex in the bat directly after contact. This is significantly correlated to how good a bat feels on mishits and hits.
  5. Profile: The profile does not count towards the overall score. However, we do track it. A high number means the bat has an extensive profile, and a lower number means it has a small profile.
  6. Resell: We count the secondary market of a used value of the bat as 10% of the overall score. We think the demand for the bat in the secondary market (eBay and SidelineSwap) are a good indicator of how well the bat is perceived to perform. It also shows a more excellent value for the owner as their bat retains more value and no longer becomes valuable to them.
  7. Rating: This is the player rating and represents 25% of the overall score. These are gathered from our hitters and reviews we find online and those we have contact with from other reputable sources.
  8. EV: Exit Velocity is the rankings we create in our exit speed velocity tests every year on bats. This score represents 25% of the overall score.
  9. Relevance: Relevance measures how applicable and available a bat is for consumers. The broader range of sizes and the more appropriate the swing weight for the masses then, the higher the score. This metric accounts for 20% of the overall score.

2022 Slugger Meta User Reviews

0
Pop
0
Durability
0
Feel on Sweet Spot Hits
0
Feel on Mishits
0
Worth the Price
Users (0 votes) {{ reviewsOverall }} / 10
What people say... Leave your rating
Order by:

Be the first to leave a review.

Verified
/ 10
{{{ review.rating_title }}}
{{{review.rating_comment | nl2br}}}

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Leave your rating

Subscribe
Notify of
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?

0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x