Bat Digest
Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors
fastpitch-bat-review
best-softball-bat
best-baseball-bat
baseball-bat-review

Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.


Bat Digest is reader-supported. When you buy through links on our site, we may earn an affiliate commission. Learn More.



<< Baseball Reviews

2022 Louisville Slugger Meta Review

By Bat Digest | Last Updated August 2, 2022


2022 Meta Models


Our hitters like the stiffer feel of the Meta when compared to other BBCOR and USSSA two-piece composites. The big barrel, great sound, and top-end performance make it a popular bat among our testers. That said, the bat isn’t cheap and the mystique of the 2022 (and 2021) versions of the bats fall short of the 2019 and 2020 BBCOR which were world-class. Overall, this is a better-received bat than the Slugger Prime series and in BBCOR the META is a real win. USSSA 2022 Meta versions fall behind the CF in terms of overall prowess, but we are fans nonetheless.

BBCOR
/10
BBCOR
/10
USSSA –8
/10
USSSA –10
/10
USSSA –5
/10

Model Recommendations

WBL2522010

BBCOR Review

Meta BBCOR Ratings (key)
2 4 5 3 4 5 5 5 4 5
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 31, 32, 33, 34-inch
Release Date: October 27, 2021
Serial: WBL2522010
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar BBCOR Bats
2022 Marucci CAT9 Composite Pastime
BBMPB3-22

BBCOR Review

Meta PWR BBCOR Ratings (key)
3 5 4 3 5 4 5 5 4 2
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Built for power, the 2022 Meta PWR (-3) BBCOR Bat from Louisville Slugger is here to help you elevate your game. The Meta PWR shares the same backbone as the Meta with two key differences. The high-performing EKO™ composite barrel still delivers a sound unlike anything in the game, however the Meta PWR has a higher swing weight to ensure that elite athletes can squeeze every ounce of performance out of the barrel. In addition, the three-piece patented 3FX™ Connection System is fine-tuned for an even stiffer feel to help maximize the energy transfer on contact and pairs perfectly with this bat’s monstrous sweet spot. We maximized the barrel length with the Premium GT1™ End Cap and added a touch of weight to the end of the barrel, putting the finishing touches on one of our most powerful bats ever.
Sizing: 32, 33, 34-inch
Release Date: October 27, 2021
Serial: BBMPB3-22
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8
Similar BBCOR Bats
2022 Marucci CAT9 Composite Pastime
WBL2529010

USSSA Drop 8 Review

Meta USSSA Drop 8 Ratings (key)
3 5 3 3 4 4 5 5 4 5
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
The 2022 Louisville Slugger Meta in a drop 8 looks to be a fantastic choice for the player that has a high budget, wants the best Slugger can offer and needs a big barrel with a moderately light swing. The bat gets high praise from anyone who tries it. Although many prefer the CF or Marucci CAT Composite, the Slugger Meta USSSA is a reasonable choice for any considering a high end drop 8. It's a two piece composite with an absolutely massive barrel.
Sizing: 29, 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: October 27, 2021
Serial: WBL2529010
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
WBL2528010

USSSA Drop 10 Review

Meta USSSA Drop 10 Ratings (key)
3 4 3 3 5 5 5 5 4 4
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 27, 28, 29, 30, 31-inch
Release Date: October 27, 2021
Serial: WBL2528010
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 3/4
WBL2530010

USSSA Drop 5 Review

Meta USSSA Drop 5 Ratings (key)
4 4 4 3 4 4 4 5 3 3
MOI Tech Drb Flx Prof ReSl PlaRa ExVe Relv Dmnd

OVERALL/10
Sizing: 30, 31, 32-inch
Release Date: October 27, 2021
Serial: WBL2530010
Bat Type: Two Piece Composite
Barrel Size: 2 5/8

Comparable Bats

There are plenty of two-piece composite bats on the market that competes with the Meta. The big barrel and light swing in with a smooth smash made possible by the two-piece connection are bats like DeMarini’s CF and ZOA as well as Slugger’s Prime, Marucci’s CAT 9 Connect, Easton’s Hype and the Rawlings Quatro.

