Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Black Friday and Cyber Monday Industry Wide Deals See the Deals.

Black Friday and Cyber Monday Industry Wide Deals See the Deals.

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.



2022 Louisville Slugger Meta Review

By Bat Digest | Last Updated November 22, 2021

Our hitters like the stiffer feel of the Meta when compared to other BBCOR and USSSA two-piece composites. The big barrel, great sound, and top-end performance make it a popular bat among our testers. That said, the bat isn’t cheap and the mystique of the 2022 (and 2021) versions of the bats fall short of the 2019 and 2020 BBCOR which were world-class. Overall, this is a better-received bat than the Slugger Prime series and in BBCOR the META is a real win. USSSA 2022 Meta versions fall behind the CF in terms of overall prowess, but we are fans nonetheless.

2022 Meta Models
BBCOR
9.5/10
BBCOR
9.2/10
USSSA –8
8.9/10
USSSA –10
9.2/10
USSSA –5
7.9/10

2022 Meta Models

BBCOR
9.5/10
BBCOR
9.2/10
USSSA –8
8.9/10
USSSA –10
9.2/10
USSSA –5
7.9/10

BBCOR Review

Meta BBCOR Ratings
L+ MOI
STF- Stiff
5/5 Rating
4/5 Tech
4/5 Profile
5/5 EV
5/5 Durblty
5/5 Resell
Sizing: 31, 32, 33, 34-inch
Release Date: October 27, 2021
Serial: WBL2522010
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar BBCOR Bats
2022 Marucci CAT9 Composite Pastime

BBCOR Review

Built for power, the 2022 Meta PWR (-3) BBCOR Bat from Louisville Slugger is here to help you elevate your game. The Meta PWR shares the same backbone as the Meta with two key differences. The high-performing EKO™ composite barrel still delivers a sound unlike anything in the game, however the Meta PWR has a higher swing weight to ensure that elite athletes can squeeze every ounce of performance out of the barrel. In addition, the three-piece patented 3FX™ Connection System is fine-tuned for an even stiffer feel to help maximize the energy transfer on contact and pairs perfectly with this bat’s monstrous sweet spot. We maximized the barrel length with the Premium GT1™ End Cap and added a touch of weight to the end of the barrel, putting the finishing touches on one of our most powerful bats ever.

Built for power, the 2022 Meta PWR (-3) BBCOR Bat from Louisville Slugger is here to help you elevate your game. The Meta PWR shares the same backbone as the Meta with two key differences. The high-performing EKO™ composite barrel still delivers a sound unlike anything in the game, however the Meta PWR has a higher swing weight to ensure that elite athletes can squeeze every ounce of performance out of the barrel. In addition, the three-piece patented 3FX™ Connection System is fine-tuned for an even stiffer feel to help maximize the energy transfer on contact and pairs perfectly with this bat’s monstrous sweet spot. We maximized the barrel length with the Premium GT1™ End Cap and added a touch of weight to the end of the barrel, putting the finishing touches on one of our most powerful bats ever.

9.2
OVERALL/10
Meta PWR BBCOR Ratings
B MOI
STF- Stiff
5/5 Rating
5/5 Tech
5/5 Profile
5/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
Sizing: 32, 33, 34-inch
Release Date: October 27, 2021
Serial: BBMPB3-22
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar BBCOR Bats
2022 Marucci CAT9 Composite Pastime

USSSA Drop 8 Review

The 2022 Louisville Slugger Meta in a drop 8 looks to be a fantastic choice for the player that has a high budget, wants the best Slugger can offer and needs a big barrel with a moderately light swing. The bat gets high praise from anyone who tries it. Although many prefer the CF or Marucci CAT Composite, the Slugger Meta USSSA is a reasonable choice for any considering a high end drop 8. It's a two piece composite with an absolutely massive barrel.

The 2022 Louisville Slugger Meta in a drop 8 looks to be a fantastic choice for the player that has a high budget, wants the best Slugger can offer and needs a big barrel with a moderately light swing. The bat gets high praise from anyone who tries it. Although many prefer the CF or Marucci CAT Composite, the Slugger Meta USSSA is a reasonable choice for any considering a high end drop 8. It's a two piece composite with an absolutely massive barrel.

8.9
OVERALL/10
Meta USSSA Drop 8 Ratings
B MOI
STF- Stiff
5/5 Rating
5/5 Tech
4/5 Profile
5/5 EV
3/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
Sizing: 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: October 27, 2021
Serial: WBL2529010
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 3/4

USSSA Drop 10 Review

Meta USSSA Drop 10 Ratings
B MOI
STF- Stiff
5/5 Rating
4/5 Tech
5/5 Profile
5/5 EV
3/5 Durblty
5/5 Resell
Sizing: 27, 28, 29, 30, 31-inch
Release Date: October 27, 2021
Serial: WBL2528010
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 3/4

USSSA Drop 5 Review

Meta USSSA Drop 5 Ratings
B+ MOI
STF- Stiff
4/5 Rating
4/5 Tech
4/5 Profile
5/5 EV
4/5 Durblty
4/5 Resell
Sizing: 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: October 27, 2021
Serial: WBL2530010
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8

Comparable Bats

Previous Models

There are no changes between the BBCOR or USSSA versions of the 2022 Meta compared to 2021. It is, effectively, the same bat with different graphics along all its USSSA and BBCOR version.


Construction

The 2022 Louisville Slugger Meta comes in a normal version and, in BBCOR at least, a PWR version. The PWR version is the same as the BBCOR version of the bat but with added swing weight. Generally, expect the same “EKO” composite, “VCX2” connection piece, GT1 end cap, and balanced swing weight on the non-PWR vesions. Those features (and marketing names for bat pieces) have not changed from the 2021 version.

Here is the marketing writeup of the bat:

  • EKO™ Composite BarrelEngineered to the pinnacle of performance; light-swinging monster barrel profile, optimized sweet spot, and the truest sound in the game
  • GT1™ End CapMaximizes barrel length and swing speed, delivering added power in every swing
  • 3FX™ Connection SystemThree-piece design gives players a ‘stiff’ feel, while also dramatically reducing vibration on mis-hits
  • Premium LS Pro Comfort Grip™Designed to give players added tack and cushion to improve feel and bat control through the zone
  • Balanced Swing WeightFor the ultimate combination of speed and power

Mareting Writeup

Built for power, the 2022 Meta from Louisville Slugger is back for more. The game-changing EKO™ composite barrel delivers a sound unlike anything in the game, delivering the perfect balance of performance and feel. The three-piece construction is centered around our patented 3FX™ Connection System that gives you a stiff feel on contact that pairs perfectly with this bat’s monstrous sweet spot. We maximized the barrel length with the Premium GT1™ End Cap, putting the finishing touches on one of our highest-performing bats ever.

2022 Louisville Slugger Meta User Reviews

0
Pop
0
Durability
0
Feel on Sweet Spot Hits
0
Feel on Mishits
0
Worth the Price
Users (0 votes) {{ reviewsOverall }} / 10
What people say... Leave your rating
Order by:

Be the first to leave a review.

Verified
/ 10
{{{ review.rating_title }}}
{{{review.rating_comment | nl2br}}}

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Leave your rating

Subscribe
Notify of
guest
0 Comments
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?

0
Would love your thoughts, please comment.x
()
x