Previous Models

There are no changes between the BBCOR or USSSA versions of the 2022 Meta compared to 2021. It is, effectively, the same bat with different graphics along all its USSSA and BBCOR version.

Construction

The 2022 Louisville Slugger Meta comes in a normal version and, in BBCOR at least, a PWR version. The PWR version is the same as the BBCOR version of the bat but with added swing weight. Generally, expect the same “EKO” composite, “VCX2” connection piece, GT1 end cap, and balanced swing weight on the non-PWR vesions. Those features (and marketing names for bat pieces) have not changed from the 2021 version.

Here is the marketing writeup of the bat:

  • EKO™ Composite BarrelEngineered to the pinnacle of performance; light-swinging monster barrel profile, optimized sweet spot, and the truest sound in the game
  • GT1™ End CapMaximizes barrel length and swing speed, delivering added power in every swing
  • 3FX™ Connection SystemThree-piece design gives players a ‘stiff’ feel, while also dramatically reducing vibration on mis-hits
  • Premium LS Pro Comfort Grip™Designed to give players added tack and cushion to improve feel and bat control through the zone
  • Balanced Swing WeightFor the ultimate combination of speed and power

Mareting Writeup

Built for power, the 2022 Meta from Louisville Slugger is back for more. The game-changing EKO™ composite barrel delivers a sound unlike anything in the game, delivering the perfect balance of performance and feel. The three-piece construction is centered around our patented 3FX™ Connection System that gives you a stiff feel on contact that pairs perfectly with this bat’s monstrous sweet spot. We maximized the barrel length with the Premium GT1™ End Cap, putting the finishing touches on one of our highest-performing bats ever.

Overall Ratings

The overall rating uses seven different weighted metrics to determine our overall score. Half of total rating comes from the player and our exit speed tests (Player Rating: 25%, Performance: 25%).The other categories are Relevance (20%), Demand (10%), Durability (10%), Resell Score (5%), and Tech Specs (5%).

*: When a bat is denoted by a star (*) it is a preliminary rating. Expect it to be updated as we learn more about the bat and gather more data.

(PlaRa) Player Rating: We measure player rating from user reviews. Those users include our own hitters that we test at the lab as well as reviews we find online.

(ExVe) Performance: Performance measures the exit speeds and distances we capture in our hitting lab with HitTrax using these bats.

(Relv) Relevance: We measure the number of sizes and the MOI of the bat. Bats with a wider range of options get a better score.

(Dmnd) Demand: Demand is measured by consumer sentiment and the buzz around the bat.

(Drb) Durability: A bat’s durability is measured by user reviews as well as feedback from manufacturers.

(ReSl) Resell Score: Based on the price the bats go for used. Higher prices mean greater user demand which means, generally, a better bat. A resell value closer to its original price means a higher score.

(Tech) Tech Specs: We rate the bat on its technological advancements from previous years and compared to the industry at large. This is our chance to reward companies who are trying to innovate.
MOI
MOI or Mass Moment of Inertia is a measurement of bat swing weight. This quantifies how difficult it is to swing a bat. The industry often refers to this as things like End Load or Balanced but those words have been overused to the point of meaninglessness. We measure the actual swing weights of each bat we test using the industry-standard pendulum period, balance point, and scale weight. You can read more about that here.
Price
The price is the original MSRP price of the bat.
Type
The types of bats are single-piece alloy (SPA), two-piece composite (TPC), single-piece composite (SPC), hybrid (Hyb.), and wood (Wood). Hybrid bats are made of composite handles and alloy barrles.
Date
The estimated date the bat began distribution.

2022 Slugger Meta User Reviews

0
Pop
0
Durability
0
Feel on Sweet Spot Hits
0
Feel on Mishits
0
Worth the Price
Users (0 votes) {{ reviewsOverall }} / 10
What people say... Leave your rating
Order by:

Be the first to leave a review.

Verified
/ 10
{{{ review.rating_title }}}
{{{review.rating_comment | nl2br}}}

Show more
{{ pageNumber+1 }}
Leave your rating

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Want to donate to our next bat review by buying our data sheet